My Struggles In Writing

78 113
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Experience

A lot of people applaud me for being one of the many who could publish 1 article a day. Some even thought that writing was easy for me because of my freelancing experience. Well, how I wish those are all true, but they're not. Just like you, I struggle, too. From thinking about the topic and writing my first sentence up to customizing my cover photo, everything takes forever with me.

Getting the right topic to write

There are times that I could write an article in less than 1 hour. It only happens, though, when my brain is in the mood to write or that I am inspired to share about something that I personally experienced. However, this only happens rarely to me. Most of the time, I have no idea what to write.

Sometimes, I would stare at my phone or monitor for a long time hoping that by staring, I could find the right topic to write for my next article. It's like staring through my own brain, digging for some possibilities. In short, for the topic alone, it consumes my time already.

Writing my first sentence

Oh, man! Here's another struggle most of us might have experienced, the introduction. Just like getting the right topic to write, sometimes writing for an introduction takes forever, too. Well, if you rarely experience this issue, congrats to you! It only means you're exceptional coz you rarely having issues like this.

As for me, even if I already have experience in writing, I don't still consider myself a pro. I am a noob as the noobest, except that I know the dos and don'ts in writing. So when it comes to writing my first sentence, it usually takes me a bit of time. The good thing is, it doesn't take as much time as getting for the right topic. It will only take probably less than 30 minutes.

Finishing the entire article

As I've said, there are times that I could finish an entire article easily. However, a lot of times, I don't. Sometimes, even if I know exactly what to write, finishing the entire article would still take up so much of my time. I guess my brain is just preoccupied that it takes me forever to construct my sentences.

Proofreading

Yeah, I proofread my work first before publishing it. Sometimes, even if I already published it, I would still edit it again whenever I see something odd in my article. So don't be surprised if you see my article in your notification twice or a few times.

Thankfully, we have Grammarly that helps us correct our grammar and typos. If you're using a desktop, you could also check your article for punctuation, conciseness, readability, word choice, and other writing issues. Unfortunately, you can't do all these things if you're only using a mobile. But as I've always said, as long as it's readable enough, then that's fine I guess.

Adding photos and customizing my lead image

Sometimes, I would go the extra mile if I was in the mood to do some fanciness. For instance, I would edit the photo with a personal touch by yours truly to make it look perfect (although there is no such thing as perfect).

Then here comes my lead image. Back then, I only used Unsplash images. Then I got inspired by @Cryptonators for his sticker. After that, I was inspired to do my own and thankfully, I learned how to use Canva after so many attempts. As you have noticed, my lead image or cover photo has always a touch of my signature Club1BCH photo. I just want to be unique, and I'm happy that because of my article before about cover photos, many are also doing their signature lead image.

Hitting that PUBLISH button

Finally, after 3 hours of writing for a 3- to 5-minute reading time article, I can now hit that publish button and relax afterward. This reminds me of my laundry by the way. Washing all your dirty clothes manually takes so much effort and time but as soon as you're about to hang them to dry, all your struggles are gone and what's left is pure excitement. Once they're all hanged, a feeling of satisfaction follows because finally, you've done an amazing job despite all the struggles you have encountered.

Closing thoughts

As for this article, I started writing this around 10:25 pm, and it's already 11:34 pm. I hope I can finish my cover photo in less than 10 minutes, though, so I can publish it before midnight. Actually, I was supposed to write a random yet nonsense article inspired by @Eybyoung's Blogging Out From Nonsense, but this topic suddenly came out of nowhere. Lol. I'm glad I have this topic, though.

Anyway, the bottom line for this article is that I feel all your struggles, too. Writing is never easy but because of my goals, I choose to continue. Although it's time-consuming and takes a lot of effort, writing will always be my top priority.


45
$ 13.43
$ 10.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Cryptonators
$ 0.50 from @PVMihalache
+ 19
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Experience

Comments

Escribir no es facil cuando no lo sientes en el corazΓ³n, es mi humilde opiniΓ³n porque en el dΓ­a a dΓ­a y con sus vivencias siempre nos da temas para redactar con sus introducciones, desarrollos y finales. Solo es poner a volar la imaginaciΓ³n y darle ese toque ΓΊnico que tenemos cada uno de nosotros. Lindo martes te deseo lo mejor. Te saludo desde Cuba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing ate mj, more than an hour lang. Hehe practice talaga at tiyaga. Slow to no internet can be added to mine. Hehe sched. and me being so self-criticπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sometimes I let my Canva edited ugly haha because I cannot spend more time anymore just to make it more appealing haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just said all my struggles in writing too ate Mj. Thinking of what to write alone is already time-consuming huhu, how much more in finding some details inside my head just to support the main topic plus the finishing touches. Haha it's really never easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis nag lisud kaayo ko karon paghimo og article. I will try my best jus to aim my goal this month. Fighting lang jud!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it was just me who struggles those things. But now I came to realize almost all writers do. But kudos nimu sis Kay milahutay ka πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Creativity is never easy. The art of writing is not for the faint in heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag struggle din ako magsulat at mag-isip ng topic. Minsan pag magsulat ako, aabot pa yan ng ilang oras bago matapos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me struggling how I wrote first but I have so many topics that I want to write but my mind can't focus on 1 article, because I've think so much about my other earnings too can't focusing on one Earnings. This is my struggle and I have so much little time to write an article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm struggling to write my conclusion more than my first sentence. I don't worry about any topic to write if i can't of something sensical. I just look instantly some random questions, prompts, challenges, or random words in the internet. Sometimes, even if I stare at the ceiling I can still come up with a content and I tried writing about it. You know, talking to the ceiling as a content is hilarious but at least the title is justified there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din na experience ko to. Yung dami mo nang naka draft Pero hanggang title kalang 🀧. Minsan hanggang 2 minutes lang kaya ko tas wala na akong madagdag😹.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're almost the same, HAHAH It is hard to write, you need to construct a clear idea. But at the end of the day we can do it naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why don't you explore other genre of writing.. Do not just stick on your genre coz you'll be running out of ideas.. I tagged you in one of my articles. try the challenge then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The struggles for allπŸ˜… I do proofreading also haha as always whenever I've post something in facebook, proofreading is always thereπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I save some time by not proofreading :)) If I do mistakes I will just say it was a slang word

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. Nice idea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing was a real struggle for me too madame, hahaha, from the topic to introduction, to grammar, until the ending was a struggle. But I still survive, not because I have to, but because I wanted to.. charot lang, hirap din po tlaga ako mag English..πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako nga rin e. Struggle din sa english. Haha. Bahala na sila umunawa. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehhe. The worst thing for writers is translating some words that we dont know. Hahahhaha mao ng akong english wa didto wa diri kay sa translator lahi man ang mo gawas mosamot ka pangit ang grammar. Hahah

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako sis, ambot na lang jud ni akong english. Akong motto kay, akoy nag effort ug suwat, ang readers nay bahalag sabot. 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi nga halata sis na struggle ka, heheh.. Pero sme with you, hirap din ako sa intro, maganda kasi un sa intro pa lang eh macurious na ang readers..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Naku sis, wala talaga akong talent sa intro. Ako, hanggang ganito lang kaya ko. Buti mga me nag babasa pa rin kahit minsan paulit ulit na lang mga sinasabi ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sis, kaya ako eh hinahaluan ko na lang ng mga patawa para maaliw ang readers ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, the big struggle is to choose a topic. And I take a lot of time doing the proofreading.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Finding a topic is easy. Writing the entire content is not. But there also times that even deciding for the title is giving me stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Viniendo de una persona que ya tiene una buena experiencia en escribir artΓ­culos, es un aliciente para los que estamos comenzando y estamos en esta lucha de escribir algo que se vea decente y guste al pΓΊblico lector.

Me gusta cΓ³mo haces tus imΓ‘genes, al igual que las de otros por aquΓ­, se ven sencillas pero muy tuyas.

Sabes que he estado buscando editores para aprender hacer las mΓ­as, el primero que busque fue Canva, pero hice algo muy sencillo pero que no me gusto mucho. Seguir con la aplicaciΓ³n GIMP pero aΓΊn no la se usar, luego con Inskape pero despuΓ©s de de ver varios vΓ­deos no se pudo descargar y a la final descargue fotoshop pero aΓΊn no veo los videos para aprender.

Ahora veo que usas Canvas y te quedan geniales. Yo usΓ© plantillas, ΒΏTΓΊ usaste otra opciΓ³n?

Gracias por tu incentivo y aporte.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happens to us all dear, not just you alone.... I felt every word you said here

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The struggles of being a writer. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's why i have to write the title first... lisod magstart..lisod ang first sentence

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako kay mag start sa title unya ug mahuman na tanan, mausob ang title. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing introduction and an ending is one of the struggles im experiencing too. It takes and consuming time for me to think what I write on every article im trying to make especially as a new one, hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ugghhh. Thank God I'm not alone in this. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we are a batallion experiencjng this sis, haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every writer struggle at times to get along in the writing business. Sometimes you are just clueless about what to write about and when you manage to figure out a topic, getting it started become another huddle to pass. Introduction is the hardest part of any piece of writing. Once I am able to put up a compelling introduction every other parts flows through easily for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And sometimes, in my case, ending the article is not easy too. 😬😬

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes experienced writers struggle too. It is hard work from nothing in your head to a published article. That is why we are all amazed of each others, because we all know what it takes to write.

To sit down and think about a topic is not working for me. During the day if something pops into my mind I keep it in my head. Even just one single word is enough sometimes. Then I start to come up with a title around that word. As I write and read my own article I might have to change my title to suit better to my article.

The good news is there is no rules to follow. Sometimes I write my articles without a title and I come up with one (or a couple) at the end.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

So true. Haha. It happens to me a lot of times, too. Even if I already have the title, I'd still change it at the last minute. Just so glad there are no rules to follow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh does it come up again in the notif if you make alterations after pressing the precious blue button "publish" ... ? When I proofread as well, it's usually after pressing Publish ahaha or sometimes not at all anymore when I'm tired already.

As for Grammarly, i think they have a gramarly keyboard for phones. if i remember correctly.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, they have a grammarly keyboard for mobiles but they only check your grammar and punctuation unlike when you're using a desktop where you can really fix the other writing issues.

And yes, it appears again. This is the reason my 2020 article was upvoted by sir Marc, after i made some updates.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But rusty doesn't do revisits? Right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope. So far, I have never experienced Rusty visiting my post after I edited it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks like a lot of us have problems with the introductory aspect of an article. Sometimes after writing the topic, I just stare at the screen and start racking my brain for a good introduction. Even picking a topic can be a problem sometimes, as I already know what to write but I can't think of the perfect topic for it. Writing is never easy, but I guess it gets easier as we keep doing it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha. Sometimes, I already finished my article but can't find the best title for that. Lol. Oh, life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜† exactly what happens to me sometimes, i end up changing the title several times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I guess I'm not alone in this part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how expert we are, but still writing on a new topic everyday is not easy.I can understand the hurdles you face because I also face similar difficulties, even sometimes I struck at the last paragraph for 5 to 10 minutes...lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. Oh, happens to me too. Every part of the article is giving me headache. Good thing it's worth the stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Struggles i always want to do without getting tired learned a lot of things and now it's easy to write for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We all want that too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate you sis...

Meron talagang mga times na hindi gumagana brain natin. Kaya minsan ginagawa ko nirerelax ko muna tas after na ganado na ako dun na ako mag start.

Fighting lang talaga sis sa mga dreams and goals in life with prayers too.πŸ™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama sis. Fighting lang. No to slacking dahil bills are waiting. Hehe. Gusto ko man mag pahinga, sayang din talaga ang kita. Kaya sana, guide tayo ni Papa God para me topic tayo lagi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing a 4 minutes read mostly takes me for hours. I sometimes wish I could write a 4 minutes read in four minutes...🀣🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. How i wish i could do that too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing the first sentence and getting the right topic are my struggles as well.. tsskkk

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Apir, sis. Daghan na ta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeeeyyy, apir 🀚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was the same issue I'm having before I saw your post,for over 3hours have been thinking what topic and article to write on.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ugghhh. Struggle is real. But you can do it, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaka OC mo pala magsulat sis.. Sabagay kita din naman sa mga gawa mo.. Pati cover photo mo palaging customized at hindi galing sa kung saan...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ano nga ulit yung OC? Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung parang perfectionist ba sis.. Parang hindi ka mapalagay pag yung ginagawa mo eh may mali, etc..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mejo ata. Hehe. Nahihiya kasi ako pag maraming mali mali lalo na pag obvious talaga. Kaya eneedit ko talaga kahit na post ko na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganyan din yung friend ko, office ko now at kateam. Bago sya magsend ng email, pinapacheck pa talaga sa amin eh magaling naman na sya sa grammar. Tapos yung pag proofread nya, not once but thrice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The struggles are real For me too. Right now I'm in between what topic to write about and how to put the words together and its not looking funny.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can do it. Just relax your mind first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, the struggle is worth it at the end though. We all do our best!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. No pain (struggle), no gain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing great, anyway even with your stuggles. You always set a standard. I mean you are one of the standard.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Naks naman yan! Salamat sa papuri. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my friend, those things happen. On this occasion, the article I wrote today was really fluid, because it was an unpleasant experience yesterday with a publication on the internet. Then everything goes super fast. On the other hand, we love that you write daily! Do not stop doing it :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Trying not to stop. Thanks for being one of the source of inspiration.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey, stop thanking me. Here who should be grateful to you is me. For so much support and strength that you have given me. πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sis my always struggle is how to finish an article in my drafts. Alan mo yung panay lang ako simula hindi ko matapos tapos🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

HAHAHA. Na experienced ko na rin yan. Puro title, walang laman minsan. Minsan merong laman, mga 2-mins na pero di na alam pano tapusin. HAHAH. Struggle is real.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero infairness quota na ako sa title laman na lang talaga 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA. Need mo na silang pakawalan talaga, momma. Kaya tapusin mo na sila. HEHE. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not alone dear. Count me in too. I also feel the same.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

HAHAH. We're all in this together!

$ 0.00
2 years ago