Why Are You Smiling?

2 27
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago
Topics: Blog, Writing, Thoughts

This Is Your Life by Switchfoot may have been sitting on my player for so long and I am sleeping on it. I also may have been asking the same questions and to be honest I don't know the answers even up to now. But it's all going to make sense at some point, I guess.

"Yesterday is a wrinkle on your forehead

Yesterday is a promise that you've broken 

Yesterday is a kid in the corner

Yesterday is dead and over

This is your life 

Are you who you want to be?

Is it everything you dreamed that it would be when the world was younger and you have everything to lose?"

All I know is "today is all we've got and today is all we'll ever have," so let's live. 

What’s the reason for all of our smiles? And though we are going through something, why do we always manage to smile?

Smiling even when hurting.

When I'm failing myself. And has disappointed others.

When achieving something I've worked hard for.

When people appreciates me for being me.

Whenever I would finish reading a good book.

When I listen to the music that I like.

When I get to meet the people that I admire.

Whenever I thought of a good (or probably bad) pun.

When I am at my worst and yet knowing that one day it will only get better.

When I am with the people that I value the most.

When I get to experience life at its fullest.

When God gave me opportunities (too much that sometimes I get anxious if I could handle all of it) to make an even better woman out of me.

When God has blessed me more than I would ever deserve.


Life will not always go your way, but you can choose and act on how you want to see it, on where you would want it to lead. You can choose to pick which battles that you are going to fight for and then graciously let go of the others. You'd know who amongst your relationships are for keeps. At the same time, it is okay to allow yourself to grieve for the time and the people that you have lost in your quest for love and maturity.

There may be no definite answer as to getting to be who we wanted or where we wanted to be because we always only end up wanting for more. But we can always do something about our happiness.

We are living. 

We are loved. 

It is never too late to give that love back.

It is never too late to empower each other.

And that's what's making me happy.

That is what I am grateful for.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @eve
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago
Topics: Blog, Writing, Thoughts

Comments

I loved reading this article. Somehow it resonates with me. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I’m glad it did. Thank you, too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago