I Failed the Test But Got the Job

31 126
Avatar for cinderella
1 year ago
Topics: Job, Career, Honesty, Courage, Attitude, ...

Along with the other applicants, I walk silently towards the room. I seated on the vacant chair with the table in front of me. The facilitator placed the test paper on top of the table facing downward. We waited for the instruction. When the facilitator told us to open the test paper, I started reading. After a few minutes, I raised my hand.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

“Yes, Miss?” asked the facilitator.

“Mam, I’m sorry but I can’t take the exam anymore,” was my reply.

“Why, what’s the problem?” she asked almost whispering.

“I think I don’t have enough knowledge to answer the questions,” my answer in a low voice.

“No. You have to finish the exam.”

A lot of people think that applying for a job is all about skill. What you know and what you can do. Most of the time, we forget that one thing that we need in order to get the job.

Attitude!

Hello, my read.cash friends! I hope you are all doing great!

Perhaps a few from here know that I am working in the government. Entering the government service is a dream to many. However, before we can start working in the government, we need to undergo series of tests, interviews, and other activities to test our competency.

What I would like to share with you today is an experience which teaches a valuable lesson for everyone especially those who are looking for an employment be it in private or government offices.

This is my experiences when I applied for a job in a private company before I was able to enter the government service in 2010.

It was after the Typhoon Reming hit the country and thousands of people died in the province of Albay. If you haven’t heard of the place, it is the province where the famous Mayon Volcano is located.

I have known that the cooperative is hiring and since I don’t have a job during that time, I decided to try my luck.

Upon looking at the test paper, I know I couldn’t answer the questions which are related to accounting. That’s why I tried to just return the paper to the facilitator. But she refused and told me to answer and finish the exam. I obeyed.

I already accepted that I cannot get the job. I went home and started to do the household chores. My children were still young during that time.

In the evening, I received a message from the cooperative informing to be at the same venue for an interview. I was surprised because I know I didn’t passed the exam. Why would they still interview me?

But of course, I obeyed.

I saw the same people during the examination. So, I thought, everyone will be interviewed.

The chairman conducted the interview and asked about my previous experience and other personal things.

When I go home, I tried to forget about it and even decided to look for other companies where I could apply in the next days.

Before the day ends, I receive another message form the same number.

“Congratulations! You are qualified for the position. Please submit the following documents tomorrow.”

I was both confused and happy.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

I can’t think of a reason or two for me to qualify for the job I’ve applied for knowing that I didn’t passed the exam.

But still, it’s a blessing and I should be happy and follow the instructions.

The following day, I was at the office to submit the requirements. That was my first day of work and I found out that the facilitator is the vice-chairperson.

Months have passed and I already learned the tasks and I became close to the vice-chairperson. I caller her, Mam Imee the way most employees address her. She would guide me whenever I encounter difficulties with my job. I was also appointed as the secretary of the cooperative, a task that should only be given to a regular member.

One time, I had a chance to talk to Mam Imee privately. We were alone in the office because there was an activity in another room.

I asked her, “Mam, please tell me, why did you choose me over the other applicants? I know I didn’t passed the exam and besides, I know there is someone from the group that almost got perfect.”

She just laugh, “Oh no, I didn’t choose you.”

“What do you mean?”

She sat down in front of me.

“That is the consensus of the board. The board made a decision based on the results of the entire selection process.”

“We believe that any work or task can be learned but the character is inherent in every person.

Skill is a factor to consider but attitude gets a stronger point.

When you decided to admit that you don’t know the answer, you have manifested courage and honesty.

You exhibited courage by accepting that you don’t know the right answer.

You have shown honesty which is the most important trait we are looking for. “

Everything that she said, went straight to my heart.

I felt every word she uttered and I am proud of it.

It has been 15 years since that encounter and I am already 12 years in the government service.

Everything is still clear in my memory.

I hope you learned something from this story. Thank you for sharing your time.

Disclaimer:

The content of this post are not for promotional intent rather for informational purposes only and should not be considered as a financial advice. Similarly, the opinions I have shared are of my own and does not in any way represent the organization I am currently connected with.

Special Thanks:

I would like to extend my thanks to my sponsors. I wish you more success with read.cash and with other projects you currently have.

Written for read.cash by Sharon S. Lopez (cinderella) All rights reserved 2022

Connect with me on Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

20
$ 4.32
$ 4.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.03 from @Marts
+ 8
Sponsors of cinderella
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cinderella
1 year ago
Topics: Job, Career, Honesty, Courage, Attitude, ...

Comments

well, when they say honesty is the best policy, they are not wrong there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I congratulate you dear. I admire your honesty

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Thank you for the appreciation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you too dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This situation is hard but is common many people fails the exam and gets job.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Congratulations on getting job and when you are giving us celebration party I am waiting

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is true that government job is always dream of many of people The wanted to get government job because that is more secure

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, being in the government service has a security of tenure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was a good story. Attitude is also important, and not just about skills and knowledge. Aww, that must have been a great accomplishment of you!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it was one of my accomplishments. It is important to be humble as well at all times. As we stay long in service, we will be promoted to higher position. We should keep our feet on the ground.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you are right. We need to learn to be humble :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Attitude and integrity. That really is what employers or recruiters should put a premium on. Written exams for the application process is like your grades in school. There are times you don't do well in school, and get blah grades, but you have a good work ethic, and I will take that over 'intelligence' and stock knowledge. So, kudos to the officers of that cooperative for knowing how to select worthy staff members.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the kind words. And as of now, I am already a member of that cooperative. Thank you for sharing your thought on this post.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ay grabe i didn't know this story sis... i love it! ang galing naman..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you sis. More blessing to you and your family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this is very inspiring. Kaka-take ko lang ng civil service exam last sunday, and I am praying na sana makapasa ko para makapag apply sa government agencies ^^

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Good luck! Yes, requirement ang civil service para makapasok sa government service.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The post is meant for you, if it is for us no matter what the results we can still have it. I encounter some applicants in public schools to qualify as a public teacher aside from license you need to pass the RQA and you need to get a 70+ score if it is lower than 70 you are not qualified. But I know some teachers who do not get or passed that stage but they are hired. That moment I realized that maybe because of shortage or scarcity of resources.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I also thought of that. Because the position was the reason why I was hired in the government. Are you a teacher @CoinBitShac?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe🤣 Yes I am. But sometimes Im confused if teaching is my calling or just a profession. 😀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Skills can be learned, but character takes time to develop. :) Fit ka talaga for the job! Kudos sa magiting nating mga government workers!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the kind words Marts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is good to hear sister, you are government officer. Attitude is no doubt backbone of interview. You execute perfectly according to me as well because when we didn't know the answer there is no need to make any bullshit on sheet.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I just want to be truthful so I did that thing since I really don't know what I will answer. But I later on found out that at the back page, there were some questions that I was able to answer. So I didn't get zero on that exam. Thank you for sharing your thought.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uwu antagal mo na. Ako nanghinayang ako na di ako nagtake agad ng civil service exam,

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, matagal na din ako sa government service. Pwede ka paring mag take ng civil service.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede pa dn naman siguro kaso baka di nako matanggap dahil sa age ko hahahal

$ 0.02
1 year ago

No harm in trying. Ilang taon ka na ba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

31 na sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

35 ako noong makapasok ako sa government service. Although pasado naman ako sa civil service after graduating from college. May baby ako kaya di ako makaapply ng maayos kaya nagwork ako sa private companies. Until 45 pwede ka mag apply sa government.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oooh sige po. Thank you sis! Magtake ako ng civil service kapag may chance na, nagalaga pa kasi ako ng baby. Salamat sa impormasyoooon

$ 0.00
1 year ago