My Experience Working As A Tech Support For Two Companies

15 58
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

If there's one thing my brother told me about freelancing, keep applying for jobs even if you have less experience in any of these. As he said, skills can be learned for those willing to learn, and when things go tough, there's YouTube available 24/7.

So when he asked me to help him manage his two existing clients and one coming next week as a Tech Support, I finally reconsidered it even though I have yet to experience it. Actually, he has been asking me to work for him. I was initially reluctant due to having zero experience in this field, and I also didn't want to jeopardize his job because of me. However, with the recent problem I had, which I don't want to be reminded of, I decided to give it a try. Besides, the pay is good, and my brother will assist me. Moreover, I need a diversion to forget how crypto broke my heart as my ex did to me. Char.

Image source

Today, I want to share my experience working as a Tech Support for two companies. There's nothing special, but I'm in the mood to flex, anyway.

The two companies, the role for each, and my experience so far

Since I'm only a subcontractor, I prefer not to name the companies I worked for. However, I will call them based on where these companies are based. I will also briefly describe each role so you can understand what I do.

  • Ukraine-based

The job that I tried first was the Ukrainian-based company. The task is to ensure the agents will get the assistance they need when problems occur, whether internal or external.

Unlike the next one I will mention, which is a US-based company, this one is more relaxed. It has more idle time than work time. Most of the time, when you offer an agent to remote their desktop, they would refuse as it only means no pay during this time.

However, it can become busy when agents encounter many errors during their calls. At this point, they have no choice but to ask for tech support's help; otherwise, they won't be able to make calls, which also means they won't be able to reach their quota.

The first time I worked for this was some training. Initially, it was assigned to my brother's former student/subcontractor. However, he had an accident and had to return to Cebu until further notice. I then offered myself to do it since I badly needed more income.

Today's my first official work, which I started at 8 am, after I worked on the other client, and ends at 6 pm. This morning was smooth until my brother left me alone for over an hour. That was when the agents were asking for help due to constant errors they encountered. I tried to remote into their desktop, but somehow, I got panic and didn't know what to do next.

I called him on his phone, but he forgot to bring it. Luckily, I contacted him, and he managed to come here after more than an hour. After he resolved their issues, another agent had a problem, and my brother assisted me with what to do. After that, I made my notes to make it easier for me to understand them.

  • US-based

The second is a US-based company that pays better but is more complex than the previous one. Unlike the Ukrainian-based company, the US-based one has calls to handle. Although I don't take them myself, it has many tools and buttons to open.

It has a lot of idle time too. In fact, my brother usually sleeps and only wakes up when we receive a new ticket. Although he has trained me on a few easy tasks I could handle myself, I would still wake him up to ensure I won't mess up. So far, he has taught me how to reset a password, create a domain, set up a new email, and extend email storage. Since I only started working on November 28, I still have much to learn.

My brother let me make the ticket request for this job, and he would check on my work before I submitted it. So far, after two nights of working, I got to familiarize the tools and what to do next. Hopefully, I will be able to master this and get to work with less supervision.

The pay

We all get excited when it comes to salary. Who doesn't? After all, that is why we work hard to earn better. I won't disclose how much he will pay me, but it will greatly help me. According to my brother, he will also increase my rate once he starts working for his third client next week. I'm excited to earn extra, not for myself, but for my mom.

Challenges

Although I don't handle calls, I need to familiarize everything so that when I need to remote an agent or handle a ticket request, I can rely on him only sometimes. Starting tonight, busy or not, I will also navigate everything repeatedly until I don't have to pause for a few seconds to find a specific icon.

Closing thoughts

I am happy that this job gives me a new reason to be satisfied. Yes, being a tech support is not easy, but since I only do the easy parts, I can survive this. I hope my brother won't lose his temper because there will be times when I can't catch up with his instructions. He is sometimes too demanding, but I understand that I must take these jobs seriously.

So yeah, I have a new reason to be jolly. Lol. I will keep you posted in the next few days. Wish me luck with my new endeavor.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


10
$ 0.41
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
+ 1
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

That is great 👍. You have been working so hard. I know you are awesome and you have been through a lot and very tough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I'm doing my best to make the most of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lalo ako te naiinspire itry yung online course na nakita ko sa TikTok. Hindi naman siya hanapan ng trabaho, pero guide yon to build my skills sa freelance haha. Baka bukas i-contact ko na yung nakita ko nagbabakasakali may mag-guide sa akin. Alam ko kasi yung ganon may bayad eh haha. Hindi naman talaga yon hanapan ng trabaho, parang sila lang mag-te-train sa iyo haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, meron mga libreng training sa online. Mas maganda na mag start ka na sa mga ganito kasi mas maraming work sa online. Tas me experience ka na sa writing din kaya kunting push lang at makaka work ka rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck and God bless always sis. Kaya mo yan and I'm sure kayang kaya mo yan. Naalala ko tuloy first job ko sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakayanin sis. Alam mo naman tayo, need mag effort matuto para sa ekonomiya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodluck madam kya mo yan since hands on naman pala eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hands-on pero iiwanan ako ng di naman ako confident. Pero so far, okay na ako ngayon. Gamay ko na yung pang morning at yung sa night, mejo mejo na rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a positive development to work as a tech support. You inspire us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm just his assistant but yeah, it's nice to explore other things online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Inspiration is a two-way giving.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me the most challenges is how to communicate way properly to make a bridge to understand what is the problem to be solve the concern and there are more clients that u help them and always show emphaty and sincere

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. Good thing I don't handle the calls because I'm not good at it, tbh. I just close the tickets and handle the agents via chat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luh may bagong trabaho napod na nakat.unan si maam ba. Murag nindot na siya. Magamit jud ug mga english-paka guro ana. Ayaw nato huna-hunaa maam, ipagpasa diyos nalang to nato tong mga hilabtanun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala na ko ato nag mind. Naka move on na ko ato. Mas naka move on pa ko atog dali kaysa atong nag watch kog Vikings. HEHE. Basta happy gihapon kos akong life bisan unsa pay nahitabo. It's just a part of the journey. Pero about sa work, di man kaayo kay ako man kuya mu handle ug calls. Gamit lang ang english sa reply reply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago