Disney Animated Classic Film: The Aristocats (1970)

4 127
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

When I was growing up Saturday mornings were the best! We did not have cable TV or online streaming back then, but most of the local stations always showed cartoons from the early morning until around noon. My siblings and I would watch them together. My youngest daughter is an adult now but when she was little, we often watched animated movies on Saturday mornings. It was “our time”. I would go to the local library and check out videos. They had a great collection of animated videos for kids.

One Saturday morning I was really tired. I went into her bedroom, popped the tape into the VCR, laid down on her bed and fell back to sleep! When I woke back up my daughter was singing “Everybody … everybody … everybody wants to be a cat!” LOL. That movie had her full attention. She did not even notice that I had fallen asleep. Later on, I watched the movie by myself. I was curious because my baby girl clearly enjoyed it. After I watched it I knew why.

A one word description for this Walt Disney film? Adorable!

Also, it's a great movie for jazz music lovers!

The voice actors were well-known entertainers from my generation that I have always loved; such as Eva Gabor (“Duchess”), Scatman Crothers (“Scat Cat”), and especially Sterling Holloway (“Roquefort the Mouse”). I would recognize his voice anywhere! His voice was used in the “Wizard of Oz”, “Winnie the Pooh” and so many other animated films I watched as a child. His voice is memorable!

PLOT: The butler did it! A wealthy retired opera singer leaves her money to her cats. But the woman's butler drugs the cats and abandons them in the countryside so that he can inherit the fortune himself. The pampered cats meet up with a street smart easygoing alley cat who decides, with the help of his other cat friends, to help them return to their rightful home in Paris.

If you want to watch a delightful animated film with your child or children, I highly recommend The Aristocats (1970).

Related Links:

The Aristocats (1970) - IMDb

'The Aristocats' Live-Action Remake in the Works at Disney

The Aristocats | Disney Wiki | Fandom

Everybody Wants To Be A Cat (from The Aristocats) – YouTube

  • "Scat Cat: Everybody wants to be a cat / Because a cat's the only cat who knows where it's at.

Image credits:

* Original Theatrical Release Poster: Disney Fan Fiction Wiki

* Happy 50th Anniversary, The Aristocats! by RichTheVoiceTrumpet: deviantart.com

Sponsors of cmoneyspinner
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.16
$ 0.06 from @Librarian
$ 0.05 from @Miika
$ 0.03 from @Porwest
+ 1
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments

I remember this one also. I watched in French (in Canada), called "Les Aristochats"! Saturday mornings would always be nice as I would wake up before anyone else being the youngest in my family and as you say, the local TV stations would always have cartoons.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All those early animations by Disney are masterpieces in their genre From "Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs" (1937) to Robin Hood (1973). Perhaps the pinnacle is "The Jungle Book" (1967).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To my, Fantasia (1940) was a real masterpiece. I reckonise the classical music instantly and associate it with the images from Fantasia. As such, I still keep vivid memories of Modest Mussorgsky's night on bald mountain and how epic the music and its visuals are in that one. I'm sure you like Fantasia also @Mictorrani.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure I do. And you are right, that's the best one of them all. What you say reminds me of an important point with Disney: the synergy of animation and music. It's peaking in Fantasia, but it's there in all those early animated movies, and it's an important factor in Disney's greatness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago