Run Free, Kiara!

47 83
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Furbaby, Dog

This afternoon, around 3 pm, my sister had woken me up from a quickie nap just to tell me that Kiara was dying. So I got up in bed right away, went straight to the living room, and there she was, lying down with some watery stuff around her. I came next to her, brushed her fur with my fingers, called her name while seeing her slowly breathing. I was devastated seeing such familiar sight, but I knew that the end was near. I continued brushing her fur, held her paw, and told her that it's okay to let go.

I know she's too young to leave us, but I'd rather cry seeing her go than see her alive but in so much pain, struggling to live. A few minutes later, she stopped breathing. I doubled check her heartbeat, hoping that she was just sleeping, but there was none. When I told my niece, she went straight to their room and cried. I was in pain but stayed strong coz I don't want them to see me cry.

So I told them to get ready so we could put her on final rest. I didn't come with them as I don't want to see her like that. I am not ready yet. So I asked my nieces and sister to do it on my behalf. I stayed in my house just to disinfect the entire house (again). This is to secure that none of the other 2 furbabies would get infected. For those who didn't know, Kiara died because of distemper, a contagious disease that could also harm the other dogs even if the host is already dead.

Our last selfie

I disinfected the house twice and will keep disinfecting this for the next 2 weeks just to make sure Kiah and Maki will be safe too. While doing so, I kept imagining Kiara and how she used to walk in the living room while I would mop the floor. And more memories kept coming, especially when she was just a tiny pup.

When she was a pup

Kiara was the youngest among her other 3 siblings (1 was born dead). Out of the remaining 3 pups, only Kiara was born brown while the other 2 were all white. They were born on April 25, 2019, and since it was during summer, I moved them to my sister's room so they would enjoy the AC during the afternoon and at night. The routine lasted for a couple of weeks until they started to crawl. That moment on, we decided to move them to my room coz my sister doesn't like the idea of them crawling on the floor.

When she was 4-days-old

When they learned how to walk, they would go next to my sister's room just to feel the cold from the AC. Fortunately, their door has some kind of a hole on the bottom so they would all stay there to get the cold air. Kiara was probably the 2nd top fluffiest of all 3 next to Nala (now named Aika). She was very quiet and doesn't want to play with her siblings. She was also her mom's least favorite of all.

Another baby pic

Kiara was supposed to be rehomed because when she turned 3-months-old. She was just so cutie and very fluffy that I know many would want to have her. But when Simba died when he was over a month old, I decided to keep her instead while Nala was sold to our neighbor. When Kiara was still a not-so-pup, she was also a bit grumpy and naughty. I think being naughty is normal for any less than 1-year-old pups because they all just want to play and munch everything all day long.

When she started to grow bigger, her momma began to enjoy her company and the two became best friends. They'd love to play all day, chasing her and there but when Kiah gave birth to Maki and Kali (now named COVID after we rehomed her to another neighbor), Kiara's attention shifted to Maki. This explains why Kiah doesn't like Maki much coz he was the reason why Kiara's attention was diverted. Fast forward and the two became inseparable.

When they became adults, my sister told me to put them on a leash to make sure they won't leave the gate. This is to secure them against possible accidents or getting attacked by the other dogs. And this made me so sad because the two got infected even if they were just in our house. First, Maki had those wounds that I had no idea how he got those. Then after Maki, here comes Kiara.

My regrets

If there's one person that I should blame for all this, that should be me. I blamed myself for being too busy on Discord that I failed to monitor them. I did notice Kiara was starting to sneeze nonstop but I didn't check this online. I could have avoided the disease if ever I googled it right away. I could have given her the necessary herbals just to prevent her from getting infected. I could have saved her if only I was being attentive to the first signs. Now, it's too late to undo everything. The least I can do now is to make sure to monitor the others. Be sure that they are given the vitamin C + Zinc every single day while the other furbabies need extra care since one of them got cough.

Look at that face!

My only wish is that I hope they won't get infected, especially Kiah and Maki, since these 2 are staying under one roof with Kiara. So far, I don't see any signs yet (thankfully!). Nonetheless, I won't stop disinfecting the house for the next 2 weeks and ensure they take their vitamins on time. After 2 weeks, if none of them got the symptoms, I will take them all to the vet for vaccinations. Unfortunately, only Kiah, their momma, got the complete vaccine when she was a pup. She stopped getting the vaccines, though, when I moved her here in my hometown coz there was no pet clinic her until just recently.

So once they're all safe, I will make sure that they will get all the vaccinations complete. All of them and will keep updating it on time. That's the only thing I can promise to Kiara, keeping her pack safe too.

Closing thoughts

I will miss you, Kiara. I will surely miss your cuteness, the way you walk, the way you eat, the way you run whenever I called your name, the way you chase your momma, and everything. You're maybe out of sight but definitely not out of mind coz you will always be in my heart.

Love you, Kiaradiding.


19
$ 11.92
$ 10.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @abraxas
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 14
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Furbaby, Dog

Comments

My condolence for your kiara. Can't believe it just happened suddenly. Maybe god has another plan for you. Take proper rest and keep moving forward with smiles. God bless you and kiara πŸ™‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

YEs, I need to be strong for my other furbabies. And I'm sure she's doing well now in the Rainbow Bridge with her other siblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah whatever happens, happens. I pray for you that you’ll have bunch of furababies in future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My deepest condolences to you MJ. Gingery , reddish brown dogs always have a special place in my heart. My family dogs all had Kiara's kind of colour; though they all started with beige and then their fur changed when they shed their baby fur. I remembered a few times when my family lost our family dog, my dad does the burial, while I ended up crying in the room. I wished I could have sent my last family dog off, but she perished in a fight with the snake while my parents were asleep and I was away working in the capital.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. Yeah, I don't blame you if you preferred crying in the room rather than sending her to her last destination. It's just really heartbreaking to see such a sight. My worry now is my other furbabies, but I hope none of them will suffer the same sickness as Kiara's.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really do hope the rest are healthy. No signs of further infection yes?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry dear to hear about Kiara. I'm sorry for your loss, hugs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, sis. <3 Thanks for the virtual hugs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nasad naman ako dun madam, nakakaiyak tlga, pero atleast ndi na sya mahihirapan:(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun na lang iniisip ko, sis. At least, okay na siya dun sa heaven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes happy na sya sa heaven

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu. Ang cute cute tas ang sweet pa naman. Condolence Ate Mj. Run free to Kiara ❀️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat. <3 I think naglalaro na siya ngayon sa heaven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, such a cutie but, why did it have to be gone forever at such a young age? I also love dogs, so I can feel your sentiments. That's really the hardest part of being a furmommy when you see your furbaby die. It really hurts to witness that kind of scene.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was really heartbreaking and even up to now, I could still call her name accidentally. I could also imagine her roaming around. It just feels odd not having her presence here but I think it's more better that way than seeing her suffer more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ateeee huhuhu naiiyak akooo pahkabasa ko apalng nung title sa notif ko huhu. I am so sorry fr your lost po. Hindi madali mawalan ng furbaby. I've been there huhu. Ilang balde ng luha din yung iniyak ko. Hoping na hindi ma infect yung other furbabies po.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat. Yun nga e ang kinatatakot ko. So far naman, wala akong nakikitang signs sa kanilang dalawa except sa iba kong furbabies. Pero nag maintain lang kami ng vitamins at antibiotic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit sa heart 😭😭😭 first article na nabasa ko. Una akala ko si Kiah nung nakita ko sa notification. Si Kiara pala. Pero I am sorry to hear about what happened to her. She's now in the doggie heaven. Don't blame yourself too much.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat, sis. Nakakalungkot talaga pero ganun talaga at saka mas okay na din yun kesa mag suffer pa siya ng sobra. Nakakasad at ang sakit sakit sa heart talaga. I'm sure okay na okay na siya sa heaven at andun naman mga kapatid niya so di siya nag iisa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that madam. Kakalungkot naman yun. Kht kmi madami puppies. Kakasad kpg iba hndi mka survive gang paglaki.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa lalo na pag love na love mo. Pero mas masakit madam makita sila mag suffer. Kaya iniisip ko na lang na mas safe siya dun kesa buhay nga pero me neurological problem naman kasi yan yung effect ng distemper.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that! Condolences sisπŸ˜”πŸ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat, sis. Sorry, ngayon lang ako nakapag reply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this was not easy. I ended up crying evidently. I'm very sorry for your loss. It's no use blaming yourself, I'm sure you did everything you could to save her. πŸ˜”πŸ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I tried but I'm not sure if it was good enough. Nonetheless, I know she's in a good place now. No more pain and just good stuff in heaven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was such a touching memorial about Kiara. When I heard she had distemper, I had a bad feeling about how things would go I but I was hoping for the best. I'm sorry for your loss, but don't blame yourself. I don't think it was your fault at all. Hopefully your other pups stay healthy. If you have a clinic nearby, you should see how much it would cost to get them vaccinated against it.

My thoughts are with you and your family. Losing loved ones is never easy. ❀❀❀

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply. I honestly just wanted to avoid this article for days. It's just heartbreaking to see and read everything. But yes, about the vaccination, I will have them vaccinated in 2 weeks. That was what the vet told me when I went to their clinic last week. I'll have them all vaccinated just to keep them safe, especially now that more dogs are getting sick in my area.

And thank you for the support. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel so sad. How does such an angel suffer? She's so cute. But, she's out f danger now. I hope you will recover soon :) I understand your pain as I am a fur parent too. Nothings hurtful to see than seeing your pets suffering on something they couldn't even tell. Run free, Kiara.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yuh, she's out of danger now so that's what matters to me. I know she's in good hands and probably chasing her siblings in the Rainbow Bridge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This made cry😭. Eto ang pinakaayaw ko maranasan sa mga fur babies ko. Masakit mawalan ng anak kahit pa sabihjn na dogs sila lalo na kung tinuring mo na mga anak.

Run free Kiara...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sis. Pero nung nakita ko siya na nag suffer, mas grabe yung na feel kong sakit. Umiyak ako nung nahihirapan siya kaya nung nag rest na siya, iniisip ko na lang na okay na siya at kasama niya na mga kapatid niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ramdam ko yan ganyang sakit sis. t tama lang din na natapos na ang sufferings nya. Peor paano nya kaya nakuha ang sakit na yun eh di naman sila lumalabas ng house nyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry, my dear friend, I want to cry with your explanation, I know what a bad feeling, may his soul is in peace, and I ask God for patience and peace for you...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

She's in heaven now so I'm sure she's resting peacefully and playing nonstop without suffering any pain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry, friend. Rest in peace. Don't blame yourself, life is that complex. I'm so sorry for your loss. A hug.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply, and thank you for the virtual hug. I tried to avoid this article because it was heartbreaking for me, but I think it's time to comment back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do not worry. I understand that it is painful for you. But life goes on. Keep your memories of her alive in you. It is the best way to remember her. All the strength in the world for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sorry for the loss, it was really painful, I am a pet lover, dogs especially and these things happen, all you do now is to pay more attention as you said, and give them the necessary drugs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Unfortunately, she didn't make it. At least, she's in Rainbow Bridge now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your loss dog is just as much a family member

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They are. Losing them is never easy but seeing them suffer is even more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course we just need to need to enjoy them when they are here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry to hear about Kiara sis. Sana di mahawa yung ibang furbabies mo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply, sis. Inavoid ko basahin tong article ko na to. Yung dalawang furbabies ko, okay naman pero yung ibang furbabies namin, mejo nagkakasakit na rin. At yung aso ng bayaw ko kamamatay lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mura sad mga bata oi atimanon kaayo ang pets... run free cutie!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. Ana jud na basta mga way anak. lol. Musta na?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okz lang. na busy panlimpyo balay ug atiman sa duha ka bata. ikaw musta na?

$ 0.00
2 years ago