Art Nouveau OR Art Deco?

0 44
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

I am not an art aficionado or expert; and know very little about art history or art movements. I just know artwork that I like and I like art nouveau. More specifically, I like vintage art nouveau (example in image below). One of my sons went into business with his friends. He prefers art deco.

Hmmm?? Art Nouveau. Art Deco. Do you know the difference?

Here is an explanation that I looked up.

Art Nouveau and Art Deco are two of the defining art movements of the 20th century. … Where Art Nouveau celebrates elegant curves and long lines, Art Deco consists of sharp angles and geometrical shapes. Although often confused, the two movements mark entirely different directions in the development of modern art. ...”

(Quote Source: Art Deco vs Art Nouveau | Rise Art ~ www.riseart.com/guide/2379/art-deco-vs-art-nouveau)

OK. Even after I learned the difference, my preference for art nouveau remains unchanged. I happen to like elegance and curves.

RELATED LINKS OF INTEREST:

Origins of Art Nouveau | Europeana

10 Art Nouveau Artists Who Defined the Movement

10 of the best European cities for art nouveau | Cultural trips | The Guardian

The Most Beautiful Art Nouveau Buildings Around the World | Architectural Digest


Do you have a favorite art style?

* * *

NOTE: This short post was first shared on my Noise.Cash profile. If you liked this post, you might enjoy some of my other posts about art. Click here.

* * *

Other art-related content on Read.Cash:

Modern Art: Adka's Art is Inspired by New York

The Two Michelangeli – Two of the Greatest Artists of European Art History

How Blockchain is Penetrating the Art World

Why NFT's Are The Most Logical Advancement For Artists

1
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Miika
Avatar for cmoneyspinner
2 years ago

Comments