Katuray/Corkwood Flower

13 152
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

I heard the name of this flower by my father and I dont have an idea what it looks like and I also wonder why they eat and cook flower until we visited our relatives in Pangasinan and finally I saw what this flower looks like πŸ˜…

Ctto

We went to the wet market and my Aunt bought some Katuray flowers and she said that she will make an ensalada made of that flower.

So here's what Katuray looks like. Katuray flower has two color. The white and the pinkinsh red.

ctto
ctto

I have tried the ensaladang katuray and there's a taste of little bitterness but its fine because there are taste of onion, tomato and a fish sauce that makes the bitterness gone.

Ensalada is a mix of onion, tomato, fish sauce , calamansi and blanch Katuray.

Katuray has a health benifits too.

  • It lowers your blood pressure and help keep arteries flexible

  • Supports Normal Fetal Development

  • Beneficial for skin

  • Boosts Immunity

  • Prevents Alzheimer’s disease and many more.

Katuray or Corkwood Flower are common to the Ilocanos but these flowers were also common in Southeast Asian countries like Indonesia and Vietnam. The petals of the flower were added on a different kind of dish like monggo soup and sour soup fish. But I didnt tried those. Only the ensaladang Katuray 😊

This is my article about Katuray @esciisc πŸ˜„ Not so informative πŸ˜„ I am jusy telling my experience with the Katuray flowers πŸ˜„

GoodNight

Mommy Yen.

9
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Night po, mommy yen

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a strange looking flower... that's edible... weird

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah hahahaha. I grew up in Nueva and I dont know some foods of Ilocanos until my father cooks different kind of leaves and crops and I was shocked because those were edible but we dont know hahaha. I remember the time he pick some leaves near the drainage and he said it was " pampait " and he make a salad out of it πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Then you're lucky your dad knows how to cook. I get that experience when i visit my grandma. I get shookdt when she just starts picking weeds then later on, i see those same weeds in the food πŸ˜‚ i know nothing except the herbs we plant at home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Hes more good at cooking than my mother hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I was fascinated to see that all your flower pictures are very beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Oh, I never thought that this is edible. There was a tree in our neighborhood that looks like this but we just pluck the flowers and play it later on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah its edible for Ilocanos hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Upon looking at the pictures, it seems like we don't have those plants in our region. Aside from the flower I haven't seen that plant either. But the leaves looks like those of tamarind and ipil-ipil.

How do you say that it's not too informative? It is! 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. We dont have that too in Nueva πŸ˜„ There's a tree, yes but people didnt know that its edible hehe.Mostly peope from Pangasinan Launion and Ilocos eat these kind of flowers.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's fascinating to know 😊 But I'm really curious, so I will still try to look for that plant here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And Im glad that I shared this haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago