Kinds of Love I have learned.

4 46
Avatar for elamey
Written by
3 years ago

As the dictionary defines it, Love is an intense feeling of deep affection. It comes with the act of caring and giving what is best.

But how do you define love? Apart from any other definitions, how do you define love? How would you know if love is real or wether the feeling you are feeling would fade away eventually? How could you find love when you can't define it yourself?

When I was a very young child, I only know the kind of love from my parents. When they try to limit your actions by protecting you from harm, they will say it was the act of love. When they try to correct you by hitting you on your hand or maybe on your little tushies, they will say it is an act of love because they would want us to be reminded of what we did that is wrong. That was the first kind of love I have known, the love that I was familiar with when I was a child.

When I become a little aware about the existence of my older sisters, I have learned the love that comes from them. They care and give me what I need and sometimes they also give me things that I want. They also had to accept the fact that I would always be the one who will try taking their candies, toys, whatever they have in just one loud cry. And I am sorry that they had to. HAHAHA But I am grateful to have known that kind of love. They have shown me that kind of love that I was able to show when our youngest sister was brought to this world.

When I begun to attend elementary school, I associated with other people of my age. People with the same interests as mine. People that I shared birthday parties with. People that become my friends. My experiences with these people showed me the love that comes from friends, friendship as we call it. That kind of love taught me a lot. One of the many things that it taugt me was people do come and go, and only few would stay.

My understanding about love was becoming a little broader and deeper as I grow up. I begun attending high school. I was a transferee from the school I went to and I only had three-five familiar faces I come across to. It was a little scary at first because I have never been that confused. The first year I was there, I become friends with people that does not share same interests as mine. And I thought it would not work but it did. People there had defined love a little different from each other. Some can't because they don't actually understand love just yet. Some won't because they just don't believe about it. It made me understand that even if we were different from each other, we could still share the kind of love we share with our friends. As the years passed by, I have been friends with a lot of people. And to be honest with you, a lot of them did come and go, few stayed. And I am very much grateful for them.

The next kind of love I have learned was the kind of love I have for the things I am not good at. This kind of love thought me acceptance. Acceptance that there will always be other people that is better than me. People that know how to do the things that I don't know how. And it also taught me to have the humility to listen and learn from other people that knows what they are doing by giving my self a room to improve and grow.

I had come across a lot of definitions about what love was. And this was the kind of love that I wished I had learned earlier. The love for my self. It was the kind of love I wished I had before. Because even if I had known these kind of love that I have defined, I had my worst, weakest moments in my life in-between learning these things about love. I doubted myself, questioned my worth, I even come to a point where I don't see a point why do I have to continue living. But I am really grateful that I have found my way to love myself along with the help of the kind of love I have learned in the past. The caring, giving, and accepting.

I need to care about myself because I will not be able to function well and do the things I need to do if I will just let myself crawl onto my bed and rot there. Self-care does not need to be expensive. Self-care can be simple as getting out of your bed and do simple hygiene care, enough to feel your blood flowing and to remind yourself that you are alive.

By giving, I need to give my self time. Time to heal, grow, and rest when I need to. To do the things I need to do with the right mindset and enough strength for better outcome.

Last is acceptance. The three things I have mentioned was hard but for me, this one is the hardest. Acceptance is the hardets thing you ought to do when you love, especially when you are trying to love yourself. Accepting can also be hurtful at times having to accept even the things that you don't want about yourself. Body part, attitude, the way you react, the way you smile or even the way you walk. Acceptance is not easy. Neither caring nor giving.

These things were only based from my own experiences in life. With the help of these experiences in life, this have become my definition of love:

"Love can be tough, it can be kind. It comes around whenever and wherever. Love can come from people, love can come from things. It also comes when you're least expecting it. But sometimes, love can be misunderstood. Love can't be seen. Love can go missing when you needed it most. But does not mean love was gone. Love can come from you and can start within you."

There are still tons of things I got to learn. Things I got to see and experience. I'm no expert. I am just a hooman who have room for improvement and who's willing to listen and learn from others.


It was fun writing about love. And maybe someday soon, I'll write about love again when I found something new about it.

-

author's note:

This was just from my own experiences. If I offended someone, it is not my intention to do so. Please feel free to express your thoughts on the comment section.

Thank you for being patient on reading my post. XOXO, from your moonchild friend.

12
$ 5.47
$ 5.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.01 from @ruthamartinoy
+ 1
Avatar for elamey
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing your own definition of love. If I were to share what I think about love is that it is indeed the universal language. Also, we have salvation because of love and we are also commanded to love others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We got so much love to give ♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we do :> I hope you are doing well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Napakadame talagang ibig sabihin ng love, At ang hirap din ipaliwanag kapag na inlove na ang isang tao, ang daming nagbabago o ang daming nababago dahil sa love, may mga taong nagagawang magsakripisyo dahil sa love, may mga napapa ka martir, may nagmamakaaw, may nagbubulag bulagan, pero sa totoo lang ang tunay na love na walang katumbas ay mula sa PANGINOON, Siya ang tunay na nagmamahal sa atin higut sa sinu pa man, kaya bago sana magmahal ang isang tao mahalin niya muna ang PANGINOON, ang kanyang pamilya and kanyang sarili bago magmahak ng iba.
Love is patience 💜💜💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago