The power of 1 minute a day

2 34
Avatar for alian_rignack
2 years ago

I always remember that in 2018, during the whole year, I was able to do workouts every day, with one day of rest in the week. In my routine for warm-up, I included one step that takes me only 2 mins. Stretch my legs. The process was like this: I put my leg over a small wall of around 70 cms height, and then I started trying to touch my knees with my head. Only 2 mins, in fact, 1 min with each leg, during the whole year. After a year, I was able to touch my knee with my head. Not a significant accomplishment, you would say. Maybe nothing too relevant. It was just part of a workout routine that keeps me healthy, but the critical insight I got from that particular leg-stretch exercise was that I did it dedicating just 1 minute per day.

How many things do we try to accomplish, and do we think we have time or are not in the right life moment? How many things do you delay because you think you have so many others things to do?

I have been practicing this 1-mins approach in different ways. It could also be 1 X or Y a day: 1 push-up or 1 new foreign word a day.

The focus is to start small and start now.

If you do not start now, 1 minute a day, it will never happen. Convert this 1-minute-a-day into a daily habit, and it will become one of your most powerful tools to accomplish your goals.

I would say almost everyone has 1 minute free on their agendas, minimum. If you start short, it will be easier to succeed. Do you want to start running? Start by trot in the place, and just 1 min. After finishing your 1-minute session, you will feel that you accomplished your tiny goal!! Tomorrow do it again until you do it every day. If you do not have time, then start short. Don't you have 30 mins? Then start with 15. Don't you have 15? Then start with 5. You get it.

I have deeply introduced this practice in my daily life. These are the things that I do daily and started with a 1-min day routine:

  • 10 daily minutes of meditation.

  • 10 mins of English study.

  • Short workout session in the early morning (+ I do workout in the afternoon)

  • Daily journaling (just 5 minutes)

  • 1 daily burpee

I am not saying it's easy. Often, you will delay your daily routine, or you will be stuck in real-life situations where you simply will fail to commit to your 1-minute routine. The point is to build a habit as soon as possible, so it carves deeply into your mind and does not vanish when things go hard.

It's also essential to chain some routines, so you find them easier to attain. You can start your day, and as soon as you wake up, do your 1 daily burpee, or pick your 1 daily new foreign word. And then chain another habit right away and do it (again, short)

Start now, and after a year, come here and tell me how it was :)

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for alian_rignack
2 years ago

Comments

Every minute is important. The important thing is that the time is less or not how we use it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My teacher once said, "Once habit is repeated it will be your character." And just as you said, we should do this 1 minute a day routine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago