I miss Indonesia completely

5 51
Avatar for daffaputra
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experiences, Reality, ...

I was born in the city of Jakarta in 1983. At that time, the city of Jakarta that I lived in was not as crowded as it is today. There were no traffic jams at that time. And at that time, Indonesia was still under the rule of the New Order. Pancasila nationalism became a program of the New Order government so that Indonesia is still like original Indonesia. The Javanese are still Javanese, as well as the Sundanese, are still Sundanese.

Even though the New Order era had some problems, the government still took firm action against radical groups. They have suppressed almost nothing left. Until 1998, the power of the New Order led by Suharto (the second President of Indonesia) ended and was replaced by a period of reform. Two groups destroyed the New Order era. The first is a nationalist democratic group, the second is a religious radical group that was often suppressed by the New Order government.

In 2001, I left the city of Jakarta for the city of Yogyakarta to study there. Even in 2009, I was working on the island of Borneo. In 2016, I returned to Jakarta. How surprised I was when I returned to Jakarta. The situation in my hometown seems to have changed, unlike in Indonesia. Even in 2017, Jakarta was controlled by a government that allowed intolerance and religious radicalism to develop.

I have a hobby of long-distance motorcycle riding. When I did a tour around the island of Java. I see very different changes. I don't feel like I'm in Indonesia. I saw people who dress up like Arabs (from small children to old people). Women's bodies are covered by cloth from head to toe. I feel like I'm in an Arab country. I no longer see the beauty of Javanese and Sundanese women who are so graceful. I no longer see the culture of the archipelago developed by their ancestors. All I see is a nation experiencing an identity crisis. How very unfortunate.

This is due to the shift in the value of nationalism, from Pancasila nationalism to Arab nationalism. Because several groups in Indonesia want Indonesia to be part of an Arab country. Thus, they left the ancestral culture of the archipelago and chose Arabic cultures. In addition, the government also failed to maintain the cultural identity of the archipelago. Not only that, the quality of education in Indonesia, especially in Java, is very low. Education in my country is currently dominated by radical religious groups. They measure a person's faith only from the outward appearance of the body. However, they allow hypocritical behavior and corruption to be tolerated, often even preserved.

Even though not everyone in Indonesia wants to be an Arab, including me. Some groups who are nervous about this situation want to restore the teachings of the ancestors of the archipelago which is rich in culture. However, there was no response from the Indonesian government. I support groups like this. The government should be more sensitive and should not silence radical religious groups that erode the identity of the archipelago. Because this could lead to a big conflict like what happened in Ambon.

The educational revolution must be implemented immediately to give birth to generations that are critical, rational, and also systematic. This will free generations from the shackles of ignorance and poverty. In addition, social justice must also be realized in Indonesia. Because economic inequality can teach the teachings of religious radicalism. With the realization of social justice, the government will have clear laws for the people, so that radical groups have no space in Indonesia.

Although many places in Indonesia have lost their national identity, Bali is not like that. I love Bali because the Balinese people there still maintain and preserve the ancestral culture of the archipelago. When I'm in Bali, I feel like I'm back at my home. Bali is an island that still has natural wealth and preserves the ancestral culture that is so fascinating. No wonder many people from various countries are so happy and peaceful when visiting Bali.

Although Bali is not perfect and there are still many social problems there. There is still a lot of poverty and patriarchal culture there. but at least Bali can be a place to treat my longing for Indonesia. Maybe I'm not the only one who misses a sublime and glorious Indonesia. Surely many people miss Indonesia with its archipelagic values. I hope this longing is not just wishful thinking. But this longing can be realized so that Indonesia returns to the ancestral culture of the archipelago and releases foreign cultures that have long damaged Indonesia.

Image Source by Unsplash

9
$ 17.56
$ 17.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
+ 3
Avatar for daffaputra
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experiences, Reality, ...

Comments

I want to visit Indonesia, especially Bali. Yeah, many tourists flock to Bali because of the tropical sceneries but at the back of it, lots of people are in poverty.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes, it is a big challenge that must be solved by the Balinese people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my. It's great to read articles like this. Now we know more abt Indonesia through your perspective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My view is only focused on the island of Java. In fact, many parts of Indonesia still uphold ancestral cultural values. But on the island of Java, the great ancestral tradition has been displaced by many Arab cultures

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see... ok good to know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago