My parents' wedding anniversary

4 81
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Family, Love, Journal, Diary, ...

The other day I just talked about some of the things that I want to do or share with my future boyfriend and/or husband-to-be. And then it was only recently when my parents celebrated their wedding anniversary. I know it is not love month but I am pretty sure that you will agree if I will say that everyday is Valentine's day. Am I right?

Anyway, I said before that I will be treating my parents with a home service body massage however, I failed to search for any so I decided to just order some foods that we will be eating for lunch. My mom and I were already talking about their wedding anniversary since last week but we have not heard from my dad what his plans were. I kept on mentioning that their wedding anniversary is also the birthday of my brother's late father-in-law that is why they celebrated it in a resort hotel in Batangas. Even if I mentioned that, I felt like my dad intentionally did not want to hear about the words  "wedding anniversary" because he already spent a lot for our family gathering last week. Then I mentioned it again but I got the same reaction. Instead of waiting for my dad on what his plans were, I asked my mom what she wanted.

Last year, we just bought a bilao of pancit and roasted chicken. Then we also served the beef caldereta that was given to my dad few days prior tgeir wedding anniversary. Simple wedding anniversary celebration. For this year, my mom wanted to have a boodle style of grilled meats and a fresg fruit salad for dessert. A day before their anniversary, she already ordered some fruits from our taho vendor as he is the one who sells fruits other than taho and tofu inside our subdivision. My mom ordered watermelon, banana, mango, apples and oranges. When the fruits were delivered, my mom was at the church and my dad was still sleeping. Our helper woke me up just to show me the bill for the fruits and I felt like I was going to get a heart attack because of the amount. It was aroung Php1,500 or $30. Yikes! Good thing I had cash that time because if we are going to wake my dad and ask him for money, he'd get so pissed. That is why he rarely buys fruits since the pandemic because for him fruits are a luxury. But did you know, I wanted our helper to tell the taho vendor to come back for the payment in the afternoon when he will peddle some taho for snack but I was also thinking that it would not be good since it might be his first biggest sale for the day and also a "buena mano". So I had no choice but to give my cash. The reason that I do not want to pay for it first because sometimes my dad will not pay me back and that no one would have the courage to ask my dad for the money not even ny mom. It is either that I will ask my dad for the money or it is already considered as my treat. Noooooo! LOL. I need money. I have to pay my bills tomorrow and I still need a lot as I only have 10% of what I need. This is really bad.

Last year

Because of that morning shocking fruit bill alert, I was up as early as 7AM and that means I have only slept for 4 hours. I cannot get myself to go back to sleep so I just plated some games and then ordered when the stores opened that day. I ordered from 2 grilling stores and what I got for my parents' wedding anniversary were grilled bangus, grilled squid, grilled pork, grilled chicken inasal, fish lumpia and pinangat. Almost all foods were grilled. That morning, our helper also cooked torta (pork omelette), fried eggplant as per my request and steamed eggplant as per my mom's request. Actually, the night before, our helper asked me what she would cook and I told her that she only needed to cook the eggplants because it was part of our boodle style lunch. I did not know that she cooked some torta. She also boiled some eggs because she wanted it to display on the table if we really were to have a boodle lunch. We kept on laughing at the eggs when it was already set on the table because no one wanted to eat it that day. I was suppose to eat it while we were waiting for the food to arrive but I decided to eat a few spoons of rice and the torta.

When all of the food arrived, I did not know that my mom was really serious about the boodle style because she did not order some banana leaves from a vegetable seller outside our subdivision. I just heard that my mom and our helper were busy setting up the table and to my surprise, they were able to set it up perfectly. Our helper got the banana leaf from a vacant lot near our house.

Can you believe that those fruits cost around Php1,500? Really shocking.Watermelon is not included in the photo as it was being sliced that time

My dad only remembered that it was their anniversary when he was reading the newspaper. I actually wanted to get pissed at him and at the same time I wanted to smile because he was cute when he was telling my mom that it was their anniversary while he was holding the newspaper when he went to the room. He asked what my mom wants to eat that day but I got to order the foods before my dad got to ask her.

It was my dad and I who ate using utenstils. As much as I wanted to eat with my bare hands, I couldn't because my nails were too long. It was only today that I had the time to do it that is why I find it a little hard to type. My mom and our helper happily ate using only their hands. It was had to eat in thr banana leaf as it was too small abd the table was a little too wide. Our helper only got 1 good leaf as the rest were already small.

I have been celebrating my parents' wedding anniversary for a long time now and I think this is the only time that I treated them on their anniversary. We were all full that day because we also ate the leftover food from lunch during dinner. I hope that when this year ends, I will be able to give them a monetary gift.

June 07, 2022

P.S. lead image is a photo of my parents taken during my mom's birthday last year.

7
$ 2.86
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 2
Sponsors of bbyblacksheep
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbyblacksheep
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Family, Love, Journal, Diary, ...

Comments

Wahh so the fruits are that expensive? I guess that only cost 500 here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohoooo, Happy Wedding Anniversary to them ehehe. Saya pa rin kahit apat lang ata kayo no. Pero wagas yong fruits ah, ginto na ee aguyy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mej, relate po sa part na, yung ikaw nagbayad ng parent's order, tas nahihiya ng kunin yung pinam abono mo sa kanila, kase wedding anniv. kahit na nakalaan pambayad ng own bills mo😂 Btw, Happy Wedding Anniversary to your parents!✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Wedding Anniversary to your parents! Ilang years na?

Ang mahal na talaga ng mega bilihin pero I think Hindi naman aabot sa 1500 yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago