Gray Seagull (acrylic painting)

11 24
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Hi friends!

Today I tell you how I drew this picture - gray seagull proudly walking in the sand.
I made this drawing on Russian platform Golos to one art contest.
I live far from sea but I very like seagulls, but I live far from sea, because I use a ref from internet in my work.

Sketch by pencil

Materials which I used: watercolor paper, some colors of acrylic paints, three brushes different sizes.

A, yes... and medium for acrylic paints.

I started my drawing with paint bucket of background.
The sea behind the seagull I painted with a mix of blue and grass green, above it is more green, below it is more blue.
On a lighted side of the seagull, I maked the background a bit darker. In order to highlight the bird even better add blue (cobalt).
The sand is obtained by mix the colors of red and canary yellow.
I prescribe the foreground with this mixture, and the back one with ivory added to make it lighter and less contrast, according to the tonal perspective.

Then I painted most intense details of the seagull - beak, legs, wings, feathers on the tail.
Outlines areas where there will be shadows.

In next step I mixed a white paint with a bit gray and drew a shadow around the eyes and under the beak. Darker gray with the addition of black highlight some feathers on a wings.
Further, I added a bit of gray to ivory to painting shadows at a bottom of the abdomen (it is warmer because it's reflexes from a sand).
I drew a visible eye and a shadow of an eyelid of another eye.

Finally, some little details - to correct a shadows on the wings, on a legs, to trace an eye, a glare on tip of a beak. I Added some large pebbles or lumps of sand in a foreground
And, of course, the falling shadow under a seagull's legs is a contrast and short one, because the day is sunny and a bird is practically under direct rays of sun.
And since the shadows in the drawing turned out to be mostly warm, I make it a mix of red and cobalt, closer to warm violet.

So nice walking seagull I did))

So nice walking seagull I did))

Thanks a lot for your visit and donations))

Have a nice day!
Regards

Sponsors of daring-celt
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 7.95
$ 7.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Avatar for daring-celt
2 years ago

Comments

I really like your drawing, my dad used to paint in watercolors and acrylics, I also like drawing, but I draw more in digital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! I draw in digital too, but sometimes I pick up ordinary brushes and paints)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At the moment I don't have material to draw, that's why I've been drawing in digital, it's more economical haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O, yes, I see ;) And digital painting has magical buttons CTRL+Z))))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I am not a professional drawer, I am a very big fan. You did a great job, but I would like to know what role the medium plays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many thanks! Acrylic paints tend to dry very quickly, and the medium helps them stay fresh for a little longer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Великолепно поднять настроение помогут красивые картинки,да,такие как Ваша чайка.На них всегда приятно смотреть и расслабиться.Спасибо за позитив который вы изображаете🕊/It's always nice to look at and relax.Thank you for the positivity that you portray🕊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Пожалуйста! Я для того и рисую, чтобы люди смотрели, вдохновлялись и обретали хорошее настроение))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Working with this type of water color always makes Mt work rough But you did a perfect job with this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! Acrylic medium helps perfectly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago