Horror Homonyms Part 2

Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Recently, I just wrote an article about homonyms which are Alumna, Alumnae, Alumnus, and Alumni. In this article, I will give you other homonyms that you might have encountered already and used improperly.

These are;

  • advise and advice

  • banish and vanish

  • hustle and hassle

Confused yet? Now let's start with the words advise and advice.

  • advise- is a verb, an act of giving advice, and

  • advice- is a noun, this is the advice itself or counsel that we give to the person needing it.

So just remember, advise is counseling, while advice is the counsel or help or guidance that we give.

  • example;

I advise you to be careful to the advice you listen to.

Next is the words banish and vanish.

  • banish- is use to send away something or someone.

  • vanish- is all about disappearance, to disappear completely.

So if I say "vanish into thin air" it means to disappear.

  • example;

I had to banish him from my life, hoping that my feelings for him would vanish.

And lastly, hustle and hassle.

  • hustle- is used if you are performing in a fast way, or it can also be used if you are working hard to achieve your dreams, or you are doing illegal to earn money. If you have watch the movie "The Hustle" by Rebel Wilson and Anne Hathaway, you'll know what I mean.

  • hassle- is defined as bother, inconvenience or nuisance. You can say, travelling is a hassle at rush hour.

  • example

It's hard to hustle for our future when you're being such a hassle.

I hope that I had meet your expectations in differentiating these confusing words.Until my next article!

5
$ 0.65
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Walang pa quiz mam? Sasagutan ko sana yun 🤣 may natututunan ako syo eh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wala miss jane, next time,hehehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago