Personality Traits: Is it Hard for You to be Persistent?

2 43
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Patience Pays. Perseverance Pays. Persistence Pays. Why is it all the things that Pay start with the letter "P"? LOL.

A Bloodhound is a dog! More specifically, it is a breed of dog known for being able to pick up a scent and find whoever or whatever is being tracked. Per Wikipedia, “Its extraordinarily keen sense of smell is combined with a strong and tenacious tracking instinct … it is used by police and law enforcement all over the world to track escaped prisoners, missing people, lost children, and lost pets.”

One time a co-worker made a joke about me by calling me a bloodhound. If he were not a friend, the remark could have been interpreted as an insult. But he meant it as a compliment. He compared my persistence in completing a task or project to that of a bloodhound who had picked up a scent and would not stop until he had found what he was tracking. I used to be an auditor for the federal government. (Don’t hate! I was just doing my job. There are some unpatriotic citizens who work in businesses who want all the benefits of citizenship but wouldn't give a second thought to defrauding the government of the country they say they love. That means government sometimes had to audit financial books and records to ensure they are in compliance with the law and paying taxes, duties, fees, etc. pertaining to their business.)

It has never been hard for me to be persistent.

  • Perhaps it’s a personality trait and I was born that way.

  • Perhaps it is how I was raised and it’s a characteristic nurtured and developed by my parents.

  • Perhaps it’s my life experiences that have taught me to be this way.

  • Perhaps it’s all of the above and more!

One thing I know is that persistence is strengthened through patience and perseverance AND evidently ... it’s not that way for everyone.

Some people lack persistence. They may set out to accomplish a task but if it takes too long or proves to be difficult or arduous, or they get bored or distracted … THEY DO NOT PERSIST.

Ask them why and they have all kinds of excuses or reasons. But the truth is they run out of steam or determination and just don’t or won’t complete the project.

What’s more? They have no determination or drive to carry on or see a matter through to the end. THEY QUIT!

Not sure why but:

It has always been easy for me to be persistent. It feels like it comes naturally.

Some people persist but it is not easy. It does not come naturally. They really have to push themselves.

If you’re being honest with yourself about yourself, when you approach a task, how would you and/or observers describe your attitude, behavior, or mindset.

How often do you evaluate yourself? Well today as as good a day as any to assess yourself and determine whether or not you are determined enough to achieve your goals and succeed.

SELF-EVALUATION TIME:

(1) I am persistent and patient, and I persevere. I won’t stop until the job is DONE! I’m a bloodhound.

(2) I am a procrastinator, and sometimes put things off for another time even when I could DO IT NOW! But I will eventually start the project and finish it!

(3) I hate to say it but if the job is too difficult or makes me perspire just a little, I’m a QUITTER!

(4) Uh! … I can’t possibly perform a self-evaluation without taking a personality assessment test administered by a trained and qualified mental health professional which I can not do because __________.

(Psst! Number 4 … Do you mean you to have a convenient “bag of excuses” ready for not doing anything? You put off the task by blaming someone else for you not even trying to accomplish the task? Hopefully, nobody is Number 4. 😃)

Which number are YOU? Have fun with this!

Note: Content 1st published on Virily.com.

Related or Similar Articles:

4
$ 0.18
$ 0.10 from @Miika
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.03 from @Porwest
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments

I think I am persistent but my persistence depends on the reward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patience is an essential thing in our daily life Even we must be patient in work and study We strive to achieve our goals and dreams

@Markos33

$ 0.00
2 years ago