Taking up old customs of our ancestors: Roasting coffee with my children.

12 56
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Today I introduce you to Higuerote, this community is located in the cocoa area of Barlovento towards the Mirandina coast, here sprouts the best cocoa in the world, but not only that, but it has the best beaches and beautiful people who will serve you wonderfully when you come to sightsee. So if you dare to come one day, you can count on having a great time in this city.

In this area we have been fortunate to have this beautiful little house for a few years; we escape to this secluded place whenever we can; it is in a rural area 10 minutes away from the beach. It is like a field and here I grow a little bit of everything.

This Saturday we came here to get out of the routine for a while, taking advantage of the fact that it was flexible week and my kids were crazy to leave the apartment for a while and visit the beaches.

So we stopped very early and we all worked together to prepare all the things and go out.

Higuerote is 45 minutes away from my house in Guatire and when we arrived it was about 9:00 a.m. I took the opportunity to clean a little bit and look at my plants that I hadn't taken care of for a while. I also took the opportunity to clean the bathrooms and cook. At about 2:00 in the afternoon my brother-in-law came to visit me and we sat down to eat a delicious pasta with chicken, too bad we didn't remember to take a picture.

When I go there I don't get a chance to rest, I want to do everything, the only thing I don't like is the heat, the sun is very strong and to do things outside in the garden we have to wait until the temperature drops a little to avoid being burned by the sun.

Getting back to my roots:

At about 6:00 in the afternoon I started to roast 4 kilos of coffee that I had bought in the month of December, this made me remember my childhood, since I was in my parents' house it was customary to roast the coffee that was produced in my farm. I had them saved to roast them when we went down to Higuerote, but with all this pandemic look at the date that I come to do it.

I also wanted to show my children this process, I wanted to show them how this product is made in an artisanal way; I am aware that my children have been raised in the city and know nothing of country life, it is good that they know a little of where I come from, what were the things I did as a child.

Little by little I was shaking the coffee, that is a process that goes little by little, because if you put too much fire in the coffee, it will get burnt and then the coffee will not taste good.

The process took almost 3 hours, luckily we had prepared enough firewood because it was already dark, otherwise the process would have been half done.

The parrots that came to visit me

Later, when we were already installed in the fire pit, some parrots came to visit me and settled in the mango bush, I don't know if you can see them in the picture, they are on top of each one of the buds of the bush. I would love for you to have heard the immense noise they made, there were about 50 parrots in one tree. There they stayed with me for about 20 minutes, singing and eating a few mangoes.

José was very affectionate as always, he accompanied me and helped me to finish and in the meantime we talked about many things and remembered beautiful moments of our childhood when we did all these things that are traditions that have been lost.

Little by little they began to take on their color.

In the old days you could not get wet or anything after finishing this work, many times it was also up to us women to grind it in a machine, luckily in my mother's house there were more men than women so many times we were saved from this.

What I did then was to put it away and we went to bed to get up the next day to grind it.


Sponsors of carolinacardoza
empty
empty



https://www.deepl.com/translator

12
$ 7.86
$ 7.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 5
Avatar for carolinacardoza
2 years ago

Comments

The environment is so nice to see, clean and pure. It's also good for the kids learn new things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great! It's important for kids to learn old customs. It is also best to expose city kids to provincial or rural life because they will learn to appreciate nature more. Happy to hear you bring them there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so delicious when it's freshly roasted and ground. I am fan of coffee. I love the aromatic smell of it. It boosts my system. I love native coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the ocean waves really caught my attention, it's so beautiful. I remember when I was a kid, we used to get cacao to our neighbors and eat it, but we return the seeds because they'll use it to make cocoa powder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Que bonito es eso recordar y poner en práctica las tradiciones de aquellos años atrás.

Es una labor fuerte pero muy bonita para el que la hace con el cariño que usted le pone.

No he tostado café, pero si he visto bastante cuando lo ponen a secar en el sol. En que mi suegra hay varias matas pero solo he visto cuando lo secan y cuando ya nos los estamos tomando pero el resto del proceso no.

Lo que si he visto que compran sacos de café y luego de un tiempo lo venden. Es un buen negocio familiar.

Que bueno que le pudo enseñar el proceso a sus hijos.

Bendiciones a toda la familia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your environment based on the pictures look like these places are just in the Philippines..very similar indeed.. also yes, roasting coffee as well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How tasty! roasting coffee is such a fragrant process. Those flocks of parrots are all the rage, over here they pass through the sky towards the mountains and go with a noise as if telling the world that they are going there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did that once! We have a coffee tree in the back yard and when the crisis hit hard and the coffee was nowhere to be found we harvest it and did the whole process. In the end we got 250grms of tasty coffee. In your case is a beautiful tradition that must be cherished from generation to generation ❤ ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an emotion, I really liked your story. Not many people do that process of roasting coffee at home, well in your country house, and with your children. I congratulate you for this beautiful place that you have to enjoy with your family. I imagine that that coffee will taste like glory, roasted by your hands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a nice place dear. I love also cocoa and it reminds me of that with my grandma. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're right, it's getting out of the concrete jungle and visiting nature...at night you only hear the frogs and crickets and in the morning you hear the birds everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice environment to be

$ 0.00
2 years ago