Failed tricks for kids!

0 12
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Week two of teaching my kid and her friends at home is over and it was tough and challenging. My 3-year old niece joins us once in a while which add to the excitement, pressure and challenge but overall it's fun!

I have no problem teaching my own daughter because she is more focused, cooperative and well-behaved. I think training her as early as 2-years old is an added factor to her attitude towards learning. She is more used to it as if already part of her daily routine.

Unlike Jm who still lacks focus and still very playful. Week 2 is over and he still can't write his name alone and without something to trace on. He is quite a big challenge for me because he needs more attention and a lot of patience to finish a one-page of our activity.

This morning, my sister observed us while doing our session which is writing your name. She noticed their actions, their ways and attention. In order for Jm to listen well, she said:

Trick # 1

Jm, write your name alone and we will go for a trip and eat spaghetti and fries at Jollibee, a famous fast food chain here in the Philippines especially for kids. But Jm said, he would not join us because the police officers will catch kids who are roaming around due to covid virus. Ooppssy, bad move for my sister, it did not work.

After a while, I played the ABC Song and the Agadoo dance so the kids could sing and dance along and to regain their focus and to feel more awake as I already noticed them yawning especially Jm and my niece. They were enjoying the dance number and singing along very loudly.

Then we continue with the writing activities which is to draw a straight line. My sister was still observing at that time and noticed that Jm was still not doing his lesson.

Trick #2

You will not have your snacks if Jm could not finish his lesson and even the guardians and the teacher will not have snacks. So I told Jm to finish it quickly so we can already have our snacks. My daughter finished it quickly and even convinced Jm that he can do it. She said, Jm concentrate so we can now play! But as soon as he heard the word play, his eyes starts to roll and keep saying let's play, let's play!

My sister again said, remember no snacks if you cannot finish it Jm! But Jm said, I will just have snacks at home. Oh, it did not work again!

When I still cannot have Jm focus on our lesson, I asked him what does he want to do. And he said let's draw our hands and so we did! I let them trace their hands and color them to whatever they want and it went well. The kids finished it very quickly.

Of course, I could not allow them to draw hands the whole time and we need to finish the modules before we submit them back on Monday and get the new sets of lessons. So I asked them again to write their name and the straight line. My niece listened and even participated well the whole time but Jm was really different and my patience was being stretched and tested well. I could not just give up on him because he is like my son as he calls me Mommy since he became my daughter's playmate.

After 2-hours of convincing, he finally finished his straight line activity so we move to writing names. At that time, my granny was washing her clothes in their laundry area which is near our little classroom at home. And so I tried to trick him too!

Trick #3

Jm, grandma will remove her teeth and bite you if you will not finish writing your name. She did that already when we were still kids and it really hurts! But another bad move because he seemed to cry when he heard that. Obviously, it also did not work!

So I said while scratching my head, white hairs will start to grow and that I will get old in no time because of you Jm. Yuri can you teach Jm for me please? Yuri said instantly, I don't like to get old Mommy!

I dismissed them on time but I told Jm to practice writing at home and gave him some books for letter tracing. I also asked his grandma to spare some time to teach Jm so he could cope up.

My week two of teaching is half successful. My daughter did well but I think I failed in teaching Jm. Although I know that I did my best but it frustrates me seeing him that way. I pity him because he was like left far behind from kids his age. If only he did not stop from nursery classes last year and if only his parents have spared more time to teach him. But yeah, he is just a kid and he needs more time until his system will get used to having a learning and playing time. I need to be more understanding, to pay more attention to his behaviors, to know his weaknesses and what motivates him to learn and focus.

I am his teacher for now, but I think I will learn more from him. And that is more exciting! Tricks may have failed this time but I know, soon we don't need to give him tricks just to behave and cooperate. Soon he will be excited to come to school and learn. I will wait for that day and I know that it will be happening soon!

...^•^...

Thanks for reading. Keep inspiring. Keep smiling.

Lead image is captured by me.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Comments