I Tried But I Failed

59 76
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

Have you ever felt so disappointed in your action that you'd wish you tried harder to give the story a different ending? I'm sure you have. We all have.

Now, I'm going to share with you something that recently happened to me. I was so disappointed that I couldn't write anything yesterday. Now, time to share the story with those who never heard of it.

This story is about the chick whose name was Blawnie...

Blawnie was born on June 30 and the last one to get out of his shell. No, I didn't name him that. My nieces did. Blawnie is a two-colored chick, BLAck, and broWNIE.

After 2 days, his mama hen accidentally stepped on him that caused his spraddle leg. I never knew what spraddle leg was until @JonicaBradley shared an article about it.

What is a spraddle leg?

Spraddle leg, also known as a splay leg, is a deformity characterized by feet pointing to the side instead of forward. A chick with a spraddle leg will find walking difficult or impossible.

Causes

One cause is slick floors, resulting in chicks losing their footing. The legs twist out from the hip and remain in that position unless corrected. Other causes include:

  • Temperature fluctuations during incubation

  • A difficult hatch that makes their tiny legs weak

  • Foot or leg injury

  • Brooder overcrowding

  • A vitamin deficiency

How to fix it

If left uncorrected, the spraddle leg can be permanent. Correcting a spraddle leg is actually easy.

Any materials can be used for a brace, from bandaids to rubber bands, yarn to tape. In my case, we used tissue. Here's what I did:

  • First, I cut 2 pieces of tissues and wrapped them around each leg just below the knee joint.

  • Next, I used masking tape to stick them.

  • Then, I cut a long piece of masking tape to bind the legs together.

Be sure not to wrap the tissue around the legs too tight so the blood can still flow properly. To get a more detailed step, check this one here.

So as I was saying, Blawnie had a spraddle leg, which made walking so difficult for him. After reading the article about spraddle leg, I immediately followed the steps, hoping to save his leg.

I also helped him stand on his own that day so he could exercise his leg. But on that night, I noticed that his leg could no longer move. I was worried so I decided to remove the brace.

At night, while everyone was asleep, I put him in my room so he won't be alone. I also put him on my lap so he could feel the warmth. I just wanted him to feel that he was not alone in this crisis.

The only problem was that he doesn't want to eat. I tried giving him dry food, specifically for chicks, but to no avail. I also tried baby food, ripe banana, and even wet chick food, but nothing. I forced fed him but still nothing. He drinks water though.

His last night was sad. He wouldn't stop chirping. I checked on him, gave him water, and put him back in his box. Then I went to watch movies again while writing an article. Before I went to bed, I decided to check on him as he was awake and was on his chirping self again.

I took him and this time, I went to bed while he was on my palm. I felt like he needed some company coz the moment I held him, he stopped chirping. We went to sleep as I tried to close my eyes too.

The next morning, I asked the kids to clean his box so he could rest there. They did and also gave him water as I went to bed again for another session of sleep. The kids woke me up and told me he was dead.

I was sad but I told the kids not to be sad coz at least he is now in a better place. Though I wished he could still be alive. At the back of my head, I knew my effort wasn't good enough. I wished I tried more and more to feed him, so he could have the strength to continue.

Closing thoughts

I was so sad that I was not in the mood to write anything. I felt bad because I wanted him to live. But I know he is in a better and safer place now. A place where pain doesn't exist at all.


21
$ 20.99
$ 20.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Idksamad7869
+ 8
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments

You have done enough and don't feel about baka hanggang dun na lang talaga siya sis though nakakalungkot talaga kasi you did your best to save your chick

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yun nga e. Pero okay na ako ngayon. Mas importante na hindi na siya nahihirapan. Ganun naman talaga ang buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hilig ko tlaga smula pagkabata is sisiw. At nakakalungkot nmn di mnlng lumaki si Blawnie, pero okay nadin yan kesa lumaki sya't mahihirapan sa kondisyon nya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. So natanggap ko naman na wala na siya kesa buhay nga pero struggle naman. Kawawa rin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taking care of a chick is never easy. I remembered I tried saving one of the chicks before and I was literally crying and hugging my dog for a whole hour. That was my teenage memories.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yuh. It's never easy. Sometimes, I wished I took veterinary instead of computer subject. I could have saved them if I was a vet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to own chicks too when I was a child. Whenever the chick dies, I always cried a lot. I know Blawnie is in a happy place now, and that he could walk and run happily without any struggle. :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. I'm sure he's chirping happily na. No more pain, just purely happy thoughts. Salamat, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries po. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about Blawnie. For sure he's no longer in pain :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Belated Happy birthday, sis. And yuh, he's in a better place na so no need for me to be sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It also saddens me. This kind of situation was normal especially if their house was crowded or not that spacious but it can be prevented to happen.

I'm also feeling sad for that little one. Hirap talaga kapag pet or anin]mal friendly tapos mabilis maattach. :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yun nga e. Isa sa mga disadvantage sa mga animal lovers. Kasi mostly, ang dali ma attached. Pero ganun talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True po. Di din naman matiis na hayaan na lang sila kasi tayo din mahihirapan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry. While reading your article I was getting sad. I knew how it would end. :( You shouldn't feel bad because you did what you could to help him.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess so. But I'm okay now. He's in a better place now for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i feel sad . but it happen i remembered my dog . i can imagine what you feel

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh no! I lost so 7 dogs and puppies before and it was heart-breaking. But they will always be in my heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad for you I'm also love animal and wanna take a pet but I'm afraid of losing it coz it's too much painful moment for anyone who love it and we can't anything for them and they leave us with their memories

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yuh, but it's always part of life. They come and go. What matters is you try to provide the best for them while they were still alive. If you are afraid to lose something, you will never know or experience the best feeling in the world coz you are too focused on the sad endings. So if you like to have a dog or a cat, why not get one for yourself. But of course, only get one if you're ready and you're willing to commit your life for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko na naman yung pusa kong kamamatay lang rin ngayon. Maga pa yung mata ko galing sa iyak.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry for your loss. Relate ako sayo kahit last year pa nangyari yun. Nakakasad nga naman mawalan ng alaga lalo na pag mahal na mahal mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakit2 eh huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please don't blame yourself for what happened Ma'am, you really did the best that you can to save and cure the chick.

It might be hurtful, but let's just think that the chick was totally okay right now, in God's paradise together with the other creatures in heaven.☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Yan na lang sinasabi ko para d ako masad and ma guilty. Thanks, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be strong ka lang po.. Ibi-bless ka rin ni God ng marami pang chicks..hihi😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did everything you could. When I was a child I got some chicks for Easter from one of the family member. Thet thought as a child I would like that. I did, but unfortunately those chicks did not live long. They would have needed proper environment to be able to live. My parents didn't like the idea, but what can you do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, chicks need special place to live. We still got more chicks left but they are in our garden. Blawnie's siblings are now separated by their mama hen for their safety. Mama hen doesn't know how to take care of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did everything you could to save it. Maybe it was not just for you.. pro masakit tlga ung ginawa mo na lhat pro bumitaw p rin..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Nakakasad pero yes, he's in a better place na so no need for me to be sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered my dog ..I did everything to make him stay alive but still ..the poison ruins his internal organs already and ended up dying...I know he's in a better place now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya talaga naka leash yung mga aso namin kasi mahirap na baka ma Poison. Meron pa naman kaming kapitbahay na kontrabida. Dati nga, binuhusan ng mainit na tubig yung aso namin kaya maingat na kami.

And mahirap talaga pag Poison na. Lalo na pag walang vet sa lugar niyo. Sorry for your loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay same here po..Ang masaklap relatives pa namin..Ang hirap po talaga mawalan ng alaga. Mas lalo na pag yung alaga mo na nga lang nagpapasaya sayu mawawala pa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman yan. Haist. Nainis tuloy ako. Ayoko ng ganyan. Me aso ka pa ba? Ingatan mo pag meron. Lalo na sa relative mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron po. 2 nlng ...opo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw, ingatan mo na lang sila para sure Ball na okay sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo ..nakatali napo pero naawa ako kasi dapat ang aso malaya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You tried you best to save it, but you do lost it. Don't worry you must have gotten much experience about it. When next such happens you would know how to manage it well and secure there life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so. But as much as possible, I'd rather not to see another dying animal again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It won't happen again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad, please don't blame yourself, you tried all you could.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just felt bad coz I didn't force enough to make him eat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad naman madam, but its ok, atleast you did your best part to save the chick

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakakasad talaga. Napamahal na siya sakin. Pero ganun talaga. At least, okay na sya sa heaven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You shouldn't be sad ma'am. You gave it your best, the extent to which you tried to make it comfortable is worth applauding. Since it wasn't taking any food and just water it's inevitable that it will die. I really tried your best. You did.

Thank God it has gone to a better place and will no longer feel pain

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yuh. I just don't know how to make him eat. I tried to force him, but I don't want to stress him out. But at least, he's happy now. No more pain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa naman 😥 Baka kelangan ng alaga ng ina..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yun lang d marunong yung mama niya mag alaga. Dahil na siguro sa katandaan. Mainitin ulo ng mama niya kaya ngayon, separated na siya sa mga natirang chicks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch I could feel the pain. I also had this chick I took care when I was young he grow two 1 month old and I was so happy but one day my brother step on him and he died. From that moment on I never ever took care a chick again no matter how I pittied it. It was too painful for me. I'm so sorry about blawnie.😢

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ouch. That was even worst. I would burst in tears if that was my chick. Poor soul. Sorry for your loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did burst to tears and was so angry to my brother that time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa naman kasi talaga. Pero sana nag sorry kapatid mo. For sure naman na guilty din siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagsorry Naman din siya pero masakit talaga Kasi namatay Ang tagal ko Maya inaalagaan Yun 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad to read your posts about pet since yesterday. Sure they will be in heaven and of no pain anymore. Hope you feel better and recover soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm trying. I know I will be fine soon. Because what matters now is he's fine and no longer in pain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sad. I relate to this kind of a situation. It's really hurt for us if you are an animal lover, I remembered my favorite cat. I really cried, when I heard his dead.😭

Don't blame yourself, you did all your best to your chick. But we cannot prevent if its his time already. Your chick will be thankful to you since you are always in his side during the pain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The sad fact about being an animal lover. To see them dead is one of the hardest. I also had a puppy named Simba. I burst in tears when he let go as soon as we reached the clinic. Took me weeks to finally recover.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love people who grow feelings for animals and it hurts me to know it ends up dying. I guess it needed more of his mother's company which could worsen the chick conditions.

You did your best and you didn't fail at this, doing nothing to save the poor chick is the failure.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Animals, especially the little ones, are one of my weakness. Just so sad that he didn't survive but at least, he tried.

$ 0.00
2 years ago