MATCHA-dventures in Japan!

0 26
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

One of my favourite things about our Japan trip in 2018 is that I get to try a lot of matcha flavoured food. This post  is especially all about my favourite food to consume in the world: matcha!

What is matcha?

Matcha is made by grinding young tea leaves and is said to have more nutrients as you are having the tea leaves instead of having just the extracts from its leaves (from a normal green tea). It is packed with antioxidants, boosts metabolism and burns calories.

Matcha also:

  • Enhances mood and aids in concentration

  • Calms the mind and relaxes the body

  • Prevents disease

  • Lowers cholesterol and blood sugar

So much for an introduction. Not everyone is into it but I love it and I love trying varieties from matcha drinks to cookies, muffins, and weird dishes (matcha on pasta, chicken tonkatsu, etc). 

Here are some that I get to hoard while we were on the Land of the Rising Sun! (There a lot more that I didn’t get to take a picture of because I ate them right away. Oops.)

  • Crispy Thin Oreos

  • Matcha flavoured CHOCOPIE

  • Matcha cookies

  • Matcha bon-bon

  • Matcha sundae that we have tried in Kyoto

  • Matcha bourbon

  • Matcha Crunky chocolate

  • Sakusako Otabe matcha cookies

  • Matcha KitKat (featuring the wasabi flavoured one)

Lastly, my ultimate favourite, this 51% matcha Meiji cookie (and some green tea drink from my friend’s sister who is residing in Tokyo).

***

Japan is indeed the land of matcha! I have been checking my old stuff and I felt like sharing as it will take a while until we’d get to travel and explore other countries again because of the pandemic. I miss exploring places and experiencing different cultures.

Let’s all stay safe until then, alright?

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

Comments