Hey Artists! Did You Hear about Inktober? pt. 1

61 102
Avatar for ZiraZir
3 years ago

Greetings, Zira Zir here!

I did ask you in my short post If you ever have heard about a Happening of Inktober, and was surprised about not many knew.

So here I am with describing of this artists-connecting event, taking place every year on October.

Origin and History

Inktober was founded by well-known artist Jake Parker, who is American, short comics creator, animator, illustrator and concept artist. He originaly started to draw one small drawing every day of October to increase his skills, but then suddenly in 2015 there was over 1mil. posts under the hastag #inktober. He decided to make it offical event on every year basis. He uploaded first official prompt list in 2016. And just after that it is big happening all over Instagram. It is great challenge for artists and they can discover too about how their mates are thinking about each prompt differently.

In 2019 Jake trademarked ,,Inktober,, , prohibited to title artworks by it, and also use Inktober logo on different social media or anything, exeption was made for subtitles.

Recently was Jake Parker´s book was marked as plagiarism by another artist, Alphonso Dunn. Accordingly to this, for example, DeviantArt cancelled anual prize for this years Inktober.

Here is Inktober´s official site, you can check it out by yourself. :)

https://inktober.com

Rules

Rules are pretty easy, you take the promtp from list according to actual day and make a drawing using any ink medium. You can choose from ballpoint pens, fountain pens, ink and dip pens, alcohol inks and markers, you can also use ink washes for shading for example. You are allowed to draw underdrawing by pencil of course.

After your artwork is finished, you post it on Instagram basicaly, with hashtags like #inktober #inktoberXXXX #inktobernameoftheprompt, you can also tag Jake Parker or official IG Inktober page directly in your post.

Do it for all thirty four days of October.

Enjoy.

Why I am interested about Inktober

First time I joined Inktober in 2016 I was not enjoying it so much, maybe also for the issue I had with my art back in that time. I was in pressure to encrease my skills as soon as possible to be able to sell my art, that was bad attitude, I know it now. My second Inktober 2018, I was doing better in my oppinion, but there was some family issues that made me to end it up in December though. :D But last one, in 2019, was the best, I had less time than on previous two, but I was satisffied with majority of artworks and also made it in time.

I love the idea that all artists fom all over the world participate, and portraing their imaginations into one prompt. It is interesting to see how different our perpectives on the same theme are. I like that season of year, and it is connected to Inktober in some kind of magical feeling, hard to describe. If you ever felt, alone, not connected wih others kind of artist and you did not enjoy that, Inktober has this ability to connect you and enjoy your artworks from each other.

There are also alternative prompt lists for Inktober, Like witchy Inktober, monster Inktober..., and it is not limited, every artist can put together his own.

My Inktober 2017

It was first annual of Inktober I joined and it was shortly after I decided I give a try to sell my art and I was serious about make it work and practice and increase my skills, I started to take it seriously and responsibly. I was excited 50-50. :D But gave it a chance and I liked it pretty much. I was not ok, with artworks output, I try to show you the best ones according to me.

Here we go

I think it is prompt - Deep
Underwater, This one is inspired by, a wasp drawned in my beer which I accidentaly drink from and blah, I spit it out and there she was. :D...Bad memories .D
Teeming, inspired by how we are using as more pills as we get older, and my fear of it
Run, tried to portray feet moving
Sword
Squeak, my most beloved, Inspired by howling wolves :)
Wasn not able to change orientation, Ship, drawn by blue ink

I am gonna continue in pt. 2 article cause it seems I overdid the some kind of limit, and are not upload images anymore, so stay tuned ! :)

Zir

35
$ 0.43
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 1
Sponsors of ZiraZir
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZiraZir
3 years ago

Comments

Okay we understand. I guess @Hanzell could explain the mechanics better, but we'd really just need you probably at the end of the challenge.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your are a great artist also and Both part are really impressive and interesting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so hyped over the coming inktober, @Hanzell and I are even having a little challenge.

I never knew there was another good artist here like you on read.cash. You earned yourself a subscriber.

Edit: the pig!!!!!!!! 🥺😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She should join usss. Lol all pigs are cute UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really, she should.

I like flying pigs the best. Are we going to use the official prompts?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess the official prompts it is then. I'm already on my 4th chapter with that 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woah chapters 😂😂

I thought it was just an individual artwork for each day with a writeup on it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I figured i can't be posting works in progress every day so i thought I should put them all in a single story then just show the WIPs on a weekly basis. Plus we still have the event in the community so this will be my entry UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, yeah, we can do that on a weekly then. Most of my ideas are really abstract though 😂😂😂 so you're gonna see the weird side of me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm stuck on how to draw hope, disgusting and ominous but plot wise, they're so easy to write up. May the weirdest man wins 😂😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those three will probably be my weirdest works, but I'll just chip in something, I guess. inDeEd the weirdest will win 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still hoping for a judge for. Maybe zirazir would like to judge

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Let me tag her @Zirazir could you help us out please?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Hanzell @Ozzyy , dears, I am honoured u want me to be a judge, but have had a smallest bit of free time in past week, you know ill kids, house chores, plus my things to do. 😕only if you just told me how it works, like when you will need me and for how long. Maybe I could give some judgements 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We'd be doing our inktober prompts daily and link everything we've made for inktober in every article. The judgement will be based on art and prompt approach towards the art. Does that seem okay?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So sweet of you, the pigs are actually pretty inteligent creatures. :) Thanks for subscribing :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The pig 😂😂🥺 I didn't know there was such a great artist here on Read.Cash. I'm definitely following you.

And I'm also having an inktober challenge bet here on Read.Cash with @Hanzell.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Damn you are such an amazing artist . Just Subscribed you to stay connected with you . I wish I could art like you do !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is some secret, you can! 🙃 Just keep enjoying and practising, it is all that💪🏼 Best wishes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribed there but won't gonna join. I don't have ink. 😭 or maybe I'll look for it on my day off

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Basicaly, you are good to go even with plain ballpoint pen, or schollar quality, or black liner, the ones with archival ink are great. Hope you Join, it is worth it. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My art would be the ugliest if I join. 😂😂 which artwork did you submit?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

noway no art or creation is ugly, only Unproportionous💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yeah.. everything can be called art. 😊 thank you. But you're really the best

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course, if it’s not traced or copied... I think every piece made out of heart and soul is art, for example I just love the kids drawings, its a pure joy and energy, but one could say it is a trash....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True.. the kid's artworks are actually cute..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your arts are so beautiful. Thanks for sharing this post. I can't wait for more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much, actually I´ve been neglecting art for the time I´ve been here. So it is time to start balance time betweeen art and RC. :D....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! I really love your art huhu, my heart 🤧❤❤❤. I wish I have the skill you possess girl. I really love it, especially the squeak and the pills 🖤🖤. Youre very creative. I hope your artworks would be noticed by the public even moree 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, so sweet of you, Thank for your support, it means a heavens to me! Squeak is maybe on top 5 from all Inktobers. :D And the original of pills was sold, it was my first original sold, I was surprised as hell. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your articale is so nice and the arts are nice too.I am impresed.I got to many things from your articale.thanks for the information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad you find my article informative and enjoy artworks, means a lot to me , Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thinking.. Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to you :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg i wish i was on instagram

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why are you not there? If I may ask. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I subscribe you . Please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice your arictical

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! You have amazing artworks here. I like the ship in blue ink and the feet. You are so creative! Keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much, I will art is a rescue from my thoughts, like a therapy. :) Blue ship, yea it is not perfect but have some feeling in it, I even don´t know how I managed to include that like this. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to see more artworks on that site, but maybe tomorrow I'm sleepy now..haha.. goodnight.. i love all your works btw.. 🥰🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah it is exhausting to have to be a focused on so many information, and visuals, Hope you slept well. :) And thank you again :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So it has an official site- and literally anything goes as long as it's in ink???

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, the site came into beeing in 2016, because people got interested in a previous year of 2015. An yeah, any kind of ink, also plain ballpoint pens or gel-pens, It is so easy. :) Hope you considering to join. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, ballpoint, fountain, dip pens, also liners, markers, like waterbased ink, waterproof ink, india ink, alkohol ink anything like this :) I want to upload part 2 but I cannot upload more images even if in another article Idk what went wrong :/

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh then I'm all set for inktober. I just need a prompt idea good for a month, i guess. Maybe you can upload part 2 later on or tomorrow? Probably when things aren't that buggy anymore?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I didn´t notice your reply before, :D The reason I cannot upload images was they had wrong format, so I had to convert them. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahh the formatting. I hope you could manage to upload them soon though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should join there too. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. I got myself lots of ink stuff just for this event 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Excited to see you artwork.. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A month worth of sketches. I came up with a story line to at least fill out a few days 😂😂😂 hope i can do the full 31 days

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is also possible like connect 7 (or whatever amoutn of days u like) and draw like once in 7 days, if you have not time. :) I looking forward to ur drawing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I deafted off a story series yesterday with the help of my love 😂 i made him do some simple poses so i think writing that and making a character intro would suffice for 2 good weeks, the rest will be random

$ 0.00
3 years ago