If only rain could wash away the pain

10 76
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

In life, a person makes numerous choices everyday. Too many in fact that most of the decisions one makes are not that memorable.

For example, when you wake up, you already have to make a choice between hitting the snooze on your alarm or getting up at that instance.

Our life is composed of these thousands of decisions we make everyday where a single choice might lead us to a different direction.

If only you knew the future

If you have the ability to peek through time, would you do it?

The chance of knowing the future and trying to avoid it a bad fate is not a small matter. I would be lying if I say I don't want to have that ability.

After all, I made a fair share of decisions I regret. I did a lot of actions that brought hurt to my loved ones. I did things that are destructive to myself.

If only I had known what I know now, I am sure I would not have made that mistake.

With rain, comes realization

However, I know wondering about things like these is useless. After all, no one knows how to turn back time nor how to predict the future.

As much as I would love to prevent things from happening or to undo the mistakes I made in the past, I only have the present to live in.

However, that does not mean that all hope is lost.

No matter how difficult it is, mistakes can be rectified by first accepting responsibility.

It is tempting to blame things outside of our control. It is so easy to point fingers and say:

'This made me do it.'

'I did not mean to. I only did it because you did this. '

'If this thing did not happen then I would not have done this. '

It is so easy to shift the story so that we can push the responsibility away from our actions.

Yet, a mistake can only be corrected once you take responsibility for it and admit its existence.

If only rain could erase the pain

How easy would life be if a simple thing such as rain could wash away the hurts we inflicted in our loved ones?

Can you imagine a world where your heart's burdens could be washed away by soaking up the rain?

Alas, we are not living in some kind if fantasy.

In the real world, once a trust has been cracked, it takes a long time to rebuild it.

It is like a sand castle that takes time ti be built but a single push can make it fall. Sometimes, it is easier to just let the waves wash away the remaining parts of the sand castle to let it go back to being a blank slate.

In that scenario, I would think that two people where trust is broken would part ways to start over but with different people.

And then maybe, you really liked the sand castle you have been building so even if it already mostly crumbled, you still try to rebuild it while taking care not to ruin the remaining parts.

In life, it is not a decision entirely up to you. After all, if you break someone's trust, you can not force them to forgive and forget just because you regret it and willing to make up for it.

Sometimes, you will not get a second chance in fixing things. If you are lucky, maybe you will get a second chance.

Either way, it is not a decision entirely up to you.

If you are the one who broke someone's trust, then you can decided if you want to have a second chance. If you do, you can reach out and try to reconnect. But then if the person you have hurt does not want it then you have no choice but to let go. Take the lesson, no matter how bitter it tastes.

And if you are lucky enough to have another chance, then do your best to ensure that you deserve that chance.

After all, the pain that each of us can leave on one another can not be washed away by just simply standing under the rain.

I learned this lesson the hard way. So I am writing this because someone who might need might stumble upon it, and not make the same mistake I did.

12
$ 0.84
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mayt
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 1
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

This is interesting. If the rain could wash all our pains, I will stay under the rain whenever it is raining. I once broke someone's trust but I'm glad we're back to normal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy to hear that you guys were able to go back to normal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If the rain can wash our pain away.. I would sleep on the ground when it raining. Pain is inevitable, they are part of we are. My trust has been broken several time. Honestly speaking, it's better not to break someone trust than to make amends for broken trust.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree that trust is better when it is not broken than trying to make amends after breaking it. But like pain, mistakes are also part of being human and I think there is strength in being able to admit when one has done a mistake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pain and failures are necessary. I think we don't have to erase or wash them away as they are beautiful reminders that we are imperfect human beings entitled to fall short and to learn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your thoughts on this. I agree that even though they are painful, they are still beautiful reminders of the lessons we learn along the way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you break trust you might not be able to fix things back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, which is why it is incredibly important to think thrice before doing something.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woaaahhh... I love your writing. The way you construct and describe your emotions is simply understandable. And I love the way you put it into illustrations. :) Can't wait to read more...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much! I am glad you enjoyed reading it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago