I need BCH now more than ever

12 69
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Last night I was unable to publish an article as I started taking a new medication prescribed by the psychiatrist. I did not time it well since I thought the side effects will be mild but I was wrong.

Just a few minutes after taking the tablet, I could already feel my eyes getting heavy. In an hour, I was knocked out after finding a good position for my stuffy nose.

I even set an alarm to wake up and write an article but I did not hear it. I also promised my sisters a pizza as my treat to them for midnight snack but I also did not manage to fulfill it. We decided to just spend the money for today's food.

New diagnosis

Just like what I mentioned last article, I got a new diagnosis which is why I am also taking a new medication along with the old.

I was misdiagnosed as having Major Depressive Disorder but after a consultation with a new psychiatrist, it was determined that I have Bipolar Affective Disorder, specifically Bipolar 2.

I know many are probably thinking that I could just snap out of this condition or that having bipolar is just being moody, but today is not the day where I have the energy to educate about my condition.

Today is just a day to share where my hardwork is going. Today is a day when I can tell you that all the support you have given me is helping me tremendously.

Why do I need BCH?

I am now taking two medication to handle my symptoms. The original medication should not be suddenly stopped just because I am taking a new one. I want to share my prescription so you guys can see what medications I am taking.

I cropped the prescription to stop people from faking their own prescription out of the format that they might see. I do not want people to self diagnose and self medicate just because I carelessly posted my whole prescription especially since knowing how to use Photoshop will effectively help them edit the prescription I post for their own benefit without consulting a professional.

So I am still taking the old one which is escitalopram and a tablet of this costs around P45. I was prescribed 30 tablets after I finished the 20 tablets from before so P1350 will have to be spent just for the old medication.

This is the new medication thatI have to take. As you can see, it will be slowly introduced to my system but the dpsage of this new medication is higher than the old one.

This new medication will help handle both the highs and lows of bipolar disorder instead of triggering hypomanic episodes like taking antidepressant (escitalopram) alone.

The cost of one tablet of quetiapine is P100. The total money I need to buy the prescribed medication is P3000.

So for the next 30 days, I will have to spend P4350 just for medication alone.

But wait, there's more

The psychiatrist also wants me to have some laboratory tests done to rule out physical conditions that might affect the dosage of the medication.

These are the tests that I have to get before the next consultation which is on May 7.

I am not yet sure how much this will cost. I will have to ask the clinic near us if they are doing these tests and for how much. But based on the estimation of my friend who is a nursing student, I might have to prepare around P1500 to cover all the tests.

So now I need P5850 to cover both the medication and the laboratory tests.

I need more

As much as I would like to end my expenses there, I actually have more to spent for.

I still need to pay for the consultation, and psychotherapy. I had already paid for my session last April 23, and my upcoming therapy on April 30 which amounts to P3600.

However, I will still have follow up consultation with the psychiatrist every two weeks. Each consultation costs P1800 for 45 minutes. So every month, I will have to pay P3600 for the consultations.

Next is psychotherapy. Each session costs P1800 for 60 minutes. And it is also usually a bi-monthly set up so I need P3600 every month.

That is an additional P7200 every month for consultations, and therapy along with the P4350 for medications.

For the next 30 days, I will have to spend P13050 to cover the medications, laboratory tests, psychiatric consultations, and therapy.

Now, what?

My parents decided to cover a huge art for the medication, and my sister will give me some money to add for the laboratory tests costs. I shoulder the consultation, and therapy costs alone but their help is already huge.

The BCH I have right now is not enough to cover all the expenses yet so I will strive to work harder to get the money I need for my treatment.

Closing words

Bipolar disorder is a lifelong illness. There is no cure but there are effective treatments available. I pray and hope that I will be able to find a treatment plan that works for me so that I can live a relatively healthy and normal life.

Thanks to BCH, I was able to get the help I needed in timely manner. After all, bipolar disorder left untreated tends to worsen overtime and treatment is not that effective in managing the condition.

I have a confidence that I will be able to get better. I will not be defined by my mental illness. I am not bipolar, rather I have bipolar.

I will have to look into more earning opportunities to hopefully get enough to cover my expenses without asking for my family's help. I do not want to be a burden, after all. But for now, I am trying to battle the side effects of the medication and will not be able to be as productive as I wish I could be.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

March 2022 Articles Summary

February 2022 Article Summary

January 2022 Articles Summary

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary

21
$ 13.29
$ 11.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
+ 15
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

I'm so sorry that you have to go through that rough path. Hope you'll feel better soonest. Take care!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

GOD is always with us my friend. Don't worry my friend you will be okay soon.Just take care yourself more for now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I pray for your recovery sis, it is costly but I'm sure it would be worth it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That treatment really cost a lot,but I'm glad that finally you really seek medical help.It would be great help for you to recover from that condition.I hope your needs will be provided.πŸ™

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It sucks how healthcare services here in the Philippines is so expensive. I know how expensive it is to have a medication plan since I've been there before when I was still having my skin treated. It's expensive really and it will empty your wallets. But if it's for the greater good, strive hard to continue that medication. πŸ’–πŸŒΈ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are strong enough to handle this and I know you will be strong again to fight with what you are going through now. I wish you good health you deserve to enjoy the lifeπŸ’—

$ 0.01
1 year ago

God is with you my friend. He will protect you all the time. He will help you my friend. Trust him. Everything will be okay my friend. Always continue and positive. Take care always sis.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

God will always provide and I know in time you will feel better:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You really need a lot. I hope you be okay friend, how i wish bch would pump higher . For now you should take care friend

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hala sis, sorry wala akong maitulongggg since ung oera nagamit ko pagpunta ko dito sa baguio, sana ayos kalang. Isasama kita sa dasal ko sis, wag ka masyado magpakastress, chill lang tayooo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awee ang dami sis. Hoping for the pump of Bch now and I hope as well rusty will cooperate with your medication. Keep praying sis and for your fast recovery.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can do it, sis. I'm sure God will provide. The best thing now is that you are willing to go through the process.

$ 0.01
1 year ago