When You Forgot the Most important Thing

21 89
Avatar for cinderella
1 year ago

I’ve got an invitation to discuss GAD Audit using the Gender Mainstreaming and Evaluation Framework (GMEF), Gender Responsive Local Government Units (GerL) and Harmonized Gender and Development Guidelines (HGDG) from a certain local government unit in our province. A colleague and friend was included in the invitation.

It was not the first time that I was invited as a speaker in an event. I was used to speak on various events but I gender and development was the most frequent topic I talk about. Other topics that I accept were leadership trainings, topics involving women and children such as violence against women and their children, children’ months, etc.

Suggested Reading: How I Managed a Stress Management Seminar

I have been working on the presentation since last week. I made research and thankfully, last night I was able to finish the presentation. I reviewed the presentation I created and I slept at around 11:45 PM.

This morning, I woke up at 5:00 in the morning and decided to bring the clothes I needed and placed it on the compartment of the car before I drink my coffee and had some egg pie which I bought from the bakeshop yesterday.

I’m almost ready when my friend came. It was 7:00 o’clock in the morning just as we agreed upon yesterday. I immediately picked up my things and off we went.

While travelling to the venue, we were still discussing how we will go about with the discussion. After exchange of ideas, we agreed that I will make the introduction, then she will discuss the GerL. After that, I will discuss the GMEF and will facilitate the workshop. Then tomorrow, we will discuss and facilitate the HGDG.  

We were at the venue at 8:30 AM. I managed to park the vehicle at the back of the municipal building. I get out of the car, and opened the door at the back to get my things.

My laptop was not there!

I opened the compartment hoping that I placed it there. It was not there either. I began to get worried. But managed to calm down while thinking of a solution.

I immediately called my son via Facebook messenger. After three rings, he answered. Looks like he just woke up. I told him I am already at the venue but my laptop was not with me. I was trying to ask him to bring the laptop at the venue but he said that they have to go to another municipality and he will be the one to drive so he cannot bring my laptop. Besides, it will take him at least an hour to reach the venue.

So, I had to think of another way. My presentation which took me days to finish was at my laptop. I can’t go home and come back again because it was almost 9:00 AM. We should have started if not with this issue.

I told him to send the files to my email. He immediately complied and soon I received the files and downloaded it to the available laptop at the venue.

Though I was already sweating a lot despite the cold temperature inside the venue, I still managed to do my part. After the opening program, I presented the overview of the activity that we are about to conduct. After which, my colleague started her discussion.

The author owns the photo

We also played videos to give more information on the subject discussed by my friend.

Then, it was my turn to discuss. It was a discussion on an assessment process that needs to be done in relation with gender and development specifically on gender mainstreaming. Before we had a break for lunch, I distributed the assessment materials for the workshop which is to be done in the afternoon.

In the afternoon, I continue with the discussion and facilitated the workshop. My colleague helped me in giving the analysis of the result of the mock assessment.

When I told my colleague that we will be staying in a hotel for the night, she said she did not bring any clothes because she thought that we will be going home after the activity.

Even if I don’t have plan of going home considering that the price of gasoline is expensive, I can’t do anything but to go home. So after the activity, we drove back home.

Upon reaching home, I found my laptop bag on top of my bed. I remembered, I was already holding it this morning and I don’t know what happened that I forgot to bring it. This was the first time that I forgot my laptop. Since the time I bought it, I never been separated with it. We are inseparable and I consider it as my work buddy.

I know it’s a sign of aging.

I was just thankful that my son was still at home when I called. I am also thankful that we already have this new technology.

Because of what happened, I realized that I need to be careful next time around. I should always have a back-up of my presentations so I won’t get anxious when I failed to bring my laptop.

So, that’s my unforgettable experience for this day. Tomorrow will be our second and last day and hoping to have a successful activity.

Disclaimer:

The content of this post is not for promotional intent rather for informational purposes only and should not be considered as a financial advice. Similarly, the opinions I have shared are of my own and does not in any way represent the organization I am currently connected with.

Special Thanks:

I would like to extend my thanks to my sponsors. I wish you success with all the endeavors you have especially with you read.cash activities. More blessings!

Sponsors of cinderella
empty
empty
empty
Written for read.cash by Sharon S. Lopez (Cinderella) All rights reserved 2022

Date published: July 07, 2022

12
$ 1.42
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 3
Sponsors of cinderella
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cinderella
1 year ago

Comments

I feel you po. But Thank goodness because this technology connects us that easier and faster. Congratulations po that you still did your discussion very well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you TeacherLynlyn. Sometimes talaga we experience things that test our patience, ability and resourcefulness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thankful that we can connect anywhere because of our technology. Unlike before it is really hard to communicate and now we can send from places files with just a click. At times even me, also forgot the most important thing and be glad I still have enough time to go back. As we aged, it is inevitable to have forgetful moments.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we are blessed because of the new technology. Though we still need to be careful. I was just distracted because of the early arrival of my colleague. I already remember what happened that morning. I need to put down the laptop bag because my cats ran when my colleague came in to take a sit. I had to let them get inside the house before we left.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes distractions really does no good. Even my colleague was ask to explain herself why they fail to prepare the most important thing for Monday morning and ended up making countermeasure for that incident not to happen again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The stress Is too much though. but I think you should have planned everything down so it's will be very easy for you next time, so as not to make the same mistake.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's what I am planning to do. to have an online back-up of everything especially my presentations. Thank you for sharing your thought.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever we get nervous we should keep calm ourselves and tried to solve the problem

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I always try to calm myself whenever I am facing difficult situations. I believe everything will pass and that includes problems.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eeeeey! I can feel the stress sis, whew! My husband usually saves his files sa isang account online, so he can work and access it online or offline.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I also do that because I am handling different programs both administrative and technical. It is that I was not able to save this presentation online because I was still working on it. Anyway, everything is okay and nobody noticed that we were having some issues yesterday. Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister aging causes dementia. Wao you are lucky to have chance discuss with Audience. I can't bear the crowd pressure but I am happy to treat my patients 😂. Presentation always takes a lot time for composing. Good if you think of back up if laptop or other gadget lost.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes sis, I oftentimes forgot things. With regards to being a speaker, that is part of my job. We need to discuss programs that the government is implementing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ohh i'm sorry for you dear. I hope there were no problems and the presentation went well. My dear, I am against the concept of gender equality. LGBTI is being popularized under the name of equality honey, you don't stop by me on noisecash anymore

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I respect your opinion. Rest assured I won't insist this concept on you. About noise, well I can seldom stay on the site and when I was trying to tip, I get prompt that it is not allowed. I don't know what happened to your account.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can discuss the issue of gender equality in private. I don't know what to do about noisecash. I will be glad if you help me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry. I am really busy so I don't have much time even with noise.cash. I am just visiting the site when I am free but most of the time, I can't do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok darling. I wish you well in your work. I love you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my gash sissy, I was sweating cold on the part that you left your laptop at home and good thing, it was at your home and you didn't lose it. What matters is that we learn from this experience.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm getting old na sis. I was distracted because my colleague came in too early. But everything is okay. We were trained to resolve even the worst situation and we are expected to deliver so we need to do everything just to pursue with the activity. Thank you for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have this kind of situation, but in me I either left the charger of my phone or my phone itself hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago