My Manila cravings: A throwback.

27 35
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

We all have stories to be shared about food. Stories with your loveones while eating together or even alone time and eat your favorite stress relieving food. Stories about different food recipes that you saw online or a street foods that always makes you crave everytime you saw it. Stories of different food in every country like now that most of us are hooked with Korean foods because of Korean Dramas and many more stories about food. But you know what? One thing that I missed when I thought about food is that the memories that captured during those times that we eat those food and one thing that I misses about food is my Manila cravings.

It's been 3 years since I stayed here in the province and I already missed those food that I always eat everytime I am craving. Those food that have been part of my Manila memories. Usually those food are not a cozy food , it's just a food that can be seen outside or an affordable foody but gave me the satisfaction because of the taste and I know I'm not the only one who give thumbs up on those foods.

Beef Pares near Boni MRT Station.

This place is very special to me as we always eat here everytime we are on our way home even if we are AM , PM or graveyard shift. If you visited the Boni MRT or it's your route maybe you knew this Paresan. Aside from Pares , they also offered Tapsilog that it also winner to my taste buds. The orders here are affordable , you can eat beef pares for as low as 50 pesos. They have lot of customers everyday because aside from being affordable , it's also delicious. The beef are tender and the soup is good too plus the knorr savor that you will put on your garlic frid rice hehe.

Lakays Palabok.

Maybe @Codename_Chikakiku knew this one because he's from Taguig. This is my all time favorite Palabok and even if I already resided in Sta. Mesa I still go to Taguig just to eat Palabok. Lakays Palabok is located near Waterpan Taguig but I don't know the exact location but they also have other branches like when I live in Makati together with my husband I found a near branch in Pateros near OsMak.

It is also affordable , last 2016 it's only 50 pesos per order and you can also order by bilao for celebration. What makes thier Palabok attractive? It's because of the crunch pork chicharon on top.

I also have a memorable nakakakilig story here with my ultimate crush but I will not share it here nyays!

Shawarma Rice near Gil Puyat LRT.

Maybe @Eylz2021 knew this one? The picture that you can smell huhu. I missed this shawarma rice so much!

The first time I tried this shawarma rice was when my officemate recommend it to us and also invite us to eat there. We are in graveyard shift that time. I always go to LRT Gil Puyat and I already saw that shawarma stall but I am not interested because it look like not taste good but I'm really wrong. It's delicious and also affordable! This shawarma rice only cost 60 or 70 pesos and what makes me like this? It's thier unlimited sauces. I am a fan of shawarma white sauce and also the veggies are crunchy and the servings makes you full.

Jolly jeep in Makati.

If you are working in Makati maybe you knew this eatery hehe. I have lot of good and bad memories here in Jolly jeep and I am happy that I experienced those because it's part of being a Makati employee haha.

Jolly jeep is an eatery wherein you will eat standing because it's like a stall or a mobile eatery. I dont know the history why it is called Jolly Jeep but when I worked in Makati they called it Jolly jeep that's why I called it that way too.

I am working in Ayala , in Valero Street to be exact and every jolly jeep has its own status hahaha. I mean the Jolly jeep near PBCom building is a jolly jeep with a pricey food it is because they located in a huge building. The order there range to 50 pesos to 70 pesos per order. We called it thousand because of the pricey food. Then there's also a jolly jeep at the back of Valero Street and the food there is cheap like you can order a vegetable viand for only 15 pesos but there's a catch because that jolly jeep is not as clean as other jolly jeep. Like the spoon they are using , they washed it again even if it's disposable.

Then there's a jolly in Valery Street too. We called them Kambal because the staff there is twin. @Kai09 , I don't know if you know them but I want to tag you haha. This jolly jeep is our favorite when our shift is graveyard and we ordered half rice and an egg or hotdog. There half rice is like an equal amount of one order rice and my officemate will order two half rice instead of one order of rice.

Swirly bits near PUP Sta. Mesa

Since I ride on the train when I am out from work I am always saw this stall near PNR Sta Mesa Station. As you can see it is a store where they sell shake but I only ordered swirly bits. Swirly bits it a combination of Oreo , cheese and milk.

So they a condition there. You cant order a regular cup if you don't have a partner because there serving is big. So if you are alone you will need to order a big cup for the price of 40 pesos. But when you have a partner , you can pay 20 pesos for regualar cup and sadly I am always alone that's why I always ordered a big cup huhu. Then I will not ride in a tricycle goin to apartment instead I will walk and enjoy the swirly while on the way home.


I want to share more of my food memories but I thinking it okay for now. Meet my officemate and food buddies as well.

This is my entry on the prompt of @JonicaBradley titled "Food"

Do you want to participate? The rules are simple;

  • Write anything about food

  • Write 100% original content

  • Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  • Tag: @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun!

Thank you for reading!

15
$ 7.11
$ 6.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @MizLhaine
+ 8
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

ako lang ata yung hindi mahilig sa palabok hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ang sasarap ng mga pagkain 🥲 nakakagutom tuloy. Pero di pako nakakatikim ng pares

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ba pares sa pangasinan?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Namiss ko tuloy lasa ng pagkain noong college haha. Ganyan din ako noon... Umaga hanggang gabi sa kainan ako.. wala me talent sa pagluto eh. 🤣 Makikain meron

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi Kasi maiiwasan Hindi mag foodtrip hahaha Lalo kapag bagong sweldo haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Food is life talaga sis!!! Haha... Nakakatuwa dati malaya nakakapag explore.. Ngayon limitado nalang ang mga galaw.. Pero di ko magest yung logic nung sa shake na kapag mag isa eh big sized cup ang kailangan orderin at kapag may kasama, saka lang pwede ang regular cup

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasi Yung sa Oreo yata nila sis hahaha. Yung isang pack ayaw nila hatiin , gusto nila isang pack kapag ishake na 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ahhh kaya pala.. Makes sense.. Hehehe.. Sayang nga naman kapag matagal yung kasunod na bibili..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, nakakagutom yong article mo. Marami talaga food na nakakamiss pag hindi na natin natitikman for a long time. may nataste ka ba jan sa province na kagaya ng lasa ng mga namiss mo na food?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa hahahaha. Pero may mga cravings din Naman ako dito sa Wala sa manila. Pero Sabi ko nga , Yung memories ksi before Yun tlga namiss ko hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sa jolly jeep ako lagi kumakain dati nung sa ayala pa nag wwork.. Masarap naman mga food nila at mura pa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan madumi din hahahaha. Ilang beses na ki naka encourter

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Depende sa jolly jeep na ma kainan mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang Masarap ng food, but i like the most yung shawarma at palabok. Hmmp nakakamis kumain nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Yung shawarma rice miss ko na

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yung mga nabibili kasi hindii same sa gustonv panglasabiba parin yung lasa na hinjanap ng dila.😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here you shared beautiful memories related with different foods, but my mouth is watered to see Shawarma Rice. I hope I can try it for once.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can try it when you visited our country hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ay nakakainggit naman, angsarap naman ng mga pagkain. Miss kona tuloy kumain ng palabok heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Throwback lang Naman iyan hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Tingin ko po wala na po yung tindahan ng palabok dito sa waterfun, 2016 pa po yan eh andami napong nagbago rito, tsaka dikit dikit na fast food chain po dito na nagooffer din ng palabok wala talagang tindahan ng palabok, kelan balik mo dito ate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi sya mismong waterfun. Malapit sya dun sa church ng stop niño ba yon. Dinako babalik dyan hehe pero visit siguro kapag Wala ng pandemic

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ang sarap naman po miss yen.❤️ Maganda talaga pag may mga picture kasi serve as a remembrance talaga. Gaano pa katagal pag Makita mo yung mga pictures maalala mo talaga ang mga memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo. Kahit sa picture nalang hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yes miss yen totoo po...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the idea of the Jolly Jeeps, they seem jolly 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It came from the two words Jollibee and Jeepney as per my research hehehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago