What is the worst enemy of a writer?

7 55
Avatar for criptocu
1 year ago

We could say that it would be the lack of inspiration or the mental block. And even I thought so, but I changed my mind when an unwanted situation began to happen to me periodically.

Image from Unsplash

It turns out that in my country there have been, for a very long time now, problems in the national electricity grid. Problems that the government has no interest in investing money in solving and those of us who complain about this run the risk of going to jail.

Yes, it is one of the injustices that those of us who live in dictatorial countries suffer.

Well, it turns out that due to the scarce generation of electricity, we suffer blackouts at various times of the day that add up to 12 hours without power.

And it is not a big problem when you write about something that you are passionate about, because you can do it on paper. Things change when you are a web writer and you have to write on request, because you have to investigate and also comply with certain editorial and writing conditions.

Before, I organized my day-to-day work according to the hours when I felt most productive. Allowing me to keep my head fresh and take advantage of my time.

Now I have to force myself to write and research when I have electricity in my house. This has caused me to feel mentally exhausted, it is not the same to write when you feel like it (that you do it faster) than to force yourself to do it at a time when you have no energy or desire.

Another result of this situation is that there are times when I feel "inspired" because ideas and phrases flutter in my head, but at the moment of writing them it is as if capturing each letter would move a ton of weight.

As you can see, my opinion has changed a bit, I no longer see lack of inspiration as the main problem of a writer. Now for me it's when you're forced to write when you don't want to on a topic you're not passionate about on an ongoing basis.

Concluding thoughts

For now the situation in my country does not seem to improve, on the contrary, so I will have to continue sacrificing myself. Although I have seriously considered taking a break and resting, financially I cannot afford it.

Therefore, I will try to resort to activities that help me reduce stress levels or mental fatigue.

Thanks for reading and tell me, have you been through something like this?

Self image made whit Canva

If you can not scan the QR code click here

4
$ 0.54
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 3
Sponsors of criptocu
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for criptocu
1 year ago

Comments

When ideas come we usually put it in a draft. Mental blocking is normal and reading gives us more wisdom to share.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For someone who works from home, this is a huge problem indeed - electricity and internet as well. However, for me, I take that as opportunities to go out and do other things that I have been neglecting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is indeed a frustrating situation about electricity and in fact go out to do other pendients is a good solution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, inspiration is needed in writing. It is easy to write when we are inspired. I see your work as an interesting thing to do. I have never tried to write by request.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You should, that give you another perspectives and experiences that later you can use on your signed writing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is the number one problem. The inspiration to write should always be there, but that is not a normal thing. When we need to write sometimes we are not ready to write. It always happens to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for comment. That situation is difficult, how do you solve when it happends to you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago