Accept New Opportunities

5 66
Avatar for belkis758
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Emotions, Writing, Love, Inspiration, ...

A Decision

One may think that life is not nourished by pleasures, nor by enjoyment, nor only by recreation. One may think that this is not the basis of everything. Those who think so are right. Those who think: It is not necessary to enjoy outdoor walks, I will not try to contradict but surely there are still things to experience. Those who think that a good walk is simply an unnecessary pleasure or a waste of time, then I will say: You are wrong.

One day I started thinking about my retirement. I was 50 years old at the time. Having so much free time, at home, possibly sedentary, was unimaginable to me. I have always been very restless. An active person cannot keep the mind in idleness.

My retirement money would not give me luxuries but it could give me pleasures. Neither luxury nor pleasure are bad for me as long as it is not in excess. Even if I had some money to go for walks, travel and enjoy myself, that was not my intention. Money doesn't last a lifetime if you only have it to spend. I wanted to do something different to avoid being stuck at home.

The Answer to my Question

It was then that I set out to walk every morning. Little by little I increased my speed, the routes were getting longer and longer and more necessary for the body so I started mountain hiking. I joined a group of women who love nature, adventure and travel. With them I learned techniques to traverse difficult paths. The hikes are still daily.

We visit parks, mountains, hills... always with a specific objective. When I arrived at Macarao National Park for the first time, I fell in love with it. I remember that first day, it was five hours of walking, I did not feel tired, the landscape, the pure and fresh air, the company of my friends, my attitude, did not allow me to get tired.

I enjoyed every minute of the ride. I contemplated every part of the mountain. I concentrated on all the noises in the environment. I drank fresh water from the springs. I felt at that moment that I had lost time in life. I thought out loud, wondering why I had not done that before?

There was an immediate answer. All my life I had thought that these activities were just a waste of time. I hindered myself by claiming I didn't have enough money to do it. In short, it was self-sabotage. I didn't even give myself permission to experiment with new things. There I had the answer as to why I had not known these wonderful places.

The Result

From that moment on, when I understood what I had decided for my life, I wanted to give myself another chance. It is never too late when happiness comes. I still feel in good condition. Thanks to God, I am in good health and physical activities complement it even more. I was at the right time, in the right place, with the right people. God's timing is perfect. Many things have happened after these events.

The changes in my life have been radical. For these walks I have involved the family. My children, husband, sister, niece... everyone has been involved. We have had as a result: more family unity, more communication, more desire to share. With this testimony I can affirm that it is not a waste of time. It is to love oneself in order to learn to love others, including the world around us.

One decision can change your life

8
$ 1.10
$ 1.00 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.10 from @Luisa_Slwzl
Avatar for belkis758
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Emotions, Writing, Love, Inspiration, ...

Comments

Me encanta tu familia, es muy hermosa, y todos se parecen a ti. jejejje.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a very interesting articles . I love the way you figure everything out. Thanks for sharing this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for appreciating my publication. Best regards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola amiga Belkis, me encanta esa energía que inyectas con esta linda publicación. Así es, todo pasa cuando tiene que pasar porque Dios tiene nuestros tiempos en sus manos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Holaaa grata sorpresa. Gracias por tu comentario amiga. Valoro el apoyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago