My Foodie Luv: The Challenges of Making Dietary Changes

5 43
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Because of my late husband's dietary restrictions, I changed my eating habits. It was either that or prepare separate meals. I was not about to spend extra time in kitchen.

I pretty much gave up most meats. I eat only fish and chicken. Tried to avoid carbs and increased my intake of fruits and veggies.

The dietary adjustment wasn't that hard.

I'll tell you what is hard! Trying to drink less coffee and consuming more tea. Preferably herbal teas since I have heard that they are really really good for you.

I have been successful in reducing the number of cups of coffee I drink per day. But I have not been as successful with drinking tea; hot or cold.

Don't ask me why but usually the only time I drink tea is when I get sick. Various teas have awesome medicinal benefits.

But … fortunately … I don't get sick that often.

Unfortunately, I can't seem to get into the habit of drinking tea regularly.

You would think it wouldn't be that difficult.

Ah well! At least my kids have gotten me to drink more water. 😊

I can drink it plain or infused. 😊 😊 😊

These Are the Healthiest Fruits to Infuse in Your Water

* Have you been challenged to make any dietary changes?

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments

The big one for me was my salt restriction due to hypertension, but I still have a bit of difficulty fully following it. Doc scolds me from time to time. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

~ The salt restriction was part of my husband's diet changes. It was hard not to sprinkle some extra salt on my food. We started experimenting with different herbs and spices and different types of salt. After a while I got used to the way the food tasted. In fact, if somebody cooks a dish and adds salt, I can only eat so much of it. One time I got a headache and I knew it was because I no longer eat food with that much salt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, salt is an addictive drug,hard to stop using. But it is worth the while. Read https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/why-salt-destroys-your-health-and-why-people-like-it-f73dfa8f

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Why should you reduce your intake of coffee? Any specific health issue? Otherwise, in general, coffee comes with enormous health benefits: https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/what-coffee-does-to-you-4055074f

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My kids thought that 8 to 10 cups a day was excessive. I am down to 2 cups a day. They also thought I was not drinking enough water and that herbal teas are better for me. My kids believe in water-drinking and tea-drinking. Thanks for the link.

$ 0.00
2 years ago