Five habits

0 13
Avatar for aamir336
3 years ago

What is that one healthy habit that has changed your life

These five.

Let me be clear… I’m not suggesting that these habits will work for everyone or that they are even the most effective habits for health or fat loss.

But they worked for me.

And maybe, they’ll help you too.

1. Skipping Breakfast

One of the easiest but most profoundly positive habits that I ever implemented was skipping breakfast.

I drink coffee with a little bit of butter and coconut oil until until about 12:30 p.m. and then I’ll have my last meal around 7:30 p.m. on most nights.

This one tip helped me lost almost 15 lbs. of fat last year after one too many Cali Burritos left me with a spare tire.

2. Eating Less Meat

Although I couldn’t go full vegan or vegetarian like some of my friends, I found that eating significantly less meat (as in 4–5 meals with meat per week total) dramatically improved my overall health.

I felt more energetic and focused, generally less “heavy”, and seemed to need less time to digest my meals.

Sure, I definitely feel a bit hungrier on a low meat diet, but the benefits seem to outweigh the detriments.

3. Riding My Bike for 60-minutes a Day

This simple act is, by far, one of the most enjoyable parts of my day.

Nothing beats riding my bike along the beach while I enjoy the sunshine and get my heart pumping.

Regardless of who you are or what your goal is, spending an hour outside exercising in nature each day is all but guaranteed to boost your mood, improve your focus and creativity and help you maintain a body that you’re proud of.

4. Letting Myself Sleep

I don’t wake up to an alarm.

I wait until my body feels fully restored and ready to take on the day and then I wake up.

Sometimes, I’ll sleep 8 hours a night. Sometimes I’ll sleep 10.

I just let my body have the rest it needs.

I know that many of you probably don’t have the luxury of waking up “When you feel like it”. Maybe you have a long commute to a job you don’t like or kids who need to get dropped off for school.

And I get that.

But you can find a way to get a little bit more sleep every day even if it means turning off the television an hour early and hitting the hay.

Sleep really is one of nature’s miracle drugs. So go get your fix.

5. Doing Yoga Every Morning

After years of working behind a desk and lifting weights that were just a little too heavy with less than perfect form, my body often feels—as they say in Saving Private Ryan—”FUBAR”.

But I recently started a little 15 minute morning yoga flow and it has worked wonders for my general sense of well being and overall pain levels.

Most of my chronic pain has subsided. I get injured at the gym far less often. And I just feel better, more limber, and more agile.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for aamir336
3 years ago

Comments