Do Grades Really Matter

19 50
Avatar for coffeejelly
2 years ago

Nowadays, I see so many people saying grades do not really matter and they do not define you. I have always mixed feelings about those sentiments. After all, I am a student who tries her best to have good grades.

Grades matter.

I do not think that grades do not really matter at all. They have importance. We need good grades to have a chance at different opportunities and experiences. If I was not a student who gave importance to my grades, I would not have met my long-time friends who were my classmates in my special class. If I was not a good student, I would not have joined competitions in journalism, science quizzes and math contests. I would not have enjoyed so much in high school.

We should not think that grades do not have that significance. Some people think that you can be successful without having good grades because there are others who have become successful even when they did not have good grades in school. But, luck does not happen to everyone. There are opportunities that you can only grab when you are worthy of it.

Photo from Pinterest

I tried my best to get good grades so I can have scholarship in my college. I hope people would realize that they should strive to have good rankings even if they are not smart people. Having good grades does not always mean being smart. It means being able to work hard. Being a good student trains us to become hardworking people. And hardworking people are those that succeed the most.

I think we should study hard. We should not neglect our school performance because it says a lot about our attitude and values. It tells how much we make use of our time and how much we value our parents' efforts.

But, grades do not matter the most.

But, this is not to say that grades are all that matters. They’re not. They are important but not the most priority. What matters the most is ourselves. I got stuck on being a good student that I have forgot to care for myself. Focusing on my studies should not have meant neglecting myself but I was too young to know the importance of self-care.

I had a simple high school but a simple high school life does not mean an easy one. Along the way, there were challenges and obstacles. At first, I was full of hope and enthusiasm in studying, just a hardworking student aiming for the top. I was excited to learn and discover new things.

However, life in high school is not a playground. Because of that, I lost the little confidence I had in me and started thinking negatively of myself. I was in a slump. It felt like I even hated studying and thought of it as a burden rather than help. My motivation slowly faded and school did not matter anymore.

It was all thanks to my friends and parents who still treated me with the same affection as before that I got back on my feet. They did not pressure me or criticize me. It was a relief. I realized no matter how many disappointments and failures I made, I am still myself. It will not change the fact that I am actually capable and worthy as a person. I could always try for another.

I tried again. Yet, the life of a student is really not a carefree life. Stress piled up too much and I often had breakdowns. I sometimes cry not being able to handle the pressure and stress due to too much work as well as expectations.

Photo from Google

Yet, I did not rely on anyone on my problem. It was something I needed to solve on my own. Luckily, I did. I learned to be self- sufficient. I learned how to carry on without depending a lot to others. That was because I learned to care for myself.

I tried my best not to sleep so late at night to finish my activities. I tried to have a life outside the school. I explored different hobbies.

Take care of your mental health.

I want to remind my fellow students here that mental health matters the most. It may be hard to give ourselves time while studying but we should try. Grades are important but ourselves matters the most.

Grades matter. But, grades do not define you. That is why you should not let yourself be defeated when you fail. Caring for yourself means giving yourself the chances you deserve – the chance to get back up again.

Lead image from Canva

11
$ 5.30
$ 5.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @McJulez
$ 0.10 from @captain.teemo
Sponsors of coffeejelly
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for coffeejelly
2 years ago

Comments

Teachers gave you grades based on your performance. If you did well then you'll have higher grades. Grades really matter when you apply your job. You will not graduate if you have failing grades. That would affect also your personality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Our grades are significant when we want to join a company. But, teachers cannot really rate our performance because there are things they cannot see. That is why grades will not totally define a person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. Our grades do not define us, but they definitely impact our lives. Grades do matter. However, don't forget to get some rest. After all, it's our mental wellness that matters the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely, we should always give ourselves time to rest. Other than rest, we should also allocate time for some hobbies. We still need to have fun for our mental health

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my opinion, Grades do matter, but Grades is not the ONLY one that matters. There are chances that grades will reflect poor or even fail however it doesn't necessarily mean that you're a failure as a human being. In the same case, we shouldn't discredit those who really work hard to achieve high grades. There two sides of a coin, maybe some get a high grade that he/she don't deserve or the opposite of it, same with someone who got low grades. Maybe he or she got low grades because of some phenomenon thay go beyond what he can manage. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our grades reflect on us. But they do not completely define us. They just make up a part of our selves and should not be used to judge someone. Truly, we have different circumstances. Some people get low grades because they lack in financial resources and we should understand that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always hear a lot of people saying that grades are just numbers and don't define who they really are. But I agree with you that they still matter because of the things you pointed out. It made more sense in our course because we have grades to maintain to be a step closer to our dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those people who think grades are just numbers have different perspective because they may have different experiences. However, it is true that for us, it matters so much haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. Grades are important but they should not be our top priority. Truly, we should strive hard with our studies to get the most opportunities, but we should not let it affect our mental health and be a hindrance to enjoy living our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should still have fun even when we're studying hard. We can only perform well in school when we have enough rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grades are just one part of the complete picture of who you are as a student. They don't define you, but they can affect your future. Grades matter in the short term, especially in high school, because they can impact your ability to get into the college of your choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can't take some courses if you're grade does not reach the minimum. That's why we should not ignore our studies. Yet, we should still make ourselves our priority.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I thought grades don't really matter because I read a lot of stories of people who did not graduate but became successful still. However, when I entered college, that's when I realized that for me to achieve my goals and become an accountant someday, I need to study hard and make sure that my grades don't fall below the minimum requirement so yea.. grades do really matter in the end.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is good to realize its importance but we should not be too focused on it. Remember not to ignore your needs and take care of your mental health. Rooting for you, future CPA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grade matters as long as you are looking for a job or something like that. But education sure matters in general. It gives us a depth of understanding things. Take care of yourself, then comes everything else. I agree.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. When you get older, you'll kinda realize how important some things are. We need good grades and be educated so we can be ready to face the real world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said! And yourself matter also. Don't be too hard just evaluate yourself and with that you will know what's the best by aiming good grades.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly, we have different capabilities and limitations. It's important that we know what we can and what we cannot do so we will not push ourselves too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yessss. Good to know that😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago