How To Deal With Diversity?

26 56
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

We are all aware of the meaning of diversity since teachers and professors brought them up in every discussion about culture and beliefs. For me, it is the differences among the people, traditions, organizations, and even ideas. It is the different insights and perspectives to a particular thing, and it happens across the world. But, according to Merriam Webster, diversity means being composed of differing elements. And it supports the idea I have in my mind about it.

I want o share a video I watched on Youtube that tackles diversity and being in a different race from others. The link to the video is below, and you can check it out yourself. Furthermore, I will share my insights and opinion about it through this article.


My thoughts about the lady's exaggeration in mocking the people from England:

The man approached the lady and asked where she came from and then insisted on knowing the lady's ethnicity. In my perspective, the way the man was asking is quite offensive and rude on the lady's part since he sounded like a racist. Then when the lady demonstrated the characteristics of people from England, there was an obvious exaggeration to get her revenge towards the man. I say the lady was offended and thought of revenge by mocking the characteristics of the man's native ethnicity.


Meeting and talking with people who have different accents are the closest example of this. Sometimes we experience having new classmates at school from other provinces, and you can hear pronunciations not familiar with your ears. I did not become judgmental but had the slightest weird feeling of hearing their dialects.

On the other hand, people must not normalize laughing with unfamiliar beliefs, cultures, or accents. You will meet and talk to them, but avoid having weird and offensive facial expressions as you hear how they speak and express themselves. It would be best to show them your appreciation and have an open mind that not everyone shares the same language, accent, and culture. Let them express themselves in ways they are comfortable and used to without getting judgments from you and others.


Sometimes we are ignorant of the things and people strange to us, which makes things worse. People have differences, especially in culture and beliefs. It would be best to understand and be aware of them to avoid misunderstandings and conflicts when reaching different people. How?

  1. Be open-minded and self-aware. Sometimes we already know that someone has an accent, so avoid asking about it and give the chance to express themselves and speak comfortably with it.

  2. Acceptance is what we need and thinking before stereotyping. Most people rely on stereotypes or one-sided stories when meeting unfamiliar people. It is best to accept the cultural differences and try to understand their stories instead of stereotyping them.

  3. Change your mindset and embrace everyone else's uniqueness. You cannot make every person change because they are different, but you can change your thinking and perspective by embracing uniqueness and differences.


We have a small world, and we cannot avoid communicating with people who have different cultures. Some people think that it would be hard to communicate with them, but it is not, and you need to know a few tips on how to do it without offending them.

  • First, since you already know that they have a different culture, expect that they might have an accent when talking, and make sure that you will not show facial expressions that will seem rude to them.

  • Second, you can speak to them about exciting topics like their hierarchies, and never let them be bothered by the difficulties in communicating with you. You can ask to repeat what they said if you did not understand, but do it in a friendly way.

  • Lastly, be respectful. Let them see and feel that you respect their culture, language, and even their small gestures and expressions. Respect is everything that we need to avoid any conflicts towards another, even to diverse people.



Author's Remarque:

Rest assured that this article went through plagiarism detection for everyone's peace of mind. It is for the readers and users who take plagiarism as a big deal since they are working to improve the platform. The detection made will serve as my contribution to the said purpose. I am one of you, and I am starting it with my article.

If you have any hesitation and doubts, you can check it yourself through these three plagiarism detectors I used.


Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:


If you still have time, here are some of my latest articles that you might want to read:


Crypto-related Articles:



Date Published: September 9, 2021

12
$ 7.14
$ 6.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

A well written article. Ang daling intindihin. Understanding that each individual is unique, and recognizing our individual differences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Huhu. I agree with what you have said. Appreciation and understanding should be our priority as human beings. Salamat po. 🥺♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything is diverse and so are we, we have different perspective about everything but respect is the key for unity and acceptance.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You just got it! We need unity, appreciation, and most of all is RESPECT. Thank you for dropping your precious thoughts. By the way, where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I'm from Philippines ✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kabayan ko rin pala 'to. Hehehe. Nice to meet you! See you around. Saan ka sa PH?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ommo, hello kababayan 😊 Mindanao-Davao po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Central Luzon ako, sa Zambales. Layo mo pala, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oy anlayo naman pala. it's nice to know you😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga ang layo. Nice knowing you too! Can you activate your sponsorship? You can see it while writing an article. Yung may dollar sign sa choices if you wanna add some image ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God!! 🥺 Thank you very much for thaaaatttt. How I wish I can thank you personally. God bless pooo 😊🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is good Cherry. I must admit that at some point my younger and ignorant self, laughed at people because to me they sounded funny. As I got older I could see this: Not only we may be hurting their feelings, we might actually be giving them the tools to make fun at us at some point, and we wouldn't want that, would we? So, I started to behave and know I don't do that anymore, it's just wrong. Over here, we have a very large Chinese population, many families with businesses are settled in my town, and everyone refer to them as "Chinos" and one day I was so angry at that that I asked the girl in the check out counter her name, she looked at me amazed of the question and answered: My Name is Carolina. I gave her my name and to this day we still great each other whenever I go to her store, and if it has been too long she asks me how I've been, she is really nice. Sorry for the length of the comment!

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Awww. At least you made friends. I love how your friendship started and I hope it grows and continue. No problem with the length of your comment. I love that. I really appreciate when someone's sharing their stories with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! Some people look me like I'm a weirdo or something just because I don't call her "China" like the rest of them, but I don't care, it's my choice to be respectful towards her, and she appreciate this and that's what matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You have a kind and pure heart for her. I guess she loves you as a friend because of that. That's a genuine friendship you have in there. Treasure it! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this,so understandable all we need is respect Good article

$ 0.10
2 years ago

We all need respect and appreciation with everyone. Thank you so much, David! Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow. I'm from Philippines. Nice to meet you, David.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here dear Am also happy to be a friend of urs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same goes with you! 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect, kind and understanding is the key in the world we live in.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I agree! It's the respect, pure & kind heart, and the appreciation to everyone are what we need in this world. What a great mindset you have in there. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're only humans and celebrating differences leads to improved harmony. #onelove

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Correct, ate. 💯 We should appreciate the uniqueness and differences of everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago