Documentary Review And Reflection

9 91
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

In this article, let me share with you the two documentaries that I watched recently. Here's the link and you can watch it yourself:

https://youtu.be/nxhCpLzreCw

https://youtu.be/9GorqroigqM


As I watched the documentaries, I already understood the message that the two videos wanted to convey. Nowadays, people are more into fashion and new trends because it is the only way to go with modernization.

We love buying new pieces of stuff online or in malls, but little did we know, there are stories to tell behind the production process in every item we buy. The two videos I watched from Youtube made me realize many things, and I have learned enough to know what to do next.

The first video was about the fashion industry, or where the clothing we wear mostly came and produced. It was sad knowing that there are terrible stories behind every branded clothing we wear and love. The documentarian showed the trends and demand of consumers. We are so into checking out the internet about trending outfits that we want to add to our wardrobe yet have no idea what's behind them. I watched the news where different fashion manufacturers in Bangladesh lost their workers in accidents like building collapses and fire.

As I watched the worker they interviewed, I felt sad because she mentioned that they demanded a salary increase, but they received punches, kicks, and physical abuse. While we enjoy wearing the newly introduced items from our favorite brands, most people are working hard to create that, and that was the sad reality most consumers have no idea happening. The way that some of the clothing manufacturers in Bangladesh treated their workers violated our code of ethics. According to the woman they interviewed, their salary a day was only two dollars lower than the usual minimum wage. Knowing that they work to supply pieces of clothing to Americans, there should be an improvement to their salaries.

On the other hand, I also watched the second video about the story of how we get and dispose of the pieces of stuff we buy. Sometimes we want to buy what is trending in the market yet have no idea where our old things will go. We work smart and hard to get what we want but do not feel concerned about where to put the things we used to have. I love how they presented the cycle and process in the video, plus it is easy to understand. Some practices pollute the environment.


I felt sad upon watching the two videos. Even if they have two different topics and concerns, they both convey a standard message. It is the effect of the consumer's demand and every production of new items on the environment. The first video showed the connection and opened our eyes to what is happening behind the fashion industry. In contrast, the second video showed us the cycle of owning and disposing of pieces of stuff we have.

The stories behind them made me realize that I should be more careful and responsible to make a change. Both are explained well and have a connection. The changes should start within me, especially when it comes to my wants and desires. My attention should not focus on the trends or what's new and hit in the market, but think of the possible stories behind them. The two videos made me feel sick and sad for the impact on the environment and people of what we, the consumers, always demand to have.



Author's Remarque:

Rest assured that this article went through plagiarism detection for everyone's peace of mind. It is for the readers and users who take plagiarism as a big deal since they are working to improve the platform. The detection made will serve as my contribution to the said purpose. I am one of you, and I am starting it with my article.

If you have any hesitation and doubts, you can check it yourself through these three plagiarism detectors I used.


Commissions By Cherry

Exhausted because of school requirements? I got you! Comment down or drop a private to my Telegram or Twitter account mentioned below.


Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:


If you still have time, here are some of my latest articles that you might want to read:


Crypto-related Articles:



Date Published: September 23, 2021

15
$ 5.75
$ 5.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

very helpful and emotional life onthe movement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very wonderful and emotional... I love this article. Keep up the good work of discovery 👏🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I will really keep on watching documentaries. 🔥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're always welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big fashion brands are known for exploiting laborers. Imagine charging thousands of dollars for a dress pero the people who made them are only paid pennies. Nakakagigil minsan. Thanks for the link sis. Will watch both as soon as I have time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my this is so sad. This shows that we should know everything behind what we saw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. And sa mga trending kamo, dapat careful din tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt sad about the hardships these workers is going through. From that 2usd salary and physical abuse. I feel really sad knowing it just now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. I was so sad upon watching the documentary. Especially on the part where the lady was interviewed. It was heartbreaking. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago