Today, I affirm myself...

4 26
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Hello Summer! but for me, hello allergies! Achhhoooo!

It's another month, a third of the year done, yet lately, I feel like I'm not accomplishing anything. Lately, the question, "Why do I feel like nothing is happening or nothing will happen at all? " is bugging my mind. To be honest, I'm facing an issue right now, I can't bring myself to set goals for the future. I don't know if I'm scared or I'm just in a very low mood lately.

I used to easily set goals and try my hardest to achieve it. Most of the time I achieve what I set and I'm used to it. I always had a timeline and got everything under control but when the pandemic started, I had a very hard time, especially in achieving goals and following through my timeline.

Photo by hp koch on Unsplash

2020 was basically the year were I'm just trying to hold myself together and survive. In 2020, I disregarded most of my plans, whether it be furthering my education, Master's in Business Administration, travelling, teaching or even expanding my career, most of them, I cancelled or postponed. It's not because I wanted to but I started pushing myself the hardest to meet this unreasonable goals and timelines and it felt that it was unhealthy for me. I must say, 2020 really crushed me down. It's a year where I was just humbled and made me pause to look at everything I had and achieved so far and just be really thankful for what I have in my life.

To be honest, I rarely look back which means I also rarely regret things. I sometimes stay in the present to just absorb things but for most time, I'm looking ahead. My mind is racing with "What's comes next?" or "Okay, now where are we headed?" and usually I come up with answers easily. But this pandemic forced me to live in the moment, then my questions started to turn into "Why is the world so cruel?" or "Why is nothing going my way?" The pandemic forced me to look at the things and people that surrounds me and to tell you, it was a huge adjustment for me.

With all of those thoughts in my head, I am welcoming this month with a more positive side or at the very least I will try to, with an affirmation to myself. An affirmation is a statement or proposition that is declared to be true. I am declaring all of this because honestly, I feel like I've been really hard on myself and I rarely see the good things I do. I figured to let you in on this part and hopefully, I'd encourage some of you to affirm yourselves too!

Today, I affirm myself that I am capable.

I am capable of achieving things which I set my heart and soul into. I am capable of pushing back my boundaries and surpassing the limits society had given me and the limits that I have given myself. I am capable of learning, growing and striving to be a better person each and everyday. I affirm myself that my potential is limitless and that I can do more.

Today, I affirm myself that I am loved and valued.

I am loved by my family and friends and it's okay to be vulnerable and to depend to them. More importantly, I am loved and valued by myself. It's hard for me to be patient with myself but I am trying my very best to accept myself wholly and without removing the parts of myself that I don't want.

Today, I affirm myself that I am unique.

I am the only one that can truly be me. I affirm myself that I don't need to fit in to standard the society create and the best version of myself would simply be me being me. There are things that I can't do but there are also things that only I can do. Today, I embrace my imperfections because it what makes me unique.

Today, I affirm myself that I am healing and growing.

I am healing from all that I have been through and I am slowly growing and building myself to a person I want myself to be. I still stumble and for sure I will still stumble along the way, but I know that I have grown so much from the person I used to and it makes me happy to see that I can be a better person each day.

Today, I affirm myself that my dreams are valid.

All of the dreams that I have set for myself are valid even if I don't achieve them. That I am in control of my life, I may not be able to take control of the situation or circumstances but I can always control how I respond or react. I affirm myself that it's okay to dream big and would always want to remind myself that if my dreams doesn't scare me, it's too little and that I can do more and achieve more.

Today, I affirm myself that I am learning to be patient.

Patience is one of the traits that I really, really want to acquire. And I remember this story where it goes like, if you ask for patience, God won't hand it to you, He will put you into situations where you'll be impatient and you have to learn patience for yourself. I affirm that I am learning to be patient with the people around me, my circumstances and especially to myself. I am being patient to myself that being unproductive and making mistakes are okay.

I still have a lot more affirmations to give to myself and that thought alone makes me glad because it makes me see all the goodness that I am made of. I really encourage you to affirm yourself or just learn to appreciate yourself even more because honestly, we rarely do it! I don't know why are we wired in a way that it's hard for us to see the goodness inside all of us because honestly, it's easier for me to see the good in someone else but having a hard time doing that for myself.

I know this pandemic has brought a lot to us, most of it we can't even take and many of us just wish it would go away. Day by day, I feel like things are getting worse and it easy to lose hope during these trying times. But let's affirm ourselves that we are stronger than anything the comes our way and if we think we're not, we have family and friends to support us through it!

I would really love to hear some of the affirmations to yourself, let's inspire each other an hopefully this had helped you more than it did to me.

See you around!

Lead image: Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

2
$ 2.83
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of deedum
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for deedum
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm good but you need more patience tho. you get really restless when stuff gets messed up XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaaaah, that’s one of the things I need to overcome 😭😭😭😭😭 I’m trying really, really hard 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

go train like how buddhist monks do, then you'll be a pro with patience πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't wannaaaaaaaaa, I don't want to shave my heaaaad

$ 0.00
2 years ago