A Mother's Love

3 13
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

A mother is a symbol of love, selflessness and wisdom.

I just want to share a story I've read today. It is a japanese folktale entitled "A Story of an Aged Mother." To summarize the story, it is about a young farmer who has an aged widowed mother. They owned a piece of land which supplied them food. At that time the ruler of their land is barbarous and proud. He ordered to kill all aged people. So hat the farmer did was take he mother to the mountain. On their journey, the mother saw how hard it is for her son to carry her up to the mountain-top. And she knew that he won't be able to find his way back to his home because the path where croossed and recrossed by hubters and woodcutters. So the mother did leave a trace, for his son to return hime safely. But when the son found out about what his mother did, he cried aloud and said he would take back his mother home and he will die together with her. When they return home, he hide his mother carefully. The ruler ordered, that every house should present a rope of ashes,proof that their elders died. The farmer don't know what to do. But her mother told him to make a rope of twisted straw and stretch it upon a row of flat stones and burn it there on a windless night. The mother did not only save herself and her son but also save the entire people from that land.

While reading this story, I remember my grandmama, how she sacrifice for me, raise me well. I remember what she told me before, "Ne, ayaw man sayo ng lahat, andito lang ako para sayo. " At that time, those words has no impact to me, but now that she's gone, I burst into tears everytime I remember those words. My heart aches longing for her comfort. And even while I'm writing this article, I am crying. If only I was a better grandchild at that time, I should never gave her a hard time raising me. I should have listen to everything she say. I should have shown her how much I love her. I should have told her I love you everyday. But I know, I can't turn back the time and undo the things that I have done.

"I missed you so much Nanay, If only I can have another minute with you, I would tell you that you did a great job raising me, I love you so much Nanay."

I don't know why i became emotional today. I suddenly remember my lola and burst into tears.

Image source:Pinterest

3
$ 0.08
$ 0.05 from @Lou1e
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of damelindz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for damelindz
3 years ago

Comments

Respect this story❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much jisan😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💝

$ 0.00
3 years ago