As an Intern

7 49
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

This is a very late article but I still want to share it.

As a 4th year college student, we are required to have an internship in line with our course or at least related to it. To be honest, I did not have any idea where I would apply so I was just going to go with whatever happens. Fortunately, I was able to be an intern at a good company.

What are my options for the COE?

COE is the suject code related to on the job trainings or OJT. At the start of our semester, we were oriented about the options we have to pass the subject.

The first one is for the working students. If they are already working in a career related to our course then they only have to submit a certificate of employment to our professor.

The second one is the virtual internship. Unfortunately, during this time our college was still not allowed to have face to face or hybrid internship setup. It is such a shame since the usual partners for internship of our program only offers face to face internships.

Lastly, we have to option to take a certification program hosted by Wadhwani Foundation. At the end of the program, we can get a global certificate related to soft skills as long as we passed the formative assessments.

A student can take one of these options or they can take two options as well. The certification program can be taken with either of the first two option. Those students who take two options will have an additional grade for completing the certification program.

How did I learn about Erovoutika?

I have actually encountered Erovoutika before when I was looking for webinars to attend because I was bored. Most of their webinar require a fee though so I did not attend any of it in the past.

When the list of companies for our OJT was released by our university, we barely had any option. We only had 2 for our course in fact.

I applied to both, hoping they would consider me. But I was also bit resigned in thinking that maybe I will just go take the easier route which is taking just the certification program.

Thankfully, I received a reply from Erovoutika which started my internship journey.

Internship application process

The first thing I did was to send an email with my CV attached to Erovoutika. After a while, I received a response informing me that I am scheduled to take an interview with the admin.

Honestly, I was nervous since I did not know what to expect. I was wondering if I have to study or not. But in the end I chose to just show up in the virtual meeting with just myself.

I was actually scheduled to take the interview with some of my classmates so we were able to laugh the nervous energy off. Thankfully, we all passed the initial interview. We were informed of this via an email informing us that we have to do a skills presentation as a final interview.

At this point, some classmates already backed out because they got other offers from one of the many companies they emailed. When the skills presentation came, only three of us from the same university remained.

After the presentation, all three of us were assigned at the Electronics department. When this was announced, my two classmates were already having doubts because our course, while related to electronics, deals with other stuff.

Still we attended the orientations together and joined the telegram group chats for communication with the other interns. We were told that we can start as soon as we can, but the three of us decided to confirm with our professor if we can continue with the internship since it is most aligned with Electronics.

Although the professor gave us the go signal, my two classmates decided they did not want to continue anymore. So I was left alone in this opportunity.

I decided to push through because Electronics is one of the subjects where I did not pay attention to so I wanted to challenge myself.

Closing words

I will be ending the article here. I still have some stories to share about my internship experience. This is just the beginning. Although I am not sure when I will be abe to write again.

Honestly, there are days when I miss being an intern. It was difficult but it felt incredibly rewarding for me.

6
$ 0.57
$ 0.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

Start na pala internship mo ako naman nasa final term pa lang ng first sem, di pa din kami na orient about sa OJT pero stress na ako saan mag aapply😭😢 pero now ko lang narinig na pwede yung certificate of employment nalang kapag working student basta related sa course yung work. Btw congrats! Mukhang maganda yung company na napasukan mo, cheers to more experience, fighting! 😙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganyan talaga pag intern na sis nuh. Fighting sis. Di pa pala kayo face to face sis. Naalala ko tuloy nung college pa ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully, by next sem magface to face na huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sis. Laban lang always sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ano ba ate type na engineering na kinuha mo? Busy ka pala te as an intern haha ako naman medyo nabusy lang nung final term na namin haha. Totoo ba yung balita na wala raw sahod yung mga Intern haha. Andami ko rinng final requirement na inasikaso kaya wala ako rito HAHAHHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha karamihan ng intern walang sahod as in, yung iba nagbibigay lang ng allowance pang load pero madalas wala talaga. Siguro pili lang yung course na may sahod like OJT ng culinary students or marines pero depende pa rin sa company na papasukan iyon.

Enjoy mo na pagiging fresh habang freshman kapa kasi Pagdating ng 3rd and 4th year beh need mo ng ng katinko, eficascent oil at saka kung ano ano charot😂🤣🤣😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Instrumentation and control engineering ung kinukuha ko. May mga internships na may bayad pero allowance lang. Actually, dun sa company na ina-applyan ko meron sialng intern allowance kaso para lang sa mga ftf ung setup, saming virtual wala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago