Numb

0 13
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

David has been performing this song since he came back from his Chilean mission on some of his tours in the US and even then, hearing it for the first time has already made its impact. The lyrics even made more sense when he's talked about it on his long banters. It's like he's baring it all. It has made me more excited for his new project if that is even possible. 

While I am sort of hoping he'd release a song that we have not heard yet, I can't say I am disappointed with Numb. The new project is promising. I am overwhelmed as he is still this talented man that I know back in his American Idol days. He'll be giving these overrated pop stars these days (who has been blessed with the right biz connection and opportunities) a good run for their money. I feel like I may be possibly sugarcoating him too much but that's just how he is. I feel for the millennials who has not known his music because they are missing a lot. He is really dang good. 

He's talked with Billboard regarding the song and it's made even clearer how sincere and how connected he is with his music. The passion springs from within and it reflects on his music.


"I've learned that's its really important to just always be honest, and I told them. I said, 'You know, I just got back from Chile and it was an amazing experience. I loved being a missionary, and now I'm back here and I've been writing every month so far here in Nashville, and I don't think I want to do this. I don't think I even want to be here right now.' I just kind of kept talking to them about it, and they were just staring at me listening, and one of them said, 'Well, why don't we write about that?'"


"It occurred to me that maybe I can actually write about what I'm really going through instead of teenage love songs because that's what people want to hear. That's kind of how I've always been trained. It didn't occur to me that I could write about what I was actually feeling, and we just started writing and that's what came out of it."

The lyrics:

I think I’ll take a second chance

I won’t be passing by these waters again

Wanna feel redemption’s hand

And see this life only for what it is

I know the river’s not too wide

Had to see it for myself with my own eyes

Someone out there’s on my side

It’s not my place to question why

Everybody needs time away

To wake up with the sun on their face

I’m not there yet but I know

That I don’t wanna feel numb

Falling over all of my shadows

Yeah I’m all done

'Cause none of that ever really mattered

It hurts to live so wide awake, oh

But it’s a chance I can take

I won’t run run run

'Cause I don’t wanna feel numb

So deep inside these hills I run

To a place where I can see 'til kingdom come

See the days one by one

And love this life only for what it, what it is

I hear the whispers in the stars

The words that tell us more of who we are

Someone out there’s not that far

Everything I need is here now

Everybody needs time away

To wake up with the sun on their face

I’m not there yet but I know

That I don’t wanna feel numb

Falling over all of my shadows

Yeah I’m all done

'Cause none of that ever really mattered

It hurts to live so wide awake, oh

But it’s a chance I can take

I won’t run run run

'Cause I don’t wanna feel numb

A tidal wave brought to life

Rushing over every doubt of mine

Open soul in an open sky

Everything, everything is right

I don’t wanna feel numb

Falling over all of my shadows

Yeah I’m all done

'Cause none of that ever really mattered

It hurts to live so wide awake, oh

But it’s a chance I can take

I won’t run run run, yeah

And no, I won’t run run run

'Cause I don’t wanna feel numb



***


"It was so relieving. That's all I needed to do. I just needed to know I could be real with people. I needed to know I could be honest and talk about how I was really feeling at that time in my life. I feel like, as a musician, people want to feel a story. You know, there are songs that people want to have a good time -- fun, summer songs. But I think a lot of other times, people do really want to connect with what's coming from someone's heart, from their soul, and what they're going through. I feel like this was a song that was that for me."




Hits me right in the feels. Somehow it's reminded me of Zayn, vaguely. David and Zayn are quite the opposite music-wise, even with their personalities. But the authenticity and the talent is there and that's what's making me admire both. And when you're pursuing the things that you feel is the most real to your being, it just shows on the output and all of the other outwardly aspects of life.


The line "See the days one by one and love this life only for what it is" gets me deeply. It reminds me of doing things in a whim. We make hasty decisions that it feels like there is this rush to live that we forget how to actually live. Sometimes we get to be reminded of it in the hardest and most painful way. But sometimes there are the likes of David through his music who will remind us that Someone out there’s on our side and it’s not our place to question why because it will be alright in time.


Sometimes the world will try to get you and it would feel like you're losing yourself to the pressure bit by bit.

But then, with a proper mindset, good company and a time away to clear our thoughts and focus back to whatever it is that we believe in, we could redeem ourselves and eventually give out a piece of  the real us to the world.


1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

Comments