Thoughts on Bitgree

16 621
Avatar for bitgree
1 year ago

First of all, I'm going to introduce myself...

Who am I?

My name is Josue. I am a developer living in Spain (Europe). I am fond of cryptocurrencies since 2013, first supporting BTC and since 2017 supporting BCH. I work for an e-commerce related company. A little older, father of a small child... In short, nothing out of the ordinary.

Ok. And what is Bitgree?

Bitgree.com is a personal project based on Bitcoin Cash that I have been working on for some time, which is still in the development phase. It is basically a meeting point for people who want to buy products with BCH in online stores, and people who want to buy BCH. The latter will act as intermediaries in the online purchases of the former.

It basically works like this:

  • Alice has BCH and wants to buy product P on Amazon.com

  • Bob has USD and wants to buy BCH.

  • Bob will buy product P with USD on Amazon.com and ship it to Alice.

  • Alice will send BCH to Bob as reward.

  • All coordinated in Bitgree through self-custodial wallets and 2-3 multi-signature escrows (Alice, Bob and Bitgree).

It is similar to what Purse.io does, but with self-custodial wallets, multi-signature escrows, and extendable to many more online stores besides Amazon. I do not want to extend more because it is not the purpose of this article, later I will write several articles explaining its operation and objectives in detail.

I leave here a screenshot of its homepage for the most curious:

Why this article?

Mainly to test writing an article on read.cash, and (if possible) get some feedback from the Bitcoin Cash community here.

Do you have any doubt? Want to ask about something? Do you find the project interesting? Please leave it in the comments.

I am also interested in your opinion on a very specific topic of the project: the name...

What the hell does "Bitgree" mean?

My idea is that it was the conjunction of Bitcoin + Agree words, since the project is based on voluntary agreements using Bitcoin Cash. In addition, gree evokes green, which is the Bitcoin Cash color. At the time it seemed like an appropriate name, but my first and only language is Spanish, not English (despite the fact that the project will be released in 6 languages, including English). So I may not have made the best name choice.

Do you think Bitgree is a good name for the project? Again, please leave it in the comments.

When will Bitgree be released?

If the stars align If nothing changes, the beta version will be launched on March 1, 2023. Any news I will post here.

Thanks

Thank you very much for reading and for your feedback (either positive or negative).

Bitgree.com

34
$ 17.29
$ 13.37 from @molecular
$ 1.00 from @Remora_101
$ 0.70 from @Omar
+ 10
Avatar for bitgree
1 year ago

Comments

Sounds pretty cool mate!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

waooww nice, i will visit it and study it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A great website. I hope it will become known and used. I will have a look at it and if I find something I need, I will buy something.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

https://www.bitgree.com was finally released on March 1, 2023 πŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's surely an interesting project, Sir. It's also a way of spreading awareness to other communities in order to encourage more people to patronize BCH and attract investors for a more BCH adoptions. We appreciate all your help on promoting BCH to the other merchants and communities. We are hoping for the success on this project, Sir. I'm wishing you a "good luck" and more power to Bitgree.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice Project interested

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cool project! I like the name, it aligns with your vision so keep the name going! Hope this project will grow!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a great project sir.. I hope it will be a successful one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Quite late for me to greet you sir Josue. I just a little problem with my Internet connection.

Anyways, I find your project interesting. But in my case, I think I can't afford to use it right away because I don't hold much of Bitcoincash in my wallet. But surely other users will try this out. It is a huge project and I am rooting for its success sooner or later. Good luck! Nice meeting you by the way.β˜ΊοΈπŸ™‡β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you're from Spain! I'm glad that you are now here. Thank you for the upvotes last time sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess using Bitgree, we should have stocks upon stocks of Bitcoin Cashes πŸ˜†. So that's how the app will go, strategically and I hoped your project succeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sounds like a top project. Will bookmark it for further use. Also would recommend @infinity as a native Spanish speaker that can help with codes and stuff

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dude, this is awesome! Been waiting for this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cool project! Is there a white paper or something more detailed? Dispute resolution, in particular, can be a tricky thing.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Hi George, thanks for your feedback!

The most detailed information will be on the site itself, in a section that explains how it works and in the FAQ itself. This article is a first contact with read.cash and with the community, later I will write much more detailed ones.

The dispute resolution part is undoubtedly the most sensitive, because there is no way to make it work autonomously technically speaking. The tools are finished (dispute opening, integrated private chat with support, BCH forwarding from escrow to the dispute winner, etc.), but the exact methodology to decide the result is still not 100% clear.

I imagine that everything necessary to verify that the package was delivered will be requested: screenshots of the status of the shipment in the store (Amazon, etc.), photos, videos, tracking URLs of the carrier's shipment, etc. But as I said it is the most complicated part.

The platform has a system of public statistics of each user to check the reputation that I hope will also help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago