My Foodie Luv: Happy Holidays! Who Wants Eggnog?

13 79
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

In the USA, Christmas is on December 25th. Some of the US citizens of Hispanic descent also celebrate the Feast of the Three Kings which does not occur until January. But I read somewhere that the people in the Philippines celebrate the Christmas holiday season for months! It's called the "Ber months"; countdown, runs from September to December.

Great! That means I can go ahead and start talking about Christmas even though it's a few months away. 😊

There is one holiday tradition that I did not start off enjoying. Probably because when I first tasted this drink, I was just a kid and you know how kids are. They have both expectations and suspicions when trying new things; and this particular drink did not meet my expectations. It was sort of creamy and had spices in it and ... I don't know what else! Although? I wasn't suspicious about it because everybody else seemed to like it; especially the adults. For one of my brothers, this drink was his β€œspecialty” and according to my mom, he made it really well. As I got older, let's just say I acquired a taste for it.

What drink am I talking about? EGG NOG!!

If you do a search for recipes you will find out there are a bazillion different recipes for this drink. Traditionalists put alcohol in this drink (β€œClassic Eggnog”), but you can make it virgin (i.e. β€œNon-alcoholic Eggnog”). My brother really did make good eggnog, but I personally never bothered to make this drink because you can buy it ready-made from the store. It's in the refrigerator case next to the milk. There are also numerous variations of eggnog sweet treats or dessert and breakfast recipes.

Regardless of the recipe used or whether or not you buy it in a carton from the store, when it comes to eggnog, there's a clear dividing line. People either love it or hate it.

How about you?

* Love it!

* Hate it!

* Never tried it!

Happy Holidays! Who wants eggnog? 😊😊

Exploring Eggnog: History and Six Delicious Recipes | Delishably

(Interesting. Did you know that George Washington, America's first president had his own eggnog recipe? The ingredients included rum, whiskey, brandy and sherry. If he had served it to the British Red Coats there would not have been a war. After one drink and they would have passed out! 😊)

32 Holiday Recipes to Make with Eggnog | Taste of Home

(Try the Eggnog Bread Pudding with Cranberries. If you don't like cranberries, used dried cherries.)

10 Uses for Leftover Eggnog | Holiday Recipes | Food Network

(Eggnog french toast? I'm OK with that.)

MY FOODIE LUV CHANNELS ON NOISE.CASH:

♦ ♦ ♦

Thanks for reading.

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty


5
$ 0.16
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 1
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments

Celebrating Christmas for months would irk me to no end. It is bad enough my wife starts playing Christmas music in November and listens to it to New Year's. Gosh, I really hate Christmas music. Bah humbug!

As for egg nog, I will take mine with brandy. But actually I am not a huge fan of it. I prefer beer. lol

And yes, you may call me Scrooge until January 1st. Christmas can bite me. Probably the least favorite of holidays for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think over the years Christmas has become the least favorite holiday for a lot of people. My daughter likes Halloween. My son-in-law likes Thanksgiving. And some of my family have written it off as just another day. Me? I'm just trying to hold on to my memories. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For me Christmas has just become a big money grab that has lost almost all of its meaning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You get no argument from me on that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Never tried it. Now I'm curious what it tastes like. Haha.

Also, I'm curious to know, have you read the rewarder bot's post? πŸ€”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you like creamy drinks you could turn it into a milkshake. (https://lilluna.com/eggnog-milkshakes/)

Uumm?? What is the rewarder bot's post? ⁉️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you can find it on any article with more than $0.30 amount. Check the upvoters. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Patience please. Another stupid question. How do you check the upvoters? πŸ€”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I upvoted your post, you see my pic there right? Beside the $ amount? Hehe you should explore around this site more to know how to earn here. 😁 Hover on the profile pics beside the $ amount of other articles, you will see the rewarder bot pic. Click on it so you can read it's post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OK! Thanks so much. I noticed some of the articles that received $$ from the rewards bot, but they are usually topics I don't write about. I am just hoping that real readers (versus the rewards bot) will enjoy and reward my content.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah however it doesn't look like you've been getting much eyes since you've been here. Just thought you might wanna know how to get more $$$ per article. :)

You don't need to write the same articles as others for sure. Any topic you'd like to write is fine. You can get an idea on how to get more post rewards if you read the reward bot's post and the FAQ/Rules section here if you haven't read them yet.

@ Read.Cash posts are also insightful, find the one about how to earn here if you'd like to. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No. You're right. It does not look like my articles are being viewed. I share them on Noise.Cash and via social media. I republish too via Medium or my blogs. For a little while some of my articles were getting attention and earning. That was about 2 months ago. Before that and after that, it's like even though they are viewed, they don't get rewarded.

I have not changed my writing style or the topics. So since I know I have remained consistent, then something else must have changed here at the platform. I also don't get sponsors. I think I read the articles you suggested when I first started. But I don't recall. I probably should refresh my memory.

Thanks for trying to help me out. I really appreciate it. ❀️️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright. Good luck! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago