I Will Be The Only Friend By Your side

4 11
Avatar for cool08
Written by
2 years ago

I Will Be The Only Friend By Your side

A family of five happened to have a meeting to educate them about how they should all be careful on the way they follow friends. This was related to them by their father who has once experienced the nature of how friends do disappoint their fellow friends. He told them a story of his life about how he was treated by his friends and the one he called his best friend. He started with the below narrations:

I had some friends who I always recon with. Among these friends of mine, there was one I so much cherish and admired. I called him my best friend and he also called me his best friend as well. We were living as friends and doing the same thing. We had to tell each other that whenever we are building our various houses, we will build on the same land and the same style of building. We both had this unforeseen thought. Our other friends on the other hand were always loyal and truthful. We decided not to trust them because having too many friends can cause something else. So, we decided to remain as one happy friend and have seen ourselves as Brothers. Everyone in our community knew us as Brothers but not friends.

So, we kept on moving ahead of life. There were these exams that came up where I had to obtain the form for the exams and so as my best friend. We both obtained the form together hoping to make it together. There was no money to finance the feeding fees as the distance from where we were to the exams centre was just too far. We had to go for some menial jobs to make some little money which can take us throughout our stay in the exam centre. We were Reading together happily and indeed we both knew how to read and understand what we have read. We read to our satisfaction and indeed we made the papers that were supposed to qualify us for the second round.

I was not having money to continue the second round while my best friend, his uncle who lived in the city sent him the tangible amount of money which suppose to carry the both of us until the end of the whole exams. We can even have extra from this money which we have taken home. at the end of the whole exams. So, my best friend asked me if I still had some money with me, which I told him, I am financially handicapped. He also made the same statement when I asked him if he still has some cash with him or if he has someone who can give it to us, but he said he doesn't have a dime neither is he having someone who can send us the money.

I left for home while he told me he was going to his uncle's place to stay for sometime before he comes back since they were not able to complete the exams just because of lack of finance and sponsorship. So, he went to the city while I left for my house with nothing.

To cut the story short, my best friend had to lie to me and come back to complete the exams since his uncle had already sent him some money without telling me or letting me know about the money. This means he did not go to his uncle's house in the city. He only allowed me to go back home while he stayed behind to write the exams. Someone who went for the exams as well later dashed home to pick up something where he saw me and asked why I'm at home. I told him that I'm home just because of a lack of money to complete the exams and also my best friend has gone to his uncle's place as well since we both found it difficult to register for the second phase of the exams just because of money. He was surprised to hear me saying my best friend has travelled. He told me, ``Do you think you have a friend you called your best friend? I was lost for what he said. I later said my friend is with them and in the school writing the exams. I was shocked after hearing this. The fact remains that there is nothing I can do other than to leave my trust within me by trusting myself instead of making someone my best friend.

The fact remains that he once told me that he will be "the only friend by my side". This shows that we should only believe in ourselves instead of trusting some friends who can turn us down.

Now, my children, you can see the reasons why I said you can only trust yourself. There are some good friends out there but are rare to find or to have. So, do know the one you call your friend as many out there does not want your progress. They only want to see you fall so that they can be able to laugh at you.

He concluded that "my children, you should all be wise".

Thanks for stopping by...

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of cool08
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cool08
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Interesting sorry, sad to hear that your friendship ended. I don't know how it is like in your culture but in the end, I would say, we are responsible for our own lives, and there is no obligation to rescue another person. At the same time, I don't approve of his lie. To me, it would have been fair to admit that he got money but that he can't share it. That I find perfectly okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, we shouldn't trust anyone to that extent, we should always expect the least from people always to live a better life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a great story full of morals. One shouldn't trust anyone except yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow not expecting that ending I don't know what to say though maybe he doesn't want go make you feel bad because he knew you don't have

$ 0.00
2 years ago