Why I Love the Bougainvillea Flower

2 43
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
1 year ago

I grew up in Miami, Florida. One of the things I remember being taught in elementary school was ABOUT Florida. We had to learn not only the state's history but we had to learn the names of flowers that grew in Florida. After all, Ponce de Leon did call it Florida because of all the flowers he saw when he arrived.

My teacher taught me about the bougainvillea and I have never forgotten. I love this flower! My mom always planted flowers but she never planted bougainvilleas. But it was OK. Because my neighbor's home was adorned with them. Every time I see this flower, it brings back wonderful childhood memories.

Do you have a particular flower that brings back memories every time you see it?

***

LINKS OF INTEREST:

"The stunning bougainvillea flower carries the symbolic meaning of passion and beauty. This evergreen vine’s “blooms” — actually brightly colored bracts — grow in stunning shades of red, pink, and more. When given as a gift, it’s easy to see why the language of flowers uses bougainvillea as a symbol of passionate attraction."

"Bougainvillea is named after Admiral Louis Antoine de Bougainville, a late 18th-century explorer."

This flower has a very interesting history. This is how it really got its name.

"In the late 1700s, Admiral Louis Antoine de Bougainville was circumnavigating the globe with his official botanist, Philibert Commerson.

Unknown to the rest of the crew, Commerson’s assistant, a (female) herbalist named Jeanne Baret, was also on board. At that time, women weren’t allowed on explorations. Baret disguised herself as a man and credited her many botanical discoveries to Commerson.

Baret brought a bougainvillea plant to the ship, after finding it growing in the mountains around Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Sometime after, the crew discovered Baret’s true identity and her life was in danger. In order to gain Admiral de Bougainville’s protection, Commerson agreed to name the plant after him."

REFERENCE: Bougainvillea Flower Symbolism, Uses, and Benefits - Petal Republic

"Native to Brazil, Bougainvillea is truly one of the showiest shrubs we have during the fall and winter months here in South Florida. Its spectacular color comes from its heart-shaped papery bracts. ..."

REFERENCE: Florida’s Kaleidoscope of Color: Bougainvillea | Archive | coastalbreezenews.com

If You Liked This, You Might Also Like:

Why I Love the Hyacinth Flower

Why I Love the Jasmine Flower

Why I Love the Anthurium Flower

Gardenia Flowers and Lady Day

Exotic Plants and Flowers: Bird of Paradise

My History of Tulips

Transplant Flowers to Cure Homesickness

My Foodie Luv: Do You Cook with Edible Flowers?

My Foodie Luv: Four (4) Medicinal Flowers and Plants

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Librarian
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
1 year ago

Comments

They are very nice flowers. All are so unique. I will share some in the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have these flowers in our garden but I don't like them because whenever they fall in the garden I have to clean up all the mess and I hate this thing lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago