Chicken Halang-halang (Spicylicious Chicken)

0 375
Avatar for ellimacandrea
3 years ago

I learned how to cook Chicken Halang-halang or Spicylicious Chicken (That's what I call it.) when my sister-in-law brought this as her share on our potluck. She is from Cebu and she told me that the dish originated from Cebu.

I like this dish so much because you can store it in room temperature for 3 days or 1 week when refrigerated. This is very convenient for me as I can save money because I can eat it for couple of meals.

So, let's start.

The left photo are the raw ingredients while the right photo is the finished product.

Ingredients:

  • 1 kilograms chicken cut in small pieces

  • 2 medium size onions minced

  • 4 cloves garlic minced

  • 2 medium size ginger minced

  • 4 chilies sliced

  • 1 cup vinegar

  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce

  • 2 tablespoons sugar

  • Salt and pepper

Procedure:

  1. In a large pan, saute the ginger, onion and garlic until golden brown.

  2. Add in the chicken and mix it thoroughly.

  3. Simmer for 10 minutes until the natural oil from the chicken is out.

  4. Add the soy sauce and sugar. Mix it together.

  5. Add salt and pepper. Can add more salt for preservative.

  6. Simmer for 5 minutes until the chicken are slightly cooked.

  7. Add the vinegar all through out the pan. Do not mix.

  8. Add the chillies. Let it simmer for 5 minutes or until the chicken is cooked.

And that's it. It's an easy dish but a very delicious and tasty and spicy one.

Subscribe for more recipes and articles. If you liked this, don't forget to leave a comment and thumbs up! 😉😊😊😊

:) ellimacandrea

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ellimacandrea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ellimacandrea
3 years ago

Comments

I love chicken halang halang. Its like the chicken version of the bicol express. Here in my place, we usually mix it with sautéd minced banana trunk. It's very common and popular dish here. Some would usually include the neck and ribs ground to pieces.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I haven't tried eating a banana trunk. Interesting. Where are you from though?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's called "bani" in our dialect right? I'm from zamboanga del norte

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Cool. So you know how to speak Spanish? Hahaha. Chavakano I think. Amazing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No. That's only in zamboanga city. The capital of this region. We are in Zamboanga del Norte and we speak bisaya. How about you, where are you from?

My husband know a little of chavacano as he lived in Zamboanga city for a long time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. I thought all of Zamboanga is Chavano but that's alright. 😊 I'm from Bicol. But I am fluent in speaking Visayan or Cebuano dialect too because I lived in Cebu for 5 years. It's nice to know you kat-kat!

$ 0.00
3 years ago