Testing SmartBCH network in new "Brave Wallet"

9 145
Avatar for coiner
Written by
2 years ago

Today I noticed a new icon for "Brave Wallet" in my Brave Browser. Brave Wallet is a kind of web3 wallet which interacts with dApp (Decentralized Application). So basically it's like Metamask, but it's "native" (that is, built-in) wallet in Brave Browser.

So I wanted to try its functionality and tried SmartBCH network and transactions in this new wallet.

Overall the Brave Wallet is NEW, so there some minor UI bugs such as flickering, but looks like basic functionality is working fine. Let's take a look...

1) First, when clicking the new Brave Wallet icon, it goes to Get Started screen, setting up wallet password, and shows new 12 mnemonic words, as most of wallets do. Once it's done, it creates new "Account1" for you and by default pointing to Ethereum network (just like Metamask). We will add SmartBCH network here.

2) Now when clicking Brave Wallet icon, you will see 3 dots (...) on upper-right corner. Click [Settings] to set up SmartBCH network.

3) It will open [Settings] tab, and you will see "Networks" as below.

4) At first, there will be no networks. Click "Add" button and fill out SmartBCH network settings. It looks like the wallet wants to have hexadecimal chain ID (0x2710).

5) Once SmartBCH network is registered, you will see SmartBCH and sBCH account (I named it sBCH here, but you can name it BCH) as below.

I sent small BCH to this account for testing purpose and it worked fine.

Brave Wallet shows account balance in dollar and also BCH price chart can be shown. Well, this is better than Metamask :-)

6) Now I wanted to test SEND feature, just checking if I can send my BCH to other wallet. During SEND, I noticed that it requires "SPECIAL attention" in GAS FEE. By default, Brave Wallet is using Ethereum's gas fee rate, so default value is like 150 gwei (huh~~).

Here I tried to send 0.0005 BCH ($0.30) to other wallet. The Gas Fee that Brave Wallet shows was 0.00315 BCH ($1.90). So we need to lower the Gas Fee by clicking [Edit] link.

7) When I click "Edit" link, Gas price was 150 gwei, so I changed it to 1.05 (or you can use 1.046739556 as in Metamask).

8) Now I see "normal" fee in SmartBCH. Yeah~~

9) Once I hit the [Confirm] button, the 0.0005 BCH was successfully sent to other wallet. So far, so good.

10) Now I wanted to try SmartBCH SEP20 token transaction. In order to use SEP20 token, we first need to add token to the wallet (as we do in other wallets). In (5) picture above, you can see "+ Visible Assets" button at the bottom. Click this button to add new SEP20 token. Then you will be able to add new SEP20 token. I added Konra token as an example here.

11) Once the token is added, I tried to send Konra token from other wallet. As I expect, the SEP20 token was successfully arrived into my wallet.

One thing to note is that Buy and Swap sections are disabled for SmartBCH, but for Ethereum, those are enabled at this point of time.

Since Brave Wallet is just firstly released, just like many other products, it's not perfect, but... it was fun!


7
$ 10.38
$ 9.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @RufusYoakam
$ 0.05 from @nomadghada
+ 1
Avatar for coiner
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Is this still not available at android phones I can't see any brave wallet at my brave browser on my phone...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it is not available at android phone yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder if this wallet can connect to the uphold account where brave bat is being sent..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the brave wallet is independent, non-custodial wallet, and there is no direct link between brave wallet and uphold account. Uphold can send coins/tokens to brave wallet via send tx, but no direct connection between them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helpful content it seems good . I also use brave wallet its better than metamask

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well written! Definitely worth to try it out. To look for alternatives than metamask

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This seems nice but I'll prefer metamask,

Does it show NFTs or like metamask you can only see them as tokens?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I guess the brave wallet is just the beginning of its own journey. We will see how it gets improved overtime. Brave Wallet does not have NFTs, only supports native coins & tokens, just like Metamask.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully it will be better in the future, I am a big fan of the Brave browser, but its the crypto that they mess up especially the BAT token

$ 0.00
2 years ago