Cactus ID: Echinopsis pachanoi (perhaps)

1 21
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago

Okey, so first of all I wanna state that I'm not 100% sure that this is the correct ID for this cactus, but from reading from some books, searching the web and consulting some fellow cactus enthusiasts, I believe that it is an Echinopsis pachanoi (will be more certain about it as it grows and develops). Anyway, here we go with some pictures and information about it:

Characteristics:
It is a columnar-growing type of cactus, with plenty of ramifications. When adult, the stem can reach a width of around 8 to 15cm, with the principal stem reaching a height of 7m or so (in some cases it is difficult to distinguish the main stem from the ramifications). It can show a wide variety of ribs, being relatively few (5 to 6) or many (12 to 14). From the areolas grow the spines (and also the flowers). The spines may vary in number (3 or up to 7) or they can also be nonexistent. If cultivated right, it can grow up to half a meter a year. Here is a pic of a "baby" I bought a year ago:

Echinopsis pachanoi

A few days after I repoted it, it started tho show signs of "damage". I believe it was because the pot was bigger than it should've been, so I put it back again on the smaller one in which it was when I bought it. Also I had put it on almost direct sunlight, so from that day forward I located it on semi-light, and from there it started to show growing signs. Here is a pic of somewhere around 6-7 months after the first one:

Echinopsis pachanoi growing well in its' small pot

It grew beautifully (at this point it is bigger than that, but I don't have pictures of it right now. Will post them in the future). So here we go with some caring-advice:

Cares:
Cultivation is quite easy when done right. When the specimen is young it is advisable to keep it in a light place but protected from direct sunlight (specially during summer time), otherwise it can show signs of solar burning. These type of burnings may not kill the plant (that possibility should not be ruled out) but will leave them scarred. It has to be planted in light and easily draining soil, to prevent excess watering to rot the roots or make it susceptible to fungi attacks. Once it grows it can be slowly placed in direct sunlight (always making this transition slowly, giving the plant time to adapt). During winter it is preferable not to water or to do so only once a month. During summer water every time the soils gets completely dry.
It is easily reproduced by cuttings, but also can be done by seeds.

Flowering:
Flowers bloom in adult specimens during summer. They are quite large (20cm large and almost 4cm of diameter). White and very perfumed. They only live one night (as most cactus flowers do).

Well, I hope this article helps someone and if the name of this cactus is not correct please let me know. I'll post more pictures of this little fella in the future (currently I have potted it in a larger terracota pot, hope it develops well).

Greetings! I also want to tell you that i'm currently working on a website where I will share more cactus and succulent related content. Feel free to visit my instagram page (you'll find me at cactaceasml).

1
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of cactaceasml
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cactaceasml
3 years ago

Comments

I like your article very much. Must visit my article too stay connected

$ 0.00
3 years ago