Echinopsis multiplex flowers

5 41
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago

Hi guys. I've been quite busy lately and even though I check on my cactus daily, I haven't had yet the time to post more updates about my collection.

In the future I promise I'll write a more in-depth post about this specie, its' characteristics, cares and stuff (as I usually do).

But for today the post is just about a quick update on yet another future-blooming cactus. As you may have already figured out from the title, it's an Echinopsis multiplex

Echinopsis multiplex - view from above

To be completely honest, I'm not 100% sure it is what I think it is (as I've seen some other pictures on the web of the same plant but under the "Echinopsis oxygona" name). I too have another cactus which I THINK is an oxygona, and both of them are quite different. But then again, not all cactus from the same specie are lookalikes... there can be many particularities that give two plants of the same family really different looks. I'll post in the future the one which I believe is an oxygona.

Echinopsis multiplex sprouting tiny flowers

Flowers on this cactus are really big, white and pink. Here is a photo from last year (when I got this cactus it came with two beautiful flowers):

Picture from last year's flowers

As you can see, flowers are stunning, and I check the cactus everyday cause I enjoy watching them develop day after day... the grow quite fast and it is fascinating. What is sad is that flowers only last a night and then they die... But I guess that makes the blooming even more special.

I'll leave you with yet another picture, this one is from today:

I removed some of the pups a while ago (you can check it here https://read.cash/@cactaceasml/pot-transplant-d5e9e056) and it has already grow a bunch more. Is that time of the year when it gets hotter and cactus get happier :)))

Bye guys! Stay safe!!

7
$ 4.13
$ 4.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cactaceasml
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago

Comments

Great one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We called it Fonimanasha! This tree is so poisonous, even it’s spike also. I have been biten lots of time. What about that flower? Which flower is that?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you misundestood the post. It is not a tree (adult plants don't ever grow into a tree-shape plant as some other cactus may). The flower is from the same plant you see in the other pictures. Greetings!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Owh I see!

$ 0.00
3 years ago