How to setup Online Wallet in noise.cash

8 143
Avatar for coiner
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Bitcoincash

Recently noise.cash added new feature called online wallet. So far in noise.cash we only have had recipient BCH address which was used by noise.cash to send tips. If we want to give tips directly to other user, we used QR code in noise.cash. Now by adding online wallet, we can give tips to others directly from our online wallet and keep BCH tips in noise.cash online account. This is just like read.cash (which already has online wallet); when we have some balance in read.cash online wallet, we can give tips directly to others, and maintain BCH balance in our online wallet.

If you don't want to use online wallet in noise.cash, currently you don't need to do anything. It will work as is. (NOTE: I am not sure if noise.cash will completely move to online wallet in the future, but so far existing mechanism still works).

If you don't have this background information, however, you will likely get confused by noise.cash UI. I was confused, too. Let's take a look further...

First, if you go to Settings (previously My Wallet), you will see this message. Precisely, you will see this message when you use Brave browser.

Basically this message means you will now need to turn off Brave Shields. Click the lion icon in your Brave browser, and turn it off.

Once you turn it off, you will be able to see your current BCH address where you currently receive noise tips. Again, if you are not interested in using your online wallet, you are good. You don't have to set online wallet at this point. noise.cash will send tips to your current cashaddress shown here.

If you want to use online wallet feature, you can click [Import your Bitcoin Cash wallet]. There is two ways of creating online wallet. I recommend the #2 method below because it's easier and kind of safer.

(#1) If you have external wallet (such as bitcoin.com wallet, electron cash), you can add seed phrase here to import the wallet. But I strongly recommend NOT to use your main wallet having big amount. I strongly recommend you to create new wallet, move small amount to the new wallet, and use its seed phrase. Even if I trust noise.cash, generally, there is always a risk for online wallet.

(#2) If you click "Cancel" in above screen, it will show two buttons: Create Wallet and Import Backup. If you click Create Wallet button, noise.cash will generate new online wallet (that is, new 12 word seed phrase) for you.

When you click Create Wallet button, this screen will show up.

Basically noise.cash will create new seed as below.

You will need to write down this seed phrase and derivation path on paper. Do NOT save it in a file since it's not a good practice.

For security reason, noise.cash might send you confirmation email. Check your email Inbox, and click Confirmation link to approve wallet address change.

It is worth noting that noise.cash uses single BCH address (m/44h/0h/0h/0/0) even if it uses HD seed phrase. When you use #1 method, there is a chance when your external wallet (ex: electron cash) has your BCH amount in other address such as m/44h/0h/0h/0/1. In that case, noise.cash UI will show 0 BCH because noise.cash only use m/44h/0h/0h/0/0 address.

Once online wallet is created, your noise.cash recipient address will be changed to your new online wallet address. If you click Open Wallet button, you can deposit BCH to your online wallet (Deposit button) or send your BCH externally (Pay button).

11
$ 8.86
$ 8.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 2
Avatar for coiner
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: BCH, Bitcoincash
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Thank you very much for your important article. I use noise cash myself. And I was a little in danger after updating them. Seeing this post of yours has helped me a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want to make my life more complicated so I just leave at what it use to be... Besides this only applies if you get a huge amount at noise.cash for casual user like me who barely get anything from it to much security is a hustle... I just use the wallet of a small website like faucetpay and use a main wallet like coins.ph..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, unless they make everyone move to online wallet, that might be another strategy^^

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah the biggest disadvantage of holding a crypto wallet seeds is that you are likely to forget about it regardless if you make a back up copy or keep it safe... Unless you are loyal to a single crypto holding different seeded wallet can also be annoying hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I needed this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I save all these into 1Password. That account requires a password, my licence key, and two factor identification to infiltrate. On device I use FaceID to unlock rather than a password.

I have the backup password stored in Notes but that file is password protected as well.

I am NOT good with keeping paper copies of everything and I have a wife who loves to throw out pieces of paper. Therefore writing down my seed phrases on a piece of paper is infinitely less safe than my method.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's another way of doing it. If your wife becomes crypto security threat, then I have to agree with you^^

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually very helpful. I was considering just leaving things as they were. BUT, I do have a wallet I use at read, and I just send my money to my MAIN wallet where I keep most of my money. If I can just create a new wallet exclusive to noise, this makes a lot of sense to me.

Thanks for the help. I will be trying to set this up soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago