Architectural Design : The Power of Presentations

0 31
Avatar for buknoytanad
1 year ago

Do not be content on the skills that you have. Always upgrade your craft or skills to match with current times. I have always known this before pandemic on seminars I have attended. And they always say that time and technology changes so fast that we should not be left behind of what we know. Just because you are doing good with what you know does not mean you will do that always for you will be left out soon by competition.

I did not mind this before for I am working at a corporate company and any output I want could be outsource or just delegate to subordinates. And there I am earning a monthly income But when I lost my job 33 months now I realized I needed to upgrade my skills and attitude and other dealings related to your craft business or profession to sustain my income.

Here is a sample:

Before: let us tag this image as Image 2 - I present 3D works in a very cartoonish sketchy feel. I always say even if it looks like that I can guarantee that what you see is what you good. No false presentation or "daya" just to make it beautiful. In my experience I always see great perspectives just like image 1 and we would always see that they just made it realistic but it is will never be constructed like that.. BITTER I supposed for I cannot do it like that.

Now: Let us tag this image as Image 1 - I have already learned to do it this way. With countless less sleep and focus to achieve this with a lot of trial and error. Real talk: they are both the same. Its just that most people appreciate IMAGE 1 more then IMAGE 2. They will say IMAGE 1 is a better architect than IMAGE 2. Hay... Sad but its a reality. and IMAGE 1 is far more to be approved compared to IMAGE 2 even if they are the same. I guess IMAGE 1 can be visualize more easily than IMAGE 2.

Well I just hope people do not look much or on what is outside but more on the knowledge and expertise and the deeper level on how the design was made and if its achievable. The likes of Image 1 can fool easily a client for it is aesthetically pleasing. But is it constructable or when the construction is done will it look more like on the perspective or not. There are a lot of factors to be considered like construction, materials use, integration with other engineering disciplines and many other and it will now be justified alone by just having a good perspective.

The bottom-line here is that you want to get the client from your presentation. I know credibility still plays a large factor but having a pleasing presentation will always get the job done. One more example is with a big company. We presented first with a feel more of IMAGE 2 and the next week we presented like that of IMAGE 1. The result, they like and approve the IMAGE 2 presentation even if the design is the same. A big lesson learned that your expertise alone cannot land the job but with pleasing presentation as well.

For final words, always hone your craft. Always upgrade your skills. Do not be stuck on what you know. For times are changing fast.

2
$ 1.69
$ 1.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for buknoytanad
1 year ago

Comments