Movie Recommendations: The Best of the Best Alfred Hitchcock Films

0 58
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Trivia Genius is a publication I enjoy reading because I love entertainment trivia. Here is a list they published of five (5) Hitchcock movies they thought most people had not seen. I've seen 3 out of the 5 and I'm not sure any of them could be described as Hitchcock's “best”.

The 5 Best Alfred Hitchcock Movies You Probably Haven’t Seen | Trivia Genius

1. Lifeboat (1944)

2. Rope (1948)

3. The Trouble With Harry (1955)

4. Frenzy (1972)

5. Family Plot (1976)

I watched Number 1 and 2 and they were classic Hitchcock. They were very good but not his finest or “best”.

Number 1: Lifeboat (1944)

The entire movie takes place on a lifeboat. The ship sank, and these people who survived were stuck on a lifeboat. Even though they did not go down with the ship, they were not exactly sure if they were going to be rescued. They wondered if it was just going to be an extremely slow process of dying for each one of them.

Number 2: Rope (1948)

When you are a professor, you must be very careful what you teach your students. James Stewart was the professor who said something and his students took it literally. They murdered one of their classmates. Why? Well because … he wasn't fit to live. THEY DECIDED that mankind would not miss him. As if, the murder wasn't bad enough, these guys decided to have a party and let the guests be in the same room with the dead body. Of course, the guests were not aware of this. What was even more sickening was that 2 of the guests were the murdered victim's mother and father. Guys! How low can you go?

Number 3: The Trouble With Harry (1955)

I have not seen this movie but those who have claim it was one of Hitchcock's funniest. His funniest? It may not have been his finest because he is known for his suspense thrillers. But evidently it was really funny. I read the story-line and I have to say it reminds me of real life true stories. In the movie, a character is dead but nobody in the town really cares, however, they each wonder if they had anything to do with his death. I actually know two (2) true stories where a person had died in Texas and nobody cared. That's not funny when you think about it. But somehow Hitchcock managed to turn such a plot into a comedy. I guess they didn't call him “genius” for nothing.

Number 4: Frenzy (1972)

I have to tell you that I was very disappointed with Number 4. They advertised this movies as a “masterpiece”. I had very high expectations. I was so disappointed, that I never bothered to watch any Hitchcock movie that came after. To take it a step further, I thought “Frenzy” was so awful that it would surely be his last film. It turns out that there was one more movie that came after and that was Number 5.

Number 5: My Family Plot (1976)

According to a review published in Decider.com (link below), this final film was really bad! I believe the reviewer and I'm not going to even bother to watch it.

Ah well! I guess by the 70s, Hitchcock was getting tired.

My Picks for Hitchcock's Best of the Best

I am such a huge fan of Alfred Hitchcock that I find it hard to choose only one film as a favorite, but none of the five (5) named above is on my list. I can narrow my choices to a Top 3 List.

1. Dial M for Murder (1954)

2. North by Northwest (1959)

3. Marnie (1964)

  • Dial M for Murder (1954), starred Ray Milland and Grace Kelly.

    A husband discovers his wife's infidelity. But instead of just getting a divorce, he hires someone to kill her, so that he can inherit all of her money.

  • North by Northwest (1959), starred Cary Grant, Eva Marie Saint, and James Mason. It's a case of mistaken identity; and even though the man insists that he is not who they think he is, they don't believe him! The most memorable scene in this movie, in addition to the main character almost being run over by an airplane, is the scene where the couple is being chased and they are at the top of Mount Rushmore.

  • Marnie (1964), starred Tippi Hedren and Sean Connery. This is a love story. The woman is a thief. She steals from every company she works at. Her thievery is discovered but instead of turning this “tempting little tart” into the police, the man decides to marry her. He loves her but he also thinks it's the best to protect her so that she doesn't end up in prison. The marriage starts off with a little bit of difficulty. He's already accepted that his wife is a thief and that her behavior is not "normal". But then he realizes the wife doesn't like to be touched; not just by her husband. She doesn't like any man touching her! Her husband believes the habitual stealing and her aversion a man's touch are linked. He determines to find out the cause and hopefully cure his wife's “abnormality”.

Do you have a favorite Hitchcock movie?

Feel free to disagree with my picks.

According to IndieWire, Hitchcock's Top 3 films are:

1. “Notorious” (1946)

2. “Vertigo” (1958)

3. “Psycho” (1960)

According to Far Out Magazine, Hitchcock's Top 3 films are:

1. Vertigo (1958)

2. Psycho (1960)

3. Rear Window (1954)

Best Life Online shared a ranking of Hitchcock movies based on reviews published via Rotten Tomatoes.

1. Rebecca (1940)

2. Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

3. North by Northwest (1959)

As you can see, a lot of people disagree with my Top 3. 😋

Sir Alfred Joseph Hitchcock KBE (1899 – 1980)

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @renren16
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments