Crave o’clock

4 40
Avatar for captain.teemo
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Cravings

Hey there! You hungry? Just admit it already. I caught your attention because this article is all about food, and you’re hungry, right? Don’t worry, let’s suffer together because I’m hungry, too.

I am a food lover and my food cravings usually kick into overdrive whenever I feel stressed or anxious. Since the start of the pandemic period, it’s been hard for me to go out and buy the things that I want, especially the foods I want to eat. Because of this, the list of the foods I want to eat became longer and longer.

Anyway, it’s that time of the day again where I have this uncontrollable desire to eat something, not someone, but something. Get your taste buds ready because here is a list of the foods I crave.   

photo from pinterest

1. Halo-halo

It’s already summer here in the Philippines and I am craving for something cold to beat the heat. A nice bowl of halo-halo would be great at this moment. I can’t help myself from imagining the taste of the cold creamy milk, followed by the crunch of the rice crispies, not to mention the added richness of the flan. Though it may taste bland sometimes, I still love the texture when I bite into the jiggly gelatin

photo from pinterest

2. Street foods

I think one of the reasons why the Philippines is famous is because of its unique and amazing street foods.  For the past weeks, I’ve been craving for isaw, a grilled or deep-fried chicken or pork intestines on a stick. This may be disgusting for some people but the place where I usually buy isaw cleans the intestines carefully and thoroughly before cooking it.

Aside from isaw, cheese sticks is also on my list. This street food is, you’ve guesses it, deep-fried cheese wrapped in spring roll wrapper and it is usually served with a sauce made from mixing ketchup and mayonnaise.

My street food cravings will never be complete without fishballs, kikiam and squidballs. These foods are primarily made from ground fish meat mixed with different kinds of seasonings which are then deep-fried. They are usually served and eaten with a sweet, and spicy brown sauce or sometimes with vinegar.

photo from pinterest

3. Empanada

Imagine the crispness of the crust made from rice flour, the crunch of the grated green papaya or grated cabbage followed by the savory taste of longganisa, and the added richness of the egg, and not to mention the sourness of the vinegar dip. Empanada, especially Vigan Empanada is to die for.  

photo from pinterest

4. Ramen

I mentioned a while back that it’s already summer here in the Philippines but that won’t stop me from craving ramen. I always loved watching anime and whenever I see Japanese food, especially ramen, my mouth begins to water.

photo from google

5. Takoyaki

Takoyaki immediately occupied a space in my heart the moment I had my first bite years ago. These delicious balls made from batter, octopus and crunchy veggies covered with takoyaki sauce is something that I want to eat everyday for the rest of my life.

photo from google

6. Pizza

Thick crust, thin crust, any pizza will do. For me, I consider pizza as one of the best foods I’ve eaten so far. They smell and taste so good and most of all, they have different kinds of toppings that I really love.

I’m proud of you for reaching this stage. I bet you’re really really hungry now. I’m sad to say that the suffering continues since there are still foods left on my list.

photo from google

7. Bacon Carbonara

I love pasta dishes, especially the creamy bacon carbonara. Imagine the creaminess of the sauce from fresh egg yolks and cheese coating each of the individual spaghetti pasta. Imagine the crunchy and savory taste of the perfectly cooked bacon.

photo from google

8. Brisket 

Juicy…. Savory…. Mouth-watering... I’ve never really tasted a brisket yet but look at it. Who wouldn’t want to taste something as good as that?

As I was writing this article, I had a short break because I was really getting hungry from writing all about my cravings. After a few minutes, guess what? I just had myself a bacon carbonara.

 I can finally say, craving satisfied!

How about you? What are some of your food cravings?

 

6
$ 0.48
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @McJulez
Sponsors of captain.teemo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for captain.teemo
2 years ago
Topics: Food, Cravings

Comments

Nagcrave ako bigla ng isaw hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahha bili na para masabi mo rin na craving satisfied

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti na lang kumakain ako HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pahingi pu :((

$ 0.00
2 years ago