Let's Talk About Headaches & Migraines

25 48
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

If there's one thing I can brag about myself, that's probably being a healthy human. You may see me as weak due to my physical condition, but believe it or not, I rarely get sick. I don't get a fever a lot, not even a cough. Sometimes I'd wish to get sick during my younger days, so I got an excuse not to attend school and could watch my favorite cartoons.

However, that doesn't mean I don't get sick at all. I do too, but not very often, though. And when I do, it's worse than you can imagine as the pain stays for days, and one time, it even lasted for a month.

Inspired by my current pain, let's talk about headaches and migraines. These two are a bit different. Although both occurred in the head, the pain level is not the same. Headache is manageable and doesn't last for too long. Migraine is more severe and could last for days to weeks or even months.

So recently, I have been suffering from headaches again. It has already been 4 or 5 days since it started, and I still have it now. Although I don't usually take a painkiller, so my body won't rely on meds, I have had no choice lately but to take one. Since I got a headache, I have already had four tablets taken.

I want to get rid of the pain, as it has already affected my mood. Moreover, I want a typical day without feeling the agony anymore. I'm already tired of waking up in the morning or afternoon nap with a headache. Nevertheless, this pain is nothing compared to my migraine, which started when I was in high school.

Those days having migraines...

I was a freshman when it all began. I guess it was due to stress and the pressure of wanting to make my parents proud. I would study every night to prepare myself for the quizzes the following day. I had to get good grades because my dad enrolled us in a private school, and I also didn't want to get 0 on our quizzes.

The pressure was on until I started having headaches one day. It was mild until it worsened, and I had to see a doctor. He then checked me and gave me 4-5 different pills. Some are small, while others are big. I had to take them 3x a day, and after a few days, I stopped taking them. Those meds were too much for me, and I started palpitating.

Most of my migraines occurred during exams. I guess because that was when my brain got pressured a lot. Sometimes I would go to school with puffy eyes from crying all night. Although I took a painkiller, those were not the ones my doctor prescribed for me.

That year, I had the worst migraine, which lasted for a month. I also had long hair then and decided to cut it short because I was worried it was also due to having long hair. After a month of suffering from headaches, I vowed not to pressure myself regarding grades.

I also experienced migraines during college, but they only lasted for a few days, not weeks. The last time I remember having a migraine was at my grandparents. I cried all night and had to pour half of the Omega painkiller on my head to feel at ease and sleep.

I don't know about others, but another way to differentiate between the two is the area where it occurs. I noticed it only happens on the forehead when it's just a headache. However, if it's a migraine, it appears around the head. Not the entire area for me, though. Mine would be on the right side of my head. Sometimes, both sides, which rarely happens, thankfully.

So far, I don't experience it anymore, except for the occasional headaches like what I have been experiencing lately. I try to be careful, though, because I'm not getting any younger anymore, and I don't want to die due to an aneurysm. The thought of it scares me a lot.

Closing thoughts

I am still in pain, but so far, it's more manageable than the previous days. I hope the pain will ease so I don't have to take meds anymore or get grumpy over little things.

So if you see me not replying to the comments, I am trying to avoid reading so much. I will get back to it once the pain is finally gone. For now, I need to lessen the screen time and more nap time.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


16
$ 0.97
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 8
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ah. I remembered those days too that I would wish to be sick so I can stay back at home to avoid a test or beating in school... I've feigned being sick many times.

I rarely get sick too...taking a lot of water helps the body more than people can imagine.

What I am prone to having is cold...my headache is usually when I didn't eat all day and my body is weak to withstand it...then I start having temperature too.

So sorry, MJ... I hope you feel better and stronger now. Let me come and hug you. I heard my hugs are magical 😂🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

HAHA. Cheers! Those days when sometimes, we had to act like we were in great pain. LOL. All for the love of cartoons or whatever.

I still have a headache until now. Maybe I should take painkillers every 6 hours. What do you think? ANd no, I don't like going to a doctor. HEHE.

And you know I love hugs. YOu can also include some great snacks too. I don't mind. HEHE. Thank you, Ola.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha and the funny thing is, our parents usually know when we are taking it but they just play along.

Take lots of water and try the painkillers for 2 days. Try and do something that makes you sweat too.

Aww...you are a hugger. I can hug you all day while slipping your favourite snacks in between. What's your favourite snack?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana wala na headache forever. Same reason nung bata ako. Kung ano excuse ko para lang di pumasok sa school lol!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

HAHAH. Dami nating ganito. Yung ginagalingan ang acting, maka absent lang. HAHHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also had faced margarine in my life. Thanks God after proper Medication I was able to recover it. Headache is very bad condition that left me crying for many times MJ.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I hate migraine so much that I'd rather have a headache than the other one. But I hope the pain will ease soon coz I have been in pain for a week now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also experience headaches sometimes when I'm stress but thankfully I didn't experience migraines yet. They say it's so painful that you feel like your head is breaking.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very much. The pain is too unbearable. Good thing this is just a headache, though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I often have headache, but luckily never experienced migraines yet. I wish you quick recovery, may you get rid of this pain soon.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Still not fully recovered until now. Ugh. I hate the feeling. I'm glad you never experience this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you are now okay sis, if not take a rest muna, wag mo munang istress yung sarili mo. Tsaka tubig lagi.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo, natutulog na ako ng maaga. I mean off na ng pc ng maaga. Kasi di na kaya ng utak ko pag nakababad sa computer. Okay lang sa tv since hindi naman malapit ang mata ko dun. I think I need glasses na rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for the pains... I sometimes experience headache but overcome it because I hate drugs/med

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same with you. I hate taking meds. I don't even take vitamins. I used to buy Vitamin E, but I ended up misplacing them. Lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First off, you are the last person I would see as weak. You really dedicate your time to a lot of things. Your work ethic and dedication is amazing. You often sacrifice many hours of sleep to give us all the satisfaction of reading your articles.

I'm glad I don't get a lot of headaches or migraines. I did experience a lot with my recent eye surgery. They were right above my eyebrow on my surgical eye for weeks. The kind where you think placing your hand over it will help.

I hope they reside for you. Nothing worse than being in pain and having little or nothing to assist. Plus I don't want to run across a grumpy you 😂

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, bob. I do my best to be worthy of anyone's time and tips. :)

I still have a headache until now. I hope it will ease the pain soon. I'm tired of this. It has already been a week since I've had this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hasta pod ba ang mga lake maka experience ug ingana maam kay ako kaluoy sa Ginoo wala paman ko maka experience pa. Ug mutukar nuon akong kabuhe magsakit akong ulo.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ako kabuhion sad ko pero kana rang magbyahe. Last try naku katong sauna na nagtravel ko padung leyte unya ormoc me agi. Night shift pa jud ko gikan ato mao way tug unya pag abot sa terminal sa ormoc, kasimhot kog baling bahua unya hapit dayon ko makuyapan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa sa ayaw ko maramdaman yang migraine sis. Same sa iyo, minsan sa right side lang ng ulo. Nagsimula din ang migraine ko nung high school pa lang ako.... Sana mawala ng yang headache mo sis.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Until now, meron pa pero slight na lang. Feeling ko sa init ng panahon to. Kaya maaga na ako natutulog lately. Need na matulog baka kung ano pa mangyari sakin. Dilikado.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Migrane is just like the same as vertigo, once u feel headache you are not comfortable enough and u did not feel well at the same time you are not think so well

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have friends who have virtigo. No idea how it differs sa migraine or headache. Pero sabi nila, para ka raw nahihilo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis may headache ka pa rin. Sana mawala na yang headache mo sis. May trauma na ako diyan sis. 4 months ako nag suffer sa sakit sa ulo. Pinaka worst na experience ko sa life. Walang araw di ako umiyak hanggang umabot pumunta na ako sa Neurologist. Ayaw ko na maalala. Sobrang sakit na experience sa buhay ko. 🥺😭

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Grabe naman yan. Yung 1 month ko nga grabe din yun. 1st HS tas ganun na experience ko. Feel ko nga nun sis me tumor ako. Buti wala. At yes, until now meron pa rin akong headache. Hayst. Kainis nga e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Sobrang tagal nun 4 months talaga. 🥺 Sis patingin ka sa Neuro sis may ireresita yan sila na gamot na para sa sakit sa ulo. Effective talaga sis. Katulad sakin. Lagi mo ba iniisip headache mo sis? O yung lagi ka nagwoworry? Yung dami mo iniisip?

$ 0.00
1 year ago