Talking Dreams

4 48
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago


"I think we dream so we don’t have to be apart for so long. If we’re in each other’s dreams, we can be together all the time." 
— A. A. Milne, Winnie The Pooh

***

Our subconscious minds play tricks sometimes. One night you can remember every single detail that has happened in your dreams… while most nights can be fitful and vague that you can’t seem to remember right away even after waking up.

Some wishes to see their deceased loved ones in their dreams so as to speak to them one last time. Some would like to meet people that they haven’t really met in real life (only to be awake during the most interesting part of the dream).

Some dreams within a dream, Inception style. (If you have seen that iconic Leonardo Di Caprio film) It does happen, right?

I have always been fascinated with our dreams that sometimes I would search its psychological meaning online. And while there isn’t any scientific proof attached to it, some are just… fitting to the situation, eh? I’m not sure if you can relate or if I am making any sense but it has happened to me every once in a while. It could also be like I am subconsciously programming my mind into thinking that this could possibly the reason and then ended up actually manifesting the dream.

Say, you’ve dreamt of a snake. I read before that it could mean that something is bothering you and a change (as depicted by the shedding of the snake’s skin) is about to happen in your life. It could also mean just like what snakes usually depict: you are worrying about someone doing you dirty and you find it hard to trust them fully.

Also, if you have dreamt about being stark naked — it could mean vulnerability in your present situation, something that you are dreading of. It could also mean that whatever change that may occur, you are bothered and there is a struggle to willingly embrace said change and so on.

Pretty interesting, right? Our psych is impressive. Every little detail has its own interpretation and meaning. It always piques my interest even though my field of work is no way related to the topic. I think I am just plain curious about a lot of things in life and I am always willing to learn about the things that are happening around me.

Oh to be a cat, eating and napping all day, everyday.

My cats love to sleep. Usually I would just feed them in the morning and then they would play around and the next thing that you’ll notice, they’ll calm down and find them sleeping in their corner. The dream life. lol. Sometimes I wonder what is on their minds.

As for me? These days I am grateful for having enough rest/sleep even though I can’t seem to remember what my dream the previous night is about.

I used to have 4-5 hours of sleep pre-pandemic days. That is because most of the time that I could be spending sleeping is being redirected to the commute on the way home. Traffic in the city is at its worse so you have to allot two to three hours allowance on your time so you won’t be late for work. There are also a lot of distractions like staying online til past midnight, watching films on Netflix among others. Luckily, we are allowed to have a work-from-home setup and it saved me of the time time that I get to spend outside and on the road. Because of it I get to pick up new hobbies on my free time and I get 5-6 hours of sleep per day, which is somewhat already a great improvement.

I also make it a point to drink my vitamins and supplements that help me recharge through the night. And by staying healthy, I can now dream awake, figuratively.

Dreaming while sleeping is good, more so, dreaming awake is even better.

Dreaming awake and making things happen. I can be awake enough to pursue things that would help me achieve my goals in the long run. To realise what you want or where you want your life to lead is such an accomplishment, why? Because not everyone is privileged to experience that. Even I am clueless as to what I truly want at times. But we can always aim to improve and work on it. Not realising your dream in not a bad thing, per se. If anything it makes you focus on the now, and improve what you have at present.

We all have dreams and goals, whether it would be as small as getting enough rest, having our favourite food for dinner, or earning extra income OR as huge and as long-term as buying a house and lot, a car or having financial security. And you can achieve it, one-by-one, because you are awake… and you are doing something about it.

I don’t think I have listed my long-term goals here yet but it’s always nice to look back at our written goals and see how we are all able to achieve them, the provisions that we received and the help that we got from the community and our personal support system.

Cheers to your dreams and to making them happen!

***
This is just a long overdue article about one of @JonicaBradley ‘s interesting prompts. It’s been on my draft for quite some time that I am glad to have finally wrapped it up.

You can check out her original post here and if you want to do your own take and join the fun writing experience as well, here’s a a few instructions that you could follow:

  1. Write anything on Dreams

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories toPromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!


***

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors! Hope you are all having a great weekend x

6
$ 2.81
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.08 from @Jinifer
+ 1
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
2 years ago

Comments

I see one my sisters when she had a dream of something I don't know but I think its a happy dream since she was clapping her while asleep, I told it to her when she wakes up but she couldn't remember anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I very rarely remember dreams from when I sleep, but I certainly can dream awake😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dreaming wide awake too. I always do that especially if I want to think of things I want to accomplish in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

omg hahahah your cat sleeping position just made my day HAHAH especially the other one above LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago