Exotic foods that I've tried.

41 177
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Every countries has a different kind of exotic food to offer. Even Philippines has a different kind of exotic food that has to offer from different region. Today, I want to share to you some of the exotic food that I've tried eaten in our province. I am from Central Luzon , and our province is the Rice Granary of the Philippines. There's a lot of farm here and there's also a species that found in the farm that can be eaten ๐Ÿ˜Š I dont know if some Filipinos here knows that the below I will share is edible ๐Ÿ˜…

So heres the list :

  1. June Bug or Salagubang

CTTO

June Bug or Salagubang is a kind of bug that is commonly seen during the month of June that's why it is called June Bug. It typically hides in a leaves of a tree during rainy season. In Nueva Ecija it is edible. It is a common treat in our province. Some people served it as pulutan or side dish together with an alcoholic drink and some people served it as a viand together with the rice. It is cooked as Adobo or Marinated with soysauce. You just need to remove the wings, legs and carapace of the June bug and soak it in a water with salt for a couple of hour then drain it. After that you can now cook the June bug and below is the finish product. You can also deep fry the June Bag to make it crunchy.

CTTO

2.Chinese Edible Frog or Palakang Bukid

CTTO

Chinese edible frog or rice fields frog are commonly seen in the farm. This species of frog can be found in Southeast Asian countries. Unlike the June bug, the rice field frog is more known because other regions in the Philippines served different dish from it. Palakang bukid can be cooked as an Adobo ( Marinated with Soysauce ) , Deep Fried, and Sour Soup Frog or Sinampalukang Palaka. But I only tried the Adobong Palaka and it looks like this. It taste like chicken actually. It is more delicious when you cooked it as adobo then fried it.

CTTO

  1. Dagang Bukid or Rice Field Rat.

CTTO

Just like the Rice Field Frog, Rice Field Rat is also found in farm but its a bit hard cactching it because they are too fast. So the farmers will make a trap. They will dig and created a hole and leave some food and from there the rat will trapped. You can cooked it as an Adobo too. The first time I tasted it, I dont know that it was rat ๐Ÿ˜‚ I thought it was just a chicken because it taste like chicken.

CTTO

I also tried to eat Snake and Monitor Lizard but it was long ago ๐Ÿ˜…

Have you ever tried exotic food?

I appreciate if you tell me/us something about your experience with it ๐Ÿ˜Š

Happy Lunch Time guys.

Its 12:04 PM here in the Philippines.

13
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

In my country, no one likes to eat any toxic dish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you from Bangladesh right? There's no exotic food in your country?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Sorry dear. It's my mistake for understand between toxic and exotic. You write exotic but I read this word toxic๐Ÿ˜“ That's my mistake. Yes dear. There's a lot of exotic dish in my country. And I also love some thai dish and Indian dish.โค

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know some thai exotic foods like cockroaches hehe but I have no idea about the exotic foods in your country.

Its okay dear. I understand because toxic and exotic were rhymed hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I never taste this food dear. But itโ€™s looks so delicious. But how you ate this.. ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How I ate this? It like you eat a typical dish. Its actually delicious but some people didn't know that these foods are edible hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I think They may never have eaten them.so there have no idea about that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I agree

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I never tried salagubang looks delicious

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should try it when you visit your sibling in Guimba hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

There are more exotic foods Wuhan to offer though. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those exotic food from Wuhan were unbelievable . Hindi ko kinaya yun haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Wla sanang covid kung hindi nila nilaga yung bats. ๐Ÿคฆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dun ba talaga galing yon?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Di nila inamin eh. Galit na galit nga ang US sa China kase sila nman talaga nagsimula neto ๐Ÿ’”๐Ÿฅบ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. That's why they banned Tiktok in US haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hala? Ganon ba? Di ko alam yan. Haha. Pero if aabot talaga sa point na mag away ang US and China, WWIII talaga eto. Wag nman sana ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ˜ง

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Chinese yata kasi yung developer ng tiktok tapo sabi ng US baka daw manakaw ng China yung information ng mga tao na US na nagsasign up sa tiktok haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Kaya pala. Intense din kase ang rivalry ng US and China eh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wak!!!Only discovery channel is right for seeing this raw food.And also our discovery channel hero,I hope everybody knows his name,,,he is able to eat any tipes of food.But, this food eating is not possible for me!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where are you from?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I subscribed you.Please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I will go to your profile now :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Filipino foods are the best! Suscribe me back ๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿค™๐Ÿป

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes hehe. Its the best!

Your username is familiar. Are you a friend of Jdine?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I subscribed you.Please subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why eat salagubang...... omg gross- I've eaten frog and mice tho. They're good, feels like eating chicken ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dont know, haha I just saw it on my relatives and eventually I started to taste it and its good haha. Its crunchy on the inside and soft on the outside haha.

Yes, it taste like chicken hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Still feels weird to think about eating those bugs ;-; i cringe at the thought. I saw some people before eat crickets too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At first I dont want to eat salagubang because I used to play with it when I was a kid. haha

Yes I dont know the name. Its camaru yata and also the larvae of the coconut bug haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I never experienced playing with thise, just spiders and the komang UwU

Orz so many bugs people eat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Komang? The little snail but like a crab haha? Am I right? The one I bought outside our school when I was elementary ๐Ÿ˜‚

Yeah. There are many bugs that is edible maybe because they only eat leaves and people think its clean instead of other.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes, that one! I took care of those until highschool

Probably that plus bugs are actually higher in protein than the meats we eat so maybe that's why people promote eating bugs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love exotic food. But too bad now I am vegetarian

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried any of those exotic foods. In fact, I feel like puking after seeing the Rice field rat! I didn't know that it can actually be eaten, I'm imagining right now how they clean it though and.. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿคข๐Ÿคฎ

I also didn't know that those bugs could actually be eaten. I used to play with those when I was a kid. They usually stays on mango trees.

My dad cooked those frogs several times before but I never tried to taste it even once. But they said that it's so good and actually tastes like chicken.

The exotic foods I've tried are cobra, snake(sawa), monitor lizard and turtle (The turtle meat looks gross so I closed my eyes when I tried it for the first time,and for the second time I ate it on a dark place ๐Ÿ˜‚)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dont know how they clean it haha. When we buy those it is meat already. No skin, no head and tail hehe. But we rub it in salt a couple of times before cooking it because its malansa. haha

I used to play those salagubang too haha. We remove thier legs and tie some threads on their head so that they couldn't escape when they fly ๐Ÿ˜‚

Yeah, frogs taste like chicken. I also tried sawa and monitor lizard. But I didnt try yet the turtle because its not common on our place.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago